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Bulletin MCS 2004 June 22, 2020

Emergency amendment of chapter 455C of the Nevada Administrative Code.

An emergency amendment of chapter 455C of the Nevada Administrative Code was signed by Governor Steve
Sisolak on June 1 5th, 2020. This emergency amendment makes several changes to the regulation of elevators,
boilers, and pressure vessels in this State. The amendment is found below in this bulletin. Please contact this
office with any questions.

Brennan Pferson, Chief Administrative Officer
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The COVID-19 pandemic, resulting Declaration of Emergency and subsequent Directives have created 
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EMERGERCY REGULATION OF THE  

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY, 

DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS,  

MECHANICAL COMPLIANCE SECTION FOR THE 

AMENDMENT OF CHAPTER 455C, OF THE  

NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 

June 8, 2020 

EXPLANATION — Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to 
be omitted. 

NRS 455C.110; NRS 233B.066. 

A REGULATION relating to chapter 455C of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) adding 
provisions for the expedited updating of standards which are adopted by reference in the 
existing code; adding a provision which authorizes the Administrator of the Division of 
Industrial Relations to use employees of the Mechanical Compliance Section to perform 
elevator and boiler inspections as required under chapters 512 of the Nevada Revised 
Statutes (NRS) and NAC at mine sites; adding a provision limiting access to areas of an 
elevator to specific authorized persons; amending existing provisions to clarify the 
jurisdiction of the Mechanical Compliance Section; updating existing boiler and pressure 
vessel requirements; updating standards which are adopted by reference in the existing 
code; clarifying existing provisions regarding when a permit must be obtained from the 
Mechanical Compliance Section; clarifying licensing requirements for persons to 
perform work on a vertical reciprocating conveyor; clarifying the dates when certificates 
to work expire; clarifying the requirements for an inspection following an elevator 
accident; clarifying the requirements of an initial inspection of a private residence 
elevator; clarifying and increasing the amount of administrative fines the Mechanical 
Compliance Section may assess for multiple violations the NRS or NAC; and clarifying 
the process for reviewing administrative actions taken by the Mechanical Compliance 
Section; and other matters relating thereto. 

Section 1. Chapter 455C of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto new sections as set 

forth in sections 2 through 5 as follows:  
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Sec. 2.  If any publication adopted by reference in subsections 1 to 4, inclusive, 11, 12 or 13 

of NAC 455C.108 is revised, the Division will review the revision to determine its suitability for 

this State. If the Division determines that the revision is not suitable for this State, the Division 

will hold a public hearing to review its determination within 6 months after the date of 

publication of the revision and give notice of that hearing. If, after the hearing, the Division 

does not revise its determination, the Division will give notice within 30 days after the hearing 

that the revision is not suitable for this State. If the Division does not give such notice, the 

revision becomes part of the publication adopted by reference in NAC 455C.108.  

Sec. 3.  If any publication adopted by reference in subsections 1(a) through 1(m), inclusive, 

and 1(o) of NAC 455C.500, as amended in section 63 of this regulation, is revised, the Division 

will review the revision to determine its suitability for this State. If the Division determines that 

the revision is not suitable for this State, the Division will hold a public hearing to review its 

determination within 6 months after the date of publication of the revision and give notice of 

that hearing. If, after the hearing, the Division does not revise its determination, the Division 

will give notice within 30 days after the hearing that the revision is not suitable for this State. If 

the Division does not give such notice, the revision becomes part of the publication adopted by 

reference in NAC 455C.500. 

Sec.4.  The Administrator in carrying out his or her duties to inspect pursuant to NRS 

512.170 and NRS 512.180 may authorize and use the inspection services of the Mechanical 

Compliance Section to conduct an inspection of equipment, machinery or apparatus, including 

but not limited to boilers, elevators or pressure vessels which would otherwise be subject to the 

jurisdiction of the Mechanical Compliance Section if such equipment, machinery or apparatus 

was not located at a mine as defined in NRS 512.006.  In the event the Administrator uses the 
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inspection services of the Mechanical Compliance Section, the Mechanical Compliance Section 

will invoice the Mine Safety and Training Section of the Division which shall reimburse or pay 

for the inspection services rendered. 

Sec. 5.  An elevator machine room, hoistway, pit, control space, or any related area may only 

be accessed by authorized personnel who carry a certificate as an elevator mechanic, a work 

card as an elevator mechanic apprentice, a work card as an elevator mechanic helper, a 

certificate of competency as a special inspector, or an inspector and any other person who has 

reason to be in such area if accompanied by authorized personnel. 

Sec. 6.  Chapter 455C of NAC is hereby amended as set forth as sections 7 to 88, inclusive, 

of this regulation. 

Sec. 7.  NAC 455C.006 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.006  ”Chief” means the Chief Administrative Officer of the [Enforcement 

Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable]. 

Sec. 8.  NAC 455C.012 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.012  “Mechanical Compliance Section” means the Section which has been 

created within the Division as the regulatory authority with jurisdiction for the enforcement of the 

provisions of this chapter and chapter 455C of NRS governing the construction, installation, 

operation, testing, maintenance, alteration or repair of [elevator equipment] a boiler, elevator or 

pressure vessel and related equipment. 

Sec. 9.  NAC 455C.024 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.024  ”Authorized inspection entity” means: 

     1.  The [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section; 

     2.  An insurance company that: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-455C.html#NRS455C
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     (a) Is licensed in this State to write insurance for a boiler or pressure vessel; and 

     (b) Employs or contracts with a special inspector who has been issued a certificate; or 

     3.  An inspection organization that employs or contracts with a special inspector who has 

been issued a certificate. 

Sec. 10.  NAC 455C.030 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.030  “Certificate” means a certificate to work as a special inspector that is issued 

by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section pursuant to NAC 455C.130. 

Sec. 11.  NAC 455C.056 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.056  Inspection for an operating permit” means an inspection: 

     1.  That is used by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section as the basis for issuing, 

withholding or revoking an operating permit; and 

     2.  For which a report of inspection is required to be issued. 

Sec. 12.  NAC 455C.058 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.058  “Inspection organization” means an owner or user of boilers or pressure 

vessels who maintains an inspection program that includes inspection procedures which comply 

with the National Board Inspection Code and have been approved by the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section. 

Sec. 13.  NAC 455C.060 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

NAC 455C.060  “Inspector” means a boiler inspector employed by the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section. 

Sec. 14.  NAC 455C.064 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC455C.064  “[Lined potable] Potable water heater” means a fired heater for the storage of 

water which has a corrosion-resistant lining and is used to supply potable hot water. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec130
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Sec. 15. NAC 455C.076 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.076  “Operating permit” means a permit required by NRS 455C.100 and issued 

by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for the operation of a boiler or pressure 

vessel. 

Sec. 16.  NAC 455C.080 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

455C.080  “Portable boiler [”] or pressure vessel” means a boiler or pressure vessel that is 

intended primarily for temporary use and has a construction that allows it to be moved readily 

from one location to another.  

Sec. 17. NAC 455C.108 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

455C.108  The Division hereby adopts by reference: 

     1.  The following sections of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, [2013] 2019 edition 

and addenda, published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Those sections of the 

publication and the addenda may be obtained from ASME [International, 22 Law Drive, P.O. Box 

2900, Fairfield, New Jersey 07007-2900] P.O. Box 36037, Newark, NJ  07188-6037 , for the price 

indicated: 

     (a) Section I, Rules for Construction of Power Boilers.............................................. $ [380] 500 

     (b) Section II, Materials - Part D: Properties................................................................. [580] 760 

     (c) Section IV, Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers............................................[385] 510 

     (d) Section V, Nondestructive Examination................................................................. [430] 570 

     (e) Section VI, Recommended Rules for the Care and Operation of Heating Boilers. [230] 300 

     (f) Section VII, Recommended Guidelines for the Care of Power Boilers...................[230] 300 

     (g) Section VIII, Rules for Construction of Pressure Vessels - Division 1.................. [585] 775 

     (h) Section IX, Welding, Brazing and Fusing Qualifications....................................... [440] 580 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-455C.html#NRS455CSec100
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     2.  Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, CSD-1, [2012] 2018 edition, 

published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This publication applies to 

automatically fired boilers which are directly fired with gas, oil, a combination of gas and oil, or 

electricity, and may be obtained from ASME [International, 22 Law Drive, P.O. Box 2900, 

Fairfield, New Jersey 07007-2900] P.O. Box 36037, Newark, NJ  07188-6037 , for the price of 

$ [93] 103. 

     3.  Power Piping, B31.1, [2012] 2018 edition and addenda, published by the American Society 

of Mechanical Engineers. This publication and its addenda may be obtained from 

ASME [International, 22 Law Drive, P.O. Box 2900, Fairfield, New Jersey 07007-2900] P.O. Box 

36037, Newark, NJ  07188-6037 , for the price of $ [216] 335. 

     4.  The Standard for the Qualification and Certification of High Capacity Fossil Fuel Fired 

Plants, QFO-1, 1998 edition, published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This 

publication may be obtained from ASME [International, 22 Law Drive, P.O. Box 2900, Fairfield, 

New Jersey 07007-2900] P.O. Box 36037, Newark, NJ  07188-6037 , for the price of $ [41] 43. 

     5.  The edition most recently adopted pursuant to NAC 590.610 of the National Fuel Gas 

Code, ANSI Z223.1/NFPA 54, published by the National Fire Protection Association. 

     6.  The edition most recently adopted in NAC 341.045 of the National Electrical Code, 

ANSI/NFPA 70, published by the National Fire Protection Association. 

     7.  The edition most recently adopted in NAC 477.281 of the International Building Code, 

published by the International Code Council. 

     8.  The edition most recently adopted in NAC 341.045 of the Uniform Mechanical Code, 

published by the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-590.html#NAC590Sec610
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-341.html#NAC341Sec045
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-477.html#NAC477Sec281
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-341.html#NAC341Sec045
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     9.  The edition most recently adopted in NAC 341.045 of the Uniform Plumbing Code, 

published by the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials. 

     10.  The edition most recently adopted in NAC 477.281 of the International Fire Code, 

published by the International Code Council. 

     11.  The National Board Inspection Code, [2013] 2019 edition and addenda, published by the 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors. This publication and its addenda may be 

obtained from the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors [, 1055 Crupper 

Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43229] online orders only, for the price of $ [295] 325. 

     12.  The Standard for the Installation of Oil-Burning Equipment, ANSI/NFPA 31, [2011] 

2020 edition, published by the National Fire Protection Association. This publication may be 

obtained from the National Fire Protection Association , 11 Trave Drive, Avon, MA 02322 , free 

of charge at the Internet address http://www.nfpa.org/freeaccess. 

     13.  The Safety Standard for Refrigeration Systems, ANSI/ASHRAE 15, [2013] 2019 edition, 

published by the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers. 

This publication may be obtained from [Global Engineering Documents, 15 Inverness Way East, 

Englewood, Colorado 80112] ASHRAE, 1791 Tullie Circle, Atlanta, GA 30329 , for the price of 

$ [107] 149. 

     14.  The edition most recently adopted pursuant to NAC 590.600 of the Liquefied Petroleum 

Gas Code, ANSI/NFPA 58, published by the National Fire Protection Association. 

Sec. 18. NAC 455C.114 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

455C.114  The provisions of NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive, do not apply to:  

 [1.] (a) Boilers and pressure vessels governed by the provisions of chapter 512 of NRS 

and chapter 512 of NAC.  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-341.html#NAC341Sec045
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-477.html#NAC477Sec281
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-590.html#NAC590Sec600
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  [2.] (b) Boilers and pressure vessels installed or used in a single-family residence unless 

the boiler or pressure vessel is a:  

 [(a)]  (1) Hot water supply boiler;  

 [(b)]  (2) Hot water supply tank that has a storage capacity which exceeds 120 gallons;  

 [(c)]  (3) Low-pressure heating boiler;  

 [(d)]  (4) Power boiler; or  

 [(e)]  (5) Pressure vessel that:  

  [(1)]  (I) Operates at pressures that exceed 15 PSIG; or   

  [(2)]  (II) Has a storage capacity of 5 cubic feet or more by volume.  

  [3.] (c) Boilers and pressure vessels under the control of the Federal Government.   

[4.] (d) Unfired pressure vessels meeting the requirements of the United States 

Department of Transportation for the shipment of liquids or gases under pressure.  

[5.] (e) Unfired pressure vessels having an inside diameter not exceeding 6 inches (152 

millimeters).  

 [6.] (f) Unfired pressure vessels containing cold water under pressure, including those 

containing air, the compression of which serves only as a cushion.  

 [7.  Pressure vessels containing water heated by steam or by any other indirect means if 

none of the following limitations is exceeded]  (g)  A fired storage water heater that is 

directly fired with oil, gas or electricity, or a pressure vessel containing water heated by 

steam or by any other indirect means, if none of the following limitations is exceeded  :  

 [(a)]  (1) An input of heat of 199,999 British thermal units per hour (58,600 watts).  

 [(b)]  (2) A water temperature of 210 degrees Fahrenheit (99 degrees Centigrade).  

 [(c)]  (3) A water capacity of 120 gallons (450 liters).  
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  [8.] (h) Unfired pressure vessels that do not exceed 5 cubic feet in volume and 15 PSIG.  

 [9.] (i) An unfired pressure vessel that may be classified as a pressure container which is 

an integral part or component of a rotating or reciprocating mechanical device, including a 

pump, compressor, turbine, generator, engine and hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder where the 

primary considerations of or stresses in the design, or both, are derived from the functional 

requirements of the device.  

  [10.] (j) Unfired pressure vessels used for the storage of compressed air only.  

 [11.] (k) A hot water heater constructed of continuous coils, which is used only to produce 

steam vapor to clean machinery, equipment and buildings, if:  

 [(a)]  (1) The tubing or pipe size does not exceed three-fourths of an inch in diameter and 

drums and headers are not attached;  

 [(b)]  (2) The nominal water containing capacity does not exceed 6 gallons;  

 [(c)]  (3) The water temperatures do not exceed 350 degrees Fahrenheit; and  
 
 [(d)]  (4) Steam is not generated within the coil,  

 except that the provisions of NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive, do apply to safety relief 

valves on a hot water heater constructed of continuous coils.  

 [12.] (l) Unfired pressure vessels and piping containing liquid petroleum gas and liquid 

natural gas.  

 [13.] (m) A boiler or heater for a pool, if:  

 [(a)]  (1) The supply or return line has no stop valves installed; and   

 [(b)]  (2) It is impossible for the unit to build pressure in excess of 15 pounds per square 

inch [.] 

Sec. 19. NAC 455C.116 is hereby amended to read as follows:  
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     NAC 455C.116    1.  An owner of a boiler or pressure vessel who wishes to obtain an 

exemption from a requirement set forth in NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive, for a condition 

or practice that is not consistent with the requirement must submit an application for an exemption 

to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section on a form prescribed by the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section. 

     2.  If a condition or practice for which the person requests an exemption does not affect the 

safe operation of a boiler, pressure vessel or related system, an inspector may approve the 

exemption from the requirement if: 

     (a) Such an exemption is necessary to allow the operation of the boiler or pressure vessel; and 

     (b) Compliance with the requirement is not practicable. 

     3.  If an inspector approves the exemption: 

     (a) The approval must be noted on the application for an exemption; and 

     (b) The application for an exemption must be reviewed by a person designated by the Chief 

within 5 working days after the exemption is approved by the inspector. 

     4.  If the person designated by the Chief grants the exemption, the person shall: 

     (a) Note that he or she has granted the exemption on the application for an exemption; and 

     (b) Forward the application for an exemption to the Chief within 15 days after granting the 

exemption. 

     5.  If the person designated by the Chief denies the exemption and the person requesting the 

exemption contests the denial, the person designated by the Chief shall have the boiler or pressure 

vessel jointly inspected by any combination of two inspectors or special inspectors. Each inspector 

or special inspector shall prepare and submit a report of inspection to the person designated by the 

Chief. The person designated by the Chief shall reconsider the application for exemption and 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec020
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec300
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render a final decision based on the information contained in the reports of inspection submitted 

by the inspectors or special inspectors pursuant to this section. 

     6.  In addition to an exemption that may be granted pursuant to subsections 1 to 5, inclusive, 

the Chief may grant an exemption from a requirement set forth in NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, 

inclusive, for a boiler or pressure vessel in the case of an emergency or if the Chief determines that 

such an exemption is in the best interests of the general public. If the Chief grants an exemption 

pursuant to this subsection, he or she shall notify the Administrator of the exemption. If the 

exemption is granted because the Chief determined that the exemption is in the best interests of 

the general public, the notice to the Administrator must be in writing. 

Sec. 20. NAC 455C.118 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.118     1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsections 3 and 4, 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section shall charge and collect the following fees: 

  

Certificates Fees 

    

     For the issuance of a certificate....................................................................................            $100 

     For the renewal of a certificate.....................................................................................                50 

  

Power Boilers Fees 

    

     If the power boiler has 250 square feet or less of heating surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................            $160 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec020
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec300
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Power Boilers Fees 

    

          For the annual renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

and one external inspection or two external inspections....................................  

  

            110 

     If the power boiler has more than 250 square feet but not more than 750 square feet 

of heating surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................  

  

            160 

          For the annual renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

and one external inspection or two external inspections....................................              120 

     If the power boiler has more than 750 square feet of heating surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................              160 

          For the annual renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

and one external inspection or two external inspections....................................              140 

  

Low-Pressure Steam Heating Boilers Fees 

    

     If the low-pressure steam heating boiler has less than 500 square feet of heating 

surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................            $160 
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Low-Pressure Steam Heating Boilers Fees 

    

          For the annual renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

and one external inspection or two external inspections....................................  

  

              60 

     If the low-pressure steam heating boiler has 500 square feet or more of heating 

surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................              160 

          For the annual renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

and one external inspection or two external inspections....................................                65 

  

Low-Pressure Hot Water Heating Boilers Fees 

    

     If the low-pressure hot water heating boiler has less than 500 square feet of heating 

surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................            $160 

          For the biennial renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

or one external inspection...................................................................................  

  

              60 

     If the low-pressure hot water heating boiler has 500 square feet or more of heating 

surface:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit, based on a preliminary and final 

inspection by an inspector..................................................................................              160 
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Low-Pressure Hot Water Heating Boilers Fees 

    

          For the biennial renewal of an operating permit, based on one internal inspection 

or one external inspection...................................................................................                65 

  

Hot Water Supply Boilers Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an initial operating permit for a hot water supply boiler, based on 

a preliminary and final inspection by an inspector.............................................            $110 

     For the biennial renewal of an operating permit for a hot water supply boiler, based 

on one internal inspection or one external inspection..............................................  

  

              50 

  

Unfired Pressure Vessels Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an initial operating permit for an unfired pressure vessel, based 

on a preliminary and final inspection by an inspector.............................................              $90 

     For the renewal of an operating permit for an unfired pressure vessel, based on one 

internal inspection or one external inspection.........................................................  

  

              40 

  

Refrigeration Pressure Vessels Fees 

    

     If the output capacity of the system of refrigeration is less than 100 tons:   
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Refrigeration Pressure Vessels Fees 

    

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit for the refrigeration pressure vessel, 

based on a preliminary and final inspection by an inspector..................              $80 

          For the renewal of an operating permit for the refrigeration pressure vessel, based 

on one internal inspection or one external inspection.........................................  

  

              50 

     If the output capacity of the system of refrigeration is 100 tons or more:   

          For the issuance of an initial operating permit for the refrigeration pressure vessel, 

based on a preliminary and final inspection by an inspector..................  

  

              90 

          For the renewal of an operating permit for the refrigeration pressure vessel, based 

on one internal inspection or one external inspection.........................................  

  

              60 

  

Boilers or Pressure Vessels Installed or Used in Single-Family Residences Fees 

    

     For the preliminary and final inspections of a boiler or pressure vessel that is installed 

or used in a single-family residence that are required to be made at the time of 

installation pursuant to NAC 455C.156.....................................................              $80 

     For each subsequent inspection of the boiler or pressure vessel that is requested by 

the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel...............................................................                40 

  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec156
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Renewal of Operating Permits for Boilers or Pressure Vessels 

Inspected by Special Inspectors Fees 

    

     For the renewal of an operating permit for a boiler or pressure vessel if the operating 

permit is renewed based on a report of an inspection made by a special inspector              $20 

  

Special Services Fees 

    

     For any services rendered by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section to 

assist a person in complying with the provisions of this chapter, including, without 

limitation, an inspection other than an inspection required by NAC 455C.156 and 

the review of plans and specifications before those plans and specifications are 

submitted to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section pursuant to 

NAC 455C.182:   

          Per hour charge for those services provided during the first 8 hours of a day.......              $40  

          Per hour charge for those services provided after the first 8 hours of the day.......              $60 

  

     2.  In addition to paying the fees imposed by this section for services rendered by 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section to assist a person in complying with the 

provisions of this chapter, a person who requests that the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance 

Section perform such services must pay all necessary expenses incurred by the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section in fulfilling the request. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec156
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec182
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     3.  The fees imposed by this section for operating permits or inspections of boilers or pressure 

vessels do not apply to boilers or pressure vessels that are owned by the United States, the State of 

Nevada or any political subdivision of the State of Nevada, including, without limitation, any 

county, city, municipality, district or commission. 

     4.  The fees imposed by this section for a request for services by the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section to assist a person in complying with the provisions of this chapter 

and any necessary expenses incurred by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section in 

fulfilling the request will not be charged to the United States, the State of Nevada or any political 

subdivision of the State of Nevada, including, without limitation, any county, city, municipality, 

district or commission. 

Sec. 21. NAC 455C.120 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.120  An insurance company shall notify the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section within 30 days after the insurance company: 

     1.  Commences the coverage of a boiler or pressure vessel; or 

     2.  Cancels, refuses to renew or suspends the coverage of a boiler or pressure vessel. 

Sec. 22.  NAC 455C.130 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.130    1.  An applicant for a certificate to work as a special inspector must submit 

to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     (a) An application on a form prescribed by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance 

Section; 

     (b) The fee for issuance of a certificate set forth in NAC 455C.118; and 

     (c) Proof satisfactory to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section that the applicant: 

          (1) Satisfies the requirements described in NAC 455C.132; 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec118
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec132
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          (2) Passed the examination described in NAC 455C.132; and 

          (3) Is employed or retained as an independent contractor by: 

               (I) An insurance company that is licensed in this State to write insurance for a boiler or 

pressure vessel; or 

               (II) An inspection organization as defined in NAC 455C.058 or 512.528. 

     2.  If an applicant satisfies the requirements set forth in subsection 1, the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section may issue a certificate to the applicant. 

     3.  The [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section may issue a card for identification to 

the applicant after the applicant receives a commission. 

     4.  A certificate and a card for identification issued pursuant to this section expire at midnight 

on March 1 next following the date of issuance, unless the certificate and the card for identification 

are renewed. 

Sec. 23.  NAC 455C.132 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.132     1.  An applicant for examination for a certificate must have the education 

and experience required by the code. 

     2.  The application for examination must be: 

     (a) Submitted to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section at least 45 days before 

the examination; and 

     (b) In writing on a form provided by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section, 

stating the education of the applicant and listing his or her employers, the length of time employed 

by each employer and the position held with each employer. 

     3.  An application that contains a false statement will be rejected. 

     4.  The examination will be conducted in accordance with the code. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec132
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec058
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-512.html#NAC512Sec528
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     5.  An applicant who fails to pass the examination may not take another written examination 

within 30 days after the examination. 

Sec. 24.  NAC 455C.134 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.134  To renew a certificate and card for identification, a special inspector 

must [on or before March 1,] prior to expiration, submit to the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section: 

     1.  An application on a form prescribed by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance 

Section; and 

     2.  The fee for renewal of a certificate set forth in NAC 455C.118. 

Sec. 25.  NAC 455C.140 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.140     1.  The owner of a boiler or pressure vessel must obtain an operating 

permit before the boiler or pressure vessel may be operated in this State unless the boiler or 

pressure vessel is exempted from that requirement pursuant to NAC 455C.114. 

     2.  An operating permit is valid until the earliest date of the following: 

     (a) Its date of expiration; 

     (b) The date the boiler or pressure vessel for which the permit is issued is removed from the 

location in which it was installed; 

     (c) A defect or condition affecting the safety of the boiler or pressure vessel is discovered;  

     (d) It is revoked by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for nonpayment of 

fees; or 

     (e) It is revoked by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for any other reason. 

     3.  The operating permit must be retained on the premises where the boiler or pressure vessel 

is installed. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec118
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec114


20 
Emergency Regulation of the Department of Business and Industry,  
Division of Industrial Relations, Mechanical Compliance Section 

 

     [4.  A report of inspection made pursuant to NAC 455C.154 shall be deemed to be an operating 

permit and authorizes the operation of a boiler or pressure vessel until the operating permit is 

issued, if: 

     (a) The report of inspection recommends the issuance of an operating permit; and 

     (b) The equipment complies with the requirements of NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive.] 

Sec. 26.  NAC 455C.142 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.142   The [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section shall cancel an 

operating permit for a boiler or pressure vessel if it is moved from the site at which the boiler or 

pressure vessel was inspected. If the boiler or pressure vessel is reinstalled, it must be inspected, 

and a new permit will be issued by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. 

Sec. 27.  NAC 455C.150 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.150    An inspection for an operating permit must be an internal inspection if 

required by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. If the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section does not require an internal inspection, the inspection for an operating permit 

must comply with the requirements set forth in NAC 455C.154. 

Sec. 28.  NAC 455C.154 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.154     1.  The [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue, 

renew or revoke an operating permit based on the report of an inspection by an inspector or special 

inspector. Unless the type of inspection is specified in NAC 455C.156 and except as otherwise 

provided in subsections 2 and 3, an inspection must be: 

     (a) Internal; or 

     (b) If the inspection is of a pressure vessel and the determined thickness is included in the 

report, made by ultrasonic testing. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec154
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec020
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec300
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec154
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec156
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     2.  If the design or construction of a boiler or pressure vessel is such that an internal inspection 

is not possible, an external inspection is acceptable. 

     3.  An internal inspection is not required to obtain an operating permit for a hot water heating 

boiler, hot water supply boiler or boiler made of cast iron. 

     4.  If a boiler or pressure vessel is found to be unsafe to operate, the inspector or special 

inspector shall notify the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section and the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section shall suspend the operating permit. 

     5.  If the owner of a boiler or pressure vessel which is required to be inspected or his or her 

agent refuses to allow an inspection to be made, the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance 

Section shall suspend the operating permit until the owner or the agent allows the inspection. 

     6.  The inspector or special inspector shall indicate in the report of inspection the type of 

inspection that was performed. 

Sec. 29. NAC 455C.156 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.156     1.  A power boiler or a high-pressure, high-temperature water boiler must 

be inspected upon installation and must have an internal inspection, if the construction and design 

of the boiler so allows, at least once each year thereafter, and an external inspection approximately 

6 months after the date of the internal inspection. If an internal inspection is not possible, such a 

boiler must have an external inspection at least once every 6 months. 

     2.  A low-pressure steam heating boiler must be inspected upon installation and at least once 

each year thereafter. The inspection must be: 

     (a) An internal inspection, if the construction and design of the boiler so allows and the 

inspector or special inspector so requests; or 

     (b) An external inspection that includes operational testing of all controls and safety devices. 
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     3.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, a low-pressure hot water heating boiler and 

a hot water supply boiler must be inspected upon installation and at least once every 2 years 

thereafter. The inspection must be: 

     (a) An internal inspection, if the construction and design of the boiler so allows and the 

inspector or special inspector so requests; or 

     (b) An external inspection that includes operational testing of all controls and safety devices. 

     4.  A [lined] potable water heater must have an external inspection at least once every 2 years. 

The external inspection must include operational testing of all controls and safety devices if the 

installation and construction of the [lined] potable water heater so allows. 

     5.  Any other fired pressure vessel for which a frequency of inspection is not specified in 

subsections 1 to 4, inclusive, must be inspected upon installation and at least once each year 

thereafter. The inspection must be: 

     (a) An internal inspection, if the construction and design of the pressure vessel so allows; 

     (b) An external inspection that includes operational testing of all controls and safety devices, 

if the installation and construction of the pressure vessel so allows; or 

     (c) An external inspection that includes operational testing of each control and safety device 

that it is possible to test given the installation and construction of the pressure vessel. 

     6.  An unfired pressure vessel must be inspected upon installation and at least once every 4 

years thereafter. The inspection must be: 

     (a) An internal inspection, if the construction and design of the pressure vessel so allows; or 

     (b) An external inspection that includes operational testing of all controls and safety devices. 

     7.  A refrigeration pressure vessel must be inspected upon installation and at least once every 

4 years thereafter. The inspection must be: 
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     (a) An internal inspection, if the construction and design of the pressure vessel so allows; or 

     (b) An external inspection that includes operational testing of all controls and safety devices. 

     8.  A boiler or pressure vessel installed or used in a single-family residence must be inspected 

by an inspector upon installation. The inspection must include a preliminary and a final inspection 

and must be an internal inspection, if the construction and design of the boiler or pressure vessel 

so allows, or an external inspection that includes operational testing of all controls and safety 

devices. If the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel wishes to have an inspector perform any 

subsequent inspections of the boiler or pressure vessel, he or she must submit a written request for 

such an inspection to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. 

     9.  An inspector or special inspector may require any boiler or pressure vessel to be prepared 

for inspection in the manner set forth in NAC 455C.158 if, in his or her opinion, an inspection is 

necessary to determine whether the boiler or pressure vessel is operating in a safe manner. 

     10.  An inspection organization that has been authorized by the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section to inspect its boilers and pressure vessels may request approval from 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section to inspect its boilers and pressure vessels at a 

different interval. 

     11.  Upon application from a petroleum company, chemical plant, public utility or other 

employer considered by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section as having a program 

acceptable to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for preventive maintenance and 

examination, an operating permit that allows an extension of time between required internal 

inspections may be granted if the power boiler is inspected by external inspections at intervals of 

approximately 6 months. The application for the operating permit that allows an extension of time 

must be submitted in writing at least 45 days before the required internal inspection. The 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec158
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application must include the history of the power boiler or, if the power boiler is newly installed, 

of a similar boiler, substantiating that there is no significant deterioration from scaling, corrosion, 

erosion or overheating. Points of reference established by the owner of the power boiler or an 

authorized inspection entity at the time of the first inspection must be used to determine the 

thickness of the walls of the power boiler. If the application is approved after the internal inspection 

of each power boiler, a record showing the total corrosion and any other conditions that need 

correction must be submitted to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. 

     12.  An operating permit issued pursuant to subsection 11 expires 1 year after the date of an 

internal inspection. Before the expiration of the permit, the boiler must be inspected by an external 

inspection conducted by an inspector or special inspector who will review the operation logs and 

records of water treatment. If the owner of the power boiler or his or her agent applies for an 

extension of an operating permit issued pursuant to subsection 11, the inspector or special inspector 

shall submit a report of inspection and recommendations to the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section. If the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section approves the 

application, it may extend the operating permit for a period not to exceed 6 months. Before the 

expiration date of the extension, the owner or his or her agent must apply again for an extension 

and the boiler must again be inspected by an external inspection conducted by an inspector or 

special inspector. A second extension may be issued for an additional period of 6 months after 

which the boiler must be inspected by an internal inspection. 

Sec. 30. NAC 455C.166 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.166   A special inspector shall submit to the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section within 10 days after the inspection, on a form prescribed by the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section, a report of each inspection he or she is required to conduct. 
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Sec. 31. NAC 455C.168 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.168   If an inspector or special inspector determines that there is a violation of 

the code, the inspector or special inspector shall notify the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel 

in writing and describe the nature of the violation, including a reference to the provision of the 

code that was violated. The [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section shall take such action 

as it determines is appropriate pursuant to NAC 455C.616. 

Sec. 32. NAC 455C.170 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.170   If, as the result of an inspection, the inspector or special inspector 

determines that the continued operation of a boiler or pressure vessel constitutes an unsafe 

condition, the inspector or special inspector: 

     1.  Shall immediately notify the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel in writing, stating the 

repairs or other corrective measures that are required to be made. Unless the owner or his or her 

agent makes the repairs or institutes other corrective measures promptly, the inspector or special 

inspector shall immediately notify the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. Until the 

corrections have been made, the boiler or pressure vessel involved must not be operated and the 

operating permit shall be deemed to be revoked by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance 

Section. 

     2.  May require an internal inspection or a pressure test, or both, to evaluate the condition of 

the boiler or pressure vessel. The owner of the boiler or pressure vessel or his or her agent shall 

prepare the boiler or pressure vessel for the internal inspection or pressure test. 

Sec. 33. NAC 455C.172 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.172  If an accident occurs which renders a boiler or pressure vessel inoperative, 

the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel or his or her agent shall immediately notify 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec616


26 
Emergency Regulation of the Department of Business and Industry,  
Division of Industrial Relations, Mechanical Compliance Section 

 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section in writing and submit a detailed report of the 

accident. In the case of a serious accident, including an explosion, notice must be given to 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section immediately by the most expeditious means. 

The boiler or pressure vessel and any parts thereof must not be removed or disturbed before an 

inspection has been made by an inspector or special inspector unless human life is endangered or 

except to limit further damage. 

Sec. 34. NAC 455C.174 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.174     1.  An inspector or special inspector shall stamp a boiler or pressure 

vessel that he or she has inspected and declared unsafe with the letters “XXX” on each side of the 

number that indicates the registration of the boiler or pressure vessel with the National Board or 

the number designated by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. Such a stamp 

indicates that the boiler or pressure vessel is condemned. 

     2.  A person shall not use or offer for sale in this State a boiler or pressure vessel that has been 

stamped pursuant to subsection 1. 

Sec. 35. NAC 455C.180 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.180   A boiler or pressure vessel constructed in a manner which meets the 

standards of this State, having the standard stamping of another state that has adopted a standard 

of construction equivalent to the standard of this State, the American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers or the National Board, may be accepted for installation in this State by 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section if the contractor installing the boiler or 

pressure vessel applies to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for a permit for 

installation pursuant to NAC 455C.182 before the construction or installation begins. 

Sec. 36. NAC 455C.182 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec182


27 
Emergency Regulation of the Department of Business and Industry,  
Division of Industrial Relations, Mechanical Compliance Section 

 

     NAC 455C.182     1.  Each boiler and pressure vessel must be installed and trimmed as 

required by the stamping of the original manufacturer of the boiler or pressure vessel and in 

accordance with the applicable provisions of the code. 

     2.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, a contractor must obtain a permit for 

installation before installing or altering a boiler or pressure vessel, including, without limitation, a 

refrigeration pressure vessel, in this State. If installation is begun before the permit is issued, 

installation must be suspended until the permit is issued. 

     3.  A request for a permit for installation must be submitted by the contractor to 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section in writing not less than 10 days before the 

installation will begin and include: 

     (a) A data report from the manufacturer of the boiler or pressure vessel and, if the boiler or 

pressure vessel that is being installed was moved from another location, a copy of the original 

permit for installation and report of inspection; 

     (b) The plans and specifications of the boiler room in which the boiler or pressure vessel is 

being installed which designate the location of the boiler or pressure vessel and which comply with 

the requirements of NAC 455C.250 and 455C.254; and 

     (c) A copy of his or her contractor’s license issued pursuant to chapter 624 of NRS which 

authorizes the contractor to install boilers or pressure vessels. 

     4.  Except for an existing installation or a reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel, a boiler or 

pressure vessel may not be installed in this State unless it has been registered with the National 

Board. 

     5.  Before a secondhand boiler or pressure vessel, reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel, or 

portable boiler or pressure vessel may be installed or shipped for installation into this State, the 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec250
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec254
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-624.html#NRS624
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owner of the boiler or pressure vessel or his or her agent or the contractor must apply to 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for approval to install it. The request for a 

permit for installation must include, without limitation, a report of inspection. The report of 

inspection must be prepared by a person who holds a commission and who inspected the boiler or 

pressure vessel. The fittings and appurtenances of the boiler or pressure vessel must comply with 

the requirements for the installation of a new boiler or pressure vessel. 

     6.  In the case of an emergency, a contractor may install or alter a boiler or pressure vessel, 

including a refrigeration pressure vessel, in this State without first obtaining a permit from 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section if the contractor: 

     (a) Notifies the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section [as soon as practicable] the 

next business day after the alteration or installation; and 

     (b) Obtains the permit required by subsection 2 at that time. 

     7.  “Emergency” as used in this section means that if the boiler or pressure vessel used for 

occupant heat, occupant cooling or potable hot water supply is not altered or repaired 

immediately it will result in a threat to public safety and is limited to building occupancies in E, 

I or R under the International Building Code as adopted in NAC 455C.108. 

Sec. 37. NAC 455C.184 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

      NAC 455C.184     If a boiler or pressure vessel is removed from its original site and is to be 

reinstalled at the same location or reinstalled at a new location with or without a change of 

ownership, the contractor must apply to the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for 

a permit for installation before reinstalling the boiler or pressure vessel. The fittings and 

appurtenances must comply with the requirements for the installation of a new boiler or pressure 

vessel.  
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2. If a standard boiler or pressure vessel is to be moved to another state for temporary use or 

repair, the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel or his or her agent must apply to the  

[Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section for approval to reinstall the boiler or pressure 

vessel within this State.  

3. Each time a portable boiler or pressure vessel is to be moved for temporary use within 

this State, a contractor who is to install the portable boiler or pressure vessel must apply to the 

Mechanical Compliance Section for a permit for installation before installing the portable 

boiler or pressure vessel.  

Sec. 38. NAC 455C.194 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.194   A boiler or pressure vessel for which a manufacturer’s data report is 

required pursuant to the code must bear a number beginning with “NB” as registered with the 

National Board. A copy of the manufacturer’s data report must be filed with the [Enforcement] 

Mechanical Compliance Section. The copy of the manufacturer’s data report that is filed with 

the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section must be signed by: 

     1.  A representative of the manufacturer; and 

     2.  A person who holds a commission and who inspected the boiler or pressure vessel during 

the manufacturing process. 

Sec. 39. NAC 455C.200 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.200     1.  An inspector or special inspector may require a decrease in the 

working pressure or temperature of a boiler or pressure vessel if he or she determines that the 

condition of the boiler or pressure vessel requires such a decrease. If the owner of the boiler or 

pressure vessel does not concur with the decision of the inspector or special inspector, the owner 

or his or her agent may contest the decision. The contest must be in writing, addressed to 
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the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section and state with particularity the basis for the 

contest. 

     2.  If contested, the person designated by the Chief to review the contest may require a joint 

inspection by any combination of two inspectors or special inspectors. Each inspector or special 

inspector shall prepare and submit a report to the person designated by the Chief. The person 

designated by the Chief shall render a final decision based upon the data contained in the reports 

submitted by the inspectors or special inspectors. 

Sec. 40. NAC 455C.206 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.206   For installations which are gas-fired, the burners used must conform to the 

applicable requirements of the National Fuel Gas Code, as adopted by reference in NAC 

455C.108.  For installations which are gas-fired, an emergency shut-off valve shall be installed 

on the gas line feeding the installation upstream of all other valves.  The shut-off valve shall 

interrupt all flow of gas to the installation upon actuating of the boiler emergency shut down 

switch. 

Sec. 41. NAC 455C.216 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.216     1.  Repairs and alterations to all boilers and pressure vessels must 

conform to the applicable provisions of the code. 

     2.  If a repair or alteration to a boiler or pressure vessel is necessary, an inspector or special 

inspector must be consulted about the appropriate method of making the repair or alteration. After 

the repair or alteration is made, the inspector or special inspector shall inspect the boiler or pressure 

vessel in the manner set forth in the code. The person who makes the repairs or alterations shall 

submit the “R” form, prescribed by the National Board, to the [Enforcement] Mechanical 

Compliance Section within 30 days after completion of the repair or alteration. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec108
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec108
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     3.  The person who makes repairs or alterations must be qualified pursuant to the applicable 

provisions of the code. 

Sec. 42. NAC 455C.232 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.232     1.  Each hot water heating boiler must have at least one safety relief valve, 

certified by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers or the National Board, set to relieve 

pressure at or below the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler. Each hot water supply 

boiler must have at least one safety relief valve of the automatic reseating type, certified by the 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers or the National Board, set to relieve at or below the 

maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler. Safety relief valves must have a capacity 

certified by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers or the National Board and must have 

a spring-pop type action if tested by steam. If more than one safety relief valve is used on hot water 

heating or hot water supply boilers, the additional valve must be rated by the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers or the National Board and set within a range not to exceed 6 PSIG above 

the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler up to and including 60 PSIG and 10 percent 

if the maximum allowable working pressure exceeds 60 PSIG. Safety relief valves must be spring 

loaded. Safety relief valves must be arranged so that they cannot be reset at a higher pressure than 

the maximum permitted by this subsection. 

     2.  Material that is likely to fail because of deterioration or vulcanization if it is subjected to a 

saturated steam temperature which corresponds to test pressure for capacity must not be used for 

any part of the safety relief valve. 

     3.  A safety relief valve must not be smaller than three-quarters of an inch or larger than 4 1/2 

inches in a standard pipe size, except that boilers having [a] an input of heat of not more than 

15,000 British thermal units per hour may be equipped with a safety relief valve of one-half of an 



32 
Emergency Regulation of the Department of Business and Industry,  
Division of Industrial Relations, Mechanical Compliance Section 

 

inch in diameter or its equivalent area. The opening for the inlet must have an inside diameter 

approximately equal to, or greater than, the diameter of the seat. The minimum opening through 

any part of the valve must not be less than one-fourth of an inch in diameter or an equivalent area. 

     4.  The capacity of the safety relief valve for each boiler must be such that, with the fuel-

burning equipment installed and operated at maximum capacity, the pressure cannot exceed [6 

PSIG above the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler up to and including 60 PSIG 

and] 10 percent [if] above the maximum allowable working pressure [exceeds 60 PSIG] of the 

boiler . 

     5.  If operating conditions are changed or additional boiler heating surface is installed, the 

capacity of the valve must be increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions as set forth in the 

code and must be in accordance with subsection 4. The additional valves required because of 

changed conditions may be installed on the outlet piping if there is no intervening valve. 

     6.  If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety relief valve, an accumulation test must 

be run as provided in section IV of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, as adopted by 

reference in NAC 455C.108. 

     7.  A valve of any description must not be placed between the safety relief valve and the boiler, 

or on the discharge pipe between the safety relief valve and the atmosphere. The discharge pipe 

must be at least full size and fitted with an open drain to prevent water from lodging in the upper 

part of the safety relief valve or in the discharge pipe. If an elbow is placed on the discharge pipe, 

it must be located close to the safety relief valve outlet or the discharge pipe must be securely 

anchored and supported. All discharges from the safety relief valve must be so located or piped as 

not to endanger any person in the area. 
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     8.  A pressure and temperature relief valve must be installed on all water heaters and hot water 

supply boilers to which the provisions of NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive, apply. 

Sec. 43. NAC 455C.234 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

      NAC 455C.234     1.  A [lined] potable water heater must have at least one pressure and 

temperature relief valve that is: 

     (a) Not smaller than three-fourths of an inch standard pipe size; and 

     (b) Marked with the symbol V or HV to ensure compliance with the construction and rating 

requirements of the code. 

     2.  The pressure setting of the relief valve must be less than or equal to the maximum allowable 

working pressure of the [lined] potable water heater. The temperature setting of the relief valve 

must not exceed 210 degrees Fahrenheit. If any other components of the hot water supply system, 

such as a valve, pump, expansion or storage tank or piping, have a working pressure rating that is 

less than the [lined] potable water heater, the pressure setting for the relief valve must be based 

upon the component with the lowest maximum allowable working pressure rating. If there is more 

than one safety relief valve on a [lined] potable water heater, the pressure of the additional valve 

must not exceed the pressure of the first valve by more than 10 percent. 

     3.  The relieving capacity for the safety relief valve of an electrically powered [lined] potable 

water heater must be greater than 3,500 British thermal units per hour per kilowatt of input. The 

required relieving capacity for the safety relief valve on any other [lined] potable water heater must 

be in British thermal units per hour and must not be less than the maximum allowable input. 

     4.  A [lined] potable water heater must have a safety relief valve capacity such that when the 

fuel-burning equipment is installed and operated at maximum capacity, the pressure cannot rise 

more than 10 percent of maximum allowable working pressures. 
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     5.  If operating conditions change or additional heating surface is installed, the capacity of the 

safety relief valve on a [lined] potable water heater must be increased to meet the requirements of 

this section. If any additional valves are required because of a change in operating conditions, the 

valves may be installed on the outlet piping if there is not an intervening valve. 

Sec. 44. NAC 455C.274 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.274    1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, a high-pressure, high-

temperature water boiler and a power boiler must be attended by an operator who meets the 

qualifications set forth in NAC 455C.268. 

     2.  The operator shall personally check the operation of the boiler, the necessary auxiliaries 

and the level of water in the boiler at intervals necessary to ensure the boiler’s safe operation. The 

boiler and its auxiliaries must be checked at least once every 60 minutes and must not be left 

unattended for periods in excess of the time required to evaporate the water from the normal 

operating level to the lowest water level permissible if the feed water is shut off or the boiler is 

forced to its maximum capacity. A log noting the time of all checks and observations must be kept 

in the boiler room. 

     3.  If the attendance of the boiler is required pursuant to this section, a clock to start or stop 

automatically the operation of the boiler must not be used, unless the timing mechanism is a device 

or system which has been approved by the [Enforcement] Mechanical Compliance Section. 

     4.  High-pressure, high-temperature water boilers and power boilers are not required to be 

attended, if the boiler is equipped with the following functioning protective devices, as required 

by the applicable provisions of Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, CSD-

1, [2012] , as adopted by reference in NAC 455C.108: 

     (a) If the boiler is operated at less than supercritical pressure: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec268
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          (1) A low water fuel cutoff; 

          (2) An automatic feed regulator; 

          (3) Fireside regulators and controls; 

          (4) An audible alarm to indicate low water; 

          (5) A pressure control; and 

          (6) A programmed flame safeguard system with an audible alarm on burners equipped with 

spark ignition. 

     (b) If the boiler is operated at supercritical pressure, it must include all the devices described 

in paragraph (a) and: 

          (1) A cutoff device for high temperature or fuel; and 

          (2) An audible alarm to indicate high temperature. 

     5.  As used in this section, “supercritical pressure” means 3,206 pounds of pressure per square 

inch at 705 degrees Fahrenheit. 

Sec. 45. NAC 455C.278 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

      NAC 455C.278     1.  Each hot water boiler must have a thermometer so located and 

connected that it is easily readable when observing the burner of the boiler. The thermometer must 

be so located and connected that it will at all times indicate, in degrees Fahrenheit, the temperature 

of the water in the boiler at or near the outlet. 

     2.  In addition to satisfying the requirements set forth in subsection 1, each hot water boiler 

must be equipped with: 

     (a) An operating control and a secondary high limit control that automatically interrupts the 

fuel supply to the boiler if the boiler reaches its designed maximum operating temperature; and 

     (b) A stop valve and drain valve that [has] have been installed in accordance with: 
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          (1) The applicable construction code, if any; or 

          (2)  Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, CSD-1, [2012] , as 

adopted by reference in NAC 455C.108. 

Sec. 46. NAC 455C.410 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.410     1.  “Elevator” includes, without limitation, an elevator, dumbwaiter, 

escalator, moving walk, platform lift , material lift and related equipment. The term also includes 

the hoistway and hoistway enclosure of the elevator, dumbwaiter, escalator, moving walk, 

platform lift , material lift and related equipment, and all the machinery and equipment necessary 

for the operation of the elevator, dumbwaiter, escalator, moving walk, platform lift , material lift 

and related equipment. 

     2.  As used in this section, “hoistway enclosure” means a fixed structure, consisting of vertical 

walls or partitions, that isolates the hoistway from all other areas or from an adjacent hoistway and 

in which entrances are installed. 

Sec. 47. NAC 455C.432 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.432  “Private residence elevator” means an elevator that is installed in a private 

residence [or in a multiple-family dwelling or apartment complex] as a means of access to a private 

residence , or any portion of the residence, and is not accessible to the general public. 

Sec. 48. NAC 455C.432 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.434  “Related equipment” means a manlift, personnel hoist , vertical 

reciprocating conveyor, shopping cart conveyor or any other related equipment designated by the 

Mechanical Compliance Section. 

Sec. 49. NAC 455C.448 is hereby amended to read as follows:  
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     NAC 455C.448     1.  A person responsible for the operation of an elevator pursuant to NAC 

455C.504 , or that person’s agent, who wishes to obtain an exemption from a requirement set 

forth in NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive, for a condition or practice that is not consistent 

with the requirement must submit an application for an exemption to the Mechanical Compliance 

Section on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section. 

     2.  If a condition or practice for which the person requests an exemption does not affect the 

safe operation of an elevator or related system, the Mechanical Compliance Section may approve 

the exemption from the requirement if the exemption is in the best interests of the general public 

and: 

     (a) Such an exemption is necessary to allow the operation of the elevator or related system and 

compliance with the requirement is not practicable; or  

     (b) The elevator or related system complies with the codes or standards adopted by the local 

jurisdiction within which the elevator or related system is located. 

     3.  If a person designated by the Chief recommends approval of the exemption: 

     (a) The recommendation for approval must be noted on the application for an exemption; and 

     (b) The Chief must review and determine whether to accept or reject the application for an 

exemption within 5 business days after the application is submitted to the Mechanical Compliance 

Section. 

     4.  If the Chief grants the exemption, the Chief shall: 

     (a) Note that he or she has granted the exemption on the application for an exemption; and 

     (b) Forward the application for an exemption to the Administrator within 15 calendar days 

after granting the exemption. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec504
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     5.  If the Chief or his or her designee denies the exemption and the person requesting the 

exemption contests the denial, the Chief or his or her designee shall have the elevator jointly 

inspected by any combination of two inspectors or special inspectors. Each inspector or special 

inspector shall prepare and submit a report of inspection to the Chief or his or her designee. The 

Administrator or his or her designee shall reconsider the application for exemption and render a 

final decision based on the information contained in the reports of inspection submitted by the 

inspectors or special inspectors pursuant to this section. The decision of the Administrator or his 

or her designee is a final decision for the purpose of judicial review. 

     6.  In addition to an exemption that may be granted pursuant to subsections 1 to 5, inclusive, 

the Chief may grant an exemption from a requirement set forth in NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, 

inclusive, for an elevator in the case of an emergency or if he or she determines that such an 

exemption is in the best interests of the general public. If the Chief grants an exemption pursuant 

to this subsection, the Chief shall notify the Administrator of the exemption. If the exemption is 

granted because the Chief determined that the exemption is in the best interests of the general 

public, the notice to the Administrator must be in writing. 

Sec. 50. NAC 455C.450 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.450     1.  The Mechanical Compliance Section shall charge and collect the 

following fees: 

  

Certificates to work as an Elevator Mechanic Fees 

    

     For the issuance of a certificate..................................................................................            $150 

     For the renewal of a certificate...................................................................................                75 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
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Certificates of Accreditation as an Authorized Inspection Agency Fees 

    

     For the issuance of a certificate of accreditation........................................................             $300 

     For the renewal of a certificate of accreditation.........................................................               150 

  

Certificates of Competency for Special Inspectors Fees 

    

     For the issuance of a certificate of competency.........................................................               $   150  

     For the renewal of a certificate of competency..........................................................         75 

  

Work Cards for Elevator Mechanic Apprentices and Helpers Fees 

    

     For the issuance of a work card..................................................................................    $150 

     For the renewal of a work card...................................................................................          75 

  

Passenger Elevators Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an initial operating permit based on an acceptance inspection, if 

the passenger elevator has:   

          At least 1 but not more than 10 landings..............................................................              $500 

          At least 11 but not more than 30 landings............................................................                750 

          More than 30 landings...........................................................................................             1,000 
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Freight Elevators and Vertical Reciprocating Conveyors Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an initial operating permit based on an acceptance inspection, if 

the freight elevator or vertical reciprocating conveyor has a capacity of: 

  

          10,000 pounds or less............................................................................................              $500 

          More than 10,000 pounds.....................................................................................                750 

  

Dumbwaiters Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an operating permit for a dumbwaiter, based on an acceptance 

inspection..............................................................................................................  

  

            $250 

  

Escalators, Shopping Cart Conveyors, Moving Walks and Manlifts Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an operating permit for an escalator, shopping cart conveyor, 

moving walk or manlift, based on an acceptance 

inspection........................................................................  

  

            $750 

  

Elevators and Personnel Hoists 

Used During Construction Fees 
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     For the issuance of a limited operating permit for an elevator that is used during 

construction, based on an acceptance inspection..................................................              $300 

     For the issuance of a limited operating permit for a personnel hoist that is used 

during construction, based on an acceptance inspection......................................                500 

  

Platform Lifts Fees 

    

     For the issuance of an operating permit for a platform lift, based on an acceptance 

inspection..............................................................................................................              $250 

  

Private Residence Elevators Fees 

    

     For the preliminary and final inspections of a private residence elevator by an 

inspector that are required to be made at the time of installation pursuant to NAC 

455C.516.....................................................................................................              $400 

     For each subsequent inspection of a private residence elevator by a special inspector 

that is requested by the owner of the private residence elevator..........                100 

  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec516
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Renewal of Operating Permits for Elevators Inspected 

by Special Inspectors Fees 

    

     For the renewal of an operating permit for an elevator if the operating permit is 

renewed based on a report of inspection made by [a] an inspector or special 

inspector..................              $200 

  

Special Services Fees 

    

     For any services rendered by the Mechanical Compliance Section to assist a person 

in complying with the provisions of this chapter, including, without limitation, 

an inspection other than an inspection required by NAC 455C.516 and the 

review of plans, drawings and specifications before those plans, drawings and 

specifications are submitted to the Mechanical Compliance Section pursuant to 

NAC 455C.506: 

  

          Per hour charge for those services provided during the first 8 hours of a day.....                $60 

          Per hour charge for those services provided after the first 8 hours of the day.....                100 

  

     2.  In addition to paying the fees imposed by this section for services rendered by the 

Mechanical Compliance Section to assist a person in complying with the provisions of this chapter, 

a person who requests that the Mechanical Compliance Section perform such services must pay 

all necessary expenses incurred by the Mechanical Compliance Section in fulfilling the request, 

including, without limitation: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec516
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     (a) The payment of a mileage charge before the issuance of any permit at a rate equal to the 

mileage allowance for state officers and employees who use their personal vehicles for the 

convenience of this State for all travel to and from an inspection conducted at a location which is 

more than 50 miles from the closest office of the Mechanical Compliance Section; 

     (b) A charge of $20 for the filing of a maintenance control program for an elevator; [and] 

     (c) A charge of $250 for any inspection that is cancelled less than one full business day before 

the scheduled inspection ;  

     (d) A processing fee of up to $25 for each renewal of an operating permit issued by the 

Mechanical Compliance Section; and 

     (e) Alterations to elevators shall be assessed on a per hour basis not to exceed the cost for an 

initial operating permit of an elevator of the same type. 

     3.  Each fee owed to the Mechanical Compliance Section must be paid in advance. The 

Mechanical Compliance Section will not process and will return to the sender any documents 

submitted to the Mechanical Compliance Section which do not include the correct fee, are 

incomplete or are not sent to the Mechanical Compliance Section office which maintains the record 

for that object. An amended submission for any submission returned pursuant to this subsection 

may be resubmitted to the Mechanical Compliance Section within 10 business days after the 

original submission was returned to the sender and must be accompanied by an additional fee of 

$50. 

     4.  Fees for annual renewal of operating permits shall be, at the discretion of the 

Administrator, collected by the Authorized Inspection Agencies on behalf of the Division. 

Sec. 51. NAC 455C.460 is hereby amended to read as follows:  
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     NAC 455C.460     1.  An applicant for a certificate to work as an elevator mechanic must 

submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     (a) An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; 

     (b) The fee for the issuance of a certificate set forth in NAC 455C.450; 

     (c) The statement required by NAC 455C.474; and 

     (d) Proof satisfactory to the Mechanical Compliance Section that the applicant: 

          (1) Has successfully completed a formal educational program or an apprenticeship, 

recognized by a state or federal apprenticeship program, in the construction, installation, alteration 

and repair of elevators; 

          (2) Has at least 12,000 hours of working experience in the construction, installation, 

alteration and repair of elevators; 

          (3) Has at least 10,000 hours of working experience in the construction, installation, 

alteration and repair of elevators and holds a current Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) 

certification issued by an organization that holds a QEI Certificate of Accreditation; 

          (4) Has at least 8,000 hours of working experience in the construction, installation, 

alteration and repair of elevators, has successfully completed at least 60 semester hours or 90 

quarter hours of course work from an accredited college or university in an engineering field 

relating to the construction, installation, alteration and repair of elevators and holds a current 

Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) certification issued by an organization that holds a QEI 

Certificate of Accreditation; or 

          (5) Has [, on December 15, 2004,] at least 6,000 hours of working experience in the 

construction, installation, alteration and repair of private residence elevators. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec450
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     2.  If the Mechanical Compliance Section has reason to believe that the conduct of an applicant 

for a certificate has raised a reasonable question as to the applicant’s competence to practice as an 

elevator mechanic with reasonable skill and safety, the Mechanical Compliance Section may 

require an examination of the applicant to determine his or her fitness to practice as an elevator 

mechanic. If such action is taken, the reasons for the action must be documented and must be 

available to the applicant being examined. 

     3.  A certificate issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight [on September 1 next 

following] one year after the date of issuance, unless the certificate is renewed. 

     4.  Except as otherwise provided in subsections 5 and 6, if an applicant satisfies the 

requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue a certificate 

to the applicant. 

     5.  If the working experience of the applicant is limited to private residence elevators, the 

certificate issued pursuant to this section must only authorize the holder of the certificate to 

construct, install, alter or repair a private residence elevator. 

     6.  If the working experience of the applicant is limited to personnel hoists and employee 

elevators on construction or demolition sites, the certificate issued pursuant to this section must 

only authorize the holder of the certificate to construct, install, alter or repair a personnel hoist or 

employee elevator on a construction or demolition site. 

     7.  If the working experience of the applicant is limited to vertical reciprocating conveyors, 

the certificate issued pursuant to this section must only authorize the holder of the certificate to 

construct, install, alter or repair a vertical reciprocating conveyor. 

Sec. 52. NAC 455C.460 is hereby amended to read as follows:  
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     NAC 455C.460      1.  An applicant for a certificate to work as an elevator mechanic must 

submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     (a) An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; 

     (b) The fee for the issuance of a certificate set forth in NAC 455C.450; and 

     (c) Proof satisfactory to the Mechanical Compliance Section that the applicant: 

          (1) Has successfully completed a formal educational program or an apprenticeship, 

recognized by a state or federal apprenticeship program, in the construction, installation, alteration 

and repair of elevators; 

          (2) Has at least 12,000 hours of working experience in the construction, installation, 

alteration and repair of elevators; 

          (3) Has at least 10,000 hours of working experience in the construction, installation, 

alteration and repair of elevators and holds a current Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) 

certification issued by an organization that holds a QEI Certificate of Accreditation; 

          (4) Has at least 8,000 hours of working experience in the construction, installation, 

alteration and repair of elevators, has successfully completed at least 60 semester hours or 90 

quarter hours of course work from an accredited college or university in an engineering field 

relating to the construction, installation, alteration and repair of elevators and holds a current 

Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) certification issued by an organization that holds a QEI 

Certificate of Accreditation; or 

          (5) Has [, on December 15, 2004,] at least 6,000 hours of working experience in the 

construction, installation, alteration and repair of private residence elevators. 

     2.  If the Mechanical Compliance Section has reason to believe that the conduct of an applicant 

for a certificate has raised a reasonable question as to the applicant’s competence to practice as an 
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elevator mechanic with reasonable skill and safety, the Mechanical Compliance Section may 

require an examination of the applicant to determine his or her fitness to practice as an elevator 

mechanic. If such action is taken, the reasons for the action must be documented and must be 

available to the applicant being examined. 

     3.  A certificate issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight [on September 1 next 

following] one year after the date of issuance, unless the certificate is renewed. 

     4.  Except as otherwise provided in subsections 5 and 6, if an applicant satisfies the 

requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue a certificate 

to the applicant. 

     5.  If the working experience of the applicant is limited to private residence elevators, the 

certificate issued pursuant to this section must only authorize the holder of the certificate to 

construct, install, alter or repair a private residence elevator. 

     6.  If the working experience of the applicant is limited to personnel hoists and employee 

elevators on construction or demolition sites, the certificate issued pursuant to this section must 

only authorize the holder of the certificate to construct, install, alter or repair a personnel hoist or 

employee elevator on a construction or demolition site. 

     7.  If the working experience of the applicant is limited to vertical reciprocating conveyors, 

the certificate issued pursuant to this section must only authorize the holder of the certificate to 

construct, install, alter or repair a vertical reciprocating conveyor. 

Sec. 53. NAC 455C.462 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.462   To renew a certificate, an elevator mechanic must [, on or before September 

1,] , prior to expiration, submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     1.  An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; 
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     2.  The fee for the renewal of a certificate set forth in NAC 455C.450; and 

     3.  The statement required by NAC 455C.474. 

     4.   A certificate issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight one year after the date of 

issuance.  

Sec. 54. NAC 455C.462 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.462   To renew a certificate, an elevator mechanic must [, on or before September 

1,] , prior to expiration, submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     1.  An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; and 

     2.  The fee for the renewal of a certificate set forth in NAC 455C.450. 

     3.   A certificate issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight one year after the date of 

issuance. 

Sec. 55. NAC 455C.464 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.464     1.  An applicant for a certificate of competency as a special inspector 

must: 

     (a) Submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

          (1) An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; 

          (2) The fee for the issuance of a certificate of competency set forth in NAC 455C.450; and 

          (3) The statement required by NAC 455C.474; and 

     (b) Hold a current Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) certification issued by an organization 

that holds a QEI Certificate of Accreditation. 

     2.  A certificate of competency issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight [on 

September 1 next following] one year after the date of issuance, unless the certificate of 

competency is renewed. 
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     3.  If an applicant satisfies the requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical 

Compliance Section shall issue a certificate of competency to the applicant. 

Sec. 56. NAC 455C.464 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.464     1.  An applicant for a certificate of competency as a special inspector 

must: 

     (a) Submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

          (1) An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; and 

          (2) The fee for the issuance of a certificate of competency set forth in NAC 455C.450; and 

     (b) Hold a current Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI) certification issued by an organization 

that holds a QEI Certificate of Accreditation. 

     2.  A certificate of competency issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight [ on 

September 1 next following] one year after the date of issuance, unless the certificate of 

competency is renewed. 

     3.  If an applicant satisfies the requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical 

Compliance Section shall issue a certificate of competency to the applicant. 

Sec. 57. NAC 455C.466 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.466     To renew a certificate of competency, a special inspector must, [on or 

before September 1] prior to expiration , submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     1.  An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; 

     2.  The fee for the renewal of a certificate of competency set forth in NAC 455C.450; and 

     3.  The statement required by NAC 455C.474. 

     4.  A certificate of competency issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight one year 

after the date of issuance.  
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https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec474
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Sec. 58. NAC 455C.466 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.466   To renew a certificate of competency, a special inspector must, [on or 

before September 1] prior to expiration , submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section: 

     1.  An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; and 

     2.  The fee for the renewal of a certificate of competency set forth in NAC 455C.450. 

     3.  A certificate of competency issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight one year 

after the date of issuance.  

Sec. 59. NAC 455C.468 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.468     1.  An applicant for a work card must submit to the Mechanical 

Compliance Section: 

     (a) A letter certifying that the applicant is currently employed by or under contract with a 

licensed elevator contractor; 

     (b) The fee for issuance of a work card set forth in NAC 455C.450; and  

     (c) The statement required by NAC 455C.474. 

     2.  A work card issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight [on September 1 next 

following] one year after the date of issuance, unless the work card is renewed. 

     3.  If an applicant satisfies the requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical 

Compliance Section shall issue a work card to the applicant. 

Sec. 60. NAC 455C.468 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.468     1.  An applicant for a work card must submit to the Mechanical 

Compliance Section: 

     (a) A letter certifying that the applicant is currently employed by or under contract with a 

licensed elevator contractor; and 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec450
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec450
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec474
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     (b) The fee for issuance of a work card set forth in NAC 455C.450. 

     2.  A work card issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight [on September 1 next 

following] one year after the date of issuance, unless the work card is renewed. 

     3.  If an applicant satisfies the requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical 

Compliance Section shall issue a work card to the applicant. 

Sec. 61. NAC 455C.468 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.470     To renew a work card, an elevator mechanic apprentice or elevator 

mechanic helper must, [on or before September 1] prior to expiration , submit to the Mechanical 

Compliance Section: 

     1.  A letter certifying that he or she is currently employed by or under contract with a licensed 

elevator contractor; 

     2.  The fee for the renewal of a work card set forth in NAC 455C.450; and 

     3.  The statement required by NAC 455C.474. 

     4.   A work card issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight one year after the date of 

issuance.  

Sec. 62. NAC 455C.470 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.470   To renew a work card, an elevator mechanic apprentice or elevator 

mechanic helper must, [on or before September 1] prior to expiration , submit to the Mechanical 

Compliance Section: 

     1.  A letter certifying that he or she is currently employed by or under contract with a licensed 

elevator contractor; and 

     2.  The fee for the renewal of a work card set forth in NAC 455C.450. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec450
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec450
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec474
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec450
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     3.   A work card issued pursuant to this section expires at midnight one year after the date of 

issuance. 

Sec. 63. NAC 455C.500 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.500     1.  The following codes, manuals and standards are hereby adopted by 

reference by the Division and may be obtained for the price listed: 

     (a) Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators, A17.1, [2013] 2019 edition and all appendices, 

published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $ [335] 390. 

     (b) [2013] 2016 Handbook on Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators, A17.1/CSA B44, 

published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $ [240] 245. 

     (c) Guide for Inspection of Elevators, Escalators, and Moving Walks, A17.2, [2012] 2017 

edition and all appendices, published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the 

price of $ [180] 195. 

     (d) Safety Requirements for Personnel Hoists on Construction and Demolition Sites, 

A10.4, [2007] 2016 edition, published by the American National Standards Institute, for the price 

of $ [77] 110. 

     (e) Safety Standard for Belt Manlifts, A90.1, [2009] 2015 edition, published by the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $59. 

     (f) Safety Code for Existing Elevators and Escalators, A17.3, [2011] 2017 edition and all 

appendices, published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $ [130] 

195. 

     (g) Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities, A117.1, sections 4.07 and 4.08, [2009] 

2017 edition, published by the American National Standards Institute, for the price of $ [46] 48. 
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     (h) Guide for Emergency Personnel, A17.4, [1999] 2015 edition, published by the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $35. 

     (i) Safety Standard for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts, A18.1, [2011] 2017 edition, 

published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $ [90] 98. 

     (j) Standard for the Qualification of Elevator Inspectors, QEI-1, [2013] 2018 edition, 

published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $ [70] 74. 

     (k) Elevator and Escalator Electrical Equipment, A17.5, [2011] 2019 edition, published by 

the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $ [130] 145. 

     (l) Standard for Elevator Suspension, Compensation, and Governor Systems, A17.6, [2010] 

2017 edition, published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $90. 

     (m) Performance-Based Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators, A17.7, 2007 edition, 

published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, for the price of $155. 

     (n) The edition most recently adopted in NAC 477.281 of the International Building Code, 

published by the International Code Council. 

     (o)  Safety Standard for Conveyors and Related Equipment, B20.1, sections 6.17, 6.18, 6.21, 

and Mandatory Appendix I, 2018 edition, published by the American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers, for the price of $58.   

     2.  The codes, manuals and standards set forth in subsection 1 which are published by the 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers may be obtained from the ASME [International, 22 

Law Drive, P.O. Box 2900, Fairfield, New Jersey 07007-2900] P.O. Box 36037, Newark, NJ  

07188-6037 . 

Sec. 64. NAC 455C.506 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-477.html#NAC477Sec281
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NAC 455C.506     1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a licensed elevator 

contractor must obtain a permit from the Mechanical Compliance Section for construction, 

installation or alteration of an elevator before such work is begun. Only one active permit may 

exist at any time for each elevator. 

     2.  A contractor who is required to obtain a permit pursuant to subsection 1 must submit to the 

Mechanical Compliance Section not less than 10 business days before commencing the 

construction, installation or alteration a request for the permit that is accompanied by plans, 

drawings, a maintenance control program and specifications in the form prescribed by the 

Mechanical Compliance Section. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, if the plans, 

drawings and specifications indicate the construction, installation or alteration will comply with 

the provisions of NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive, and the contractor does not owe any 

outstanding debt to the Mechanical Compliance Section, the Mechanical Compliance Section 

shall issue a permit to the contractor. 

     3.  A permit is not required for repairs and replacement that are necessary for the maintenance 

of an elevator if parts of equivalent materials, strength and design as that used in the original 

construction are used. 

     4.  A permit may not be required for the installation of cosmetic wraps on elevator hoistway 

doors, car doors, and on car interior panels provided the installation shall not exceed 90 days; 

do not obscure any required markings, controls, lights, key switches or access points; do not 

cover car operating panels; use materials that comply with adopted codes; and are not installed 

on escalators. 

5.  An elevator for which a permit for construction, installation or alteration is required must 

not be constructed, installed or altered unless a permit has been issued. If any such work is started 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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before the permit is obtained, the work must be suspended until a permit is issued and the 

Mechanical Compliance Section may impose an administrative fine of not more than $5,000 on 

the licensed elevator contractor or, if a licensed elevator contractor is not performing the work, on 

the owner of the elevator. Each 30-calendar-day period during which a violation of this section 

continues constitutes a separate violation. 

     [5.] 6.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3 of NAC 455C.510, an operating permit 

is [void] suspended upon the issuance of a permit for [construction, installation or] alteration of 

an elevator until the alteration is complete and a satisfactory inspection has been performed by 

the Mechanical Compliance Section. A permit for construction, installation or alteration of an 

elevator does not authorize the operation of an elevator for which an operating permit is required. 

     [6.] 7.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 7, as required by NRS 455C.160, a person 

who constructs, installs, alters or repairs a new elevator or existing installation must be certified 

as an elevator mechanic pursuant to NRS 455C.110 and NAC 455C.460. 

     [7.] 8.  An elevator mechanic may be assisted in the construction, installation, alteration 

or repair of a new elevator or existing installation by an elevator mechanic apprentice or an elevator 

mechanic helper if the work performed by the elevator mechanic apprentice or elevator mechanic 

helper is performed under the supervision of the elevator mechanic. 

Sec. 65. NAC 455C.510 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.510     1.  The Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue an operating permit 

to the owner of an elevator within the period set forth in subsection 2 if the written report of 

inspection indicates the elevator is in compliance with NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive. The 

operating permit must set forth the number assigned by the Mechanical Compliance Section and 

the serial number assigned by the manufacturer of the elevator. The operating permit must be [kept 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec510
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-455C.html#NRS455CSec160
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-455C.html#NRS455CSec110
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec460
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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at the same location as the elevator] retained on the premises where the elevator is installed .  The 

owner shall post information in each elevator regarding the operating permit when required by 

the Mechanical Compliance Section.  

     2.  The Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue an operating permit within: 

     (a) Thirty calendar days for existing installations; and 

     (b) Fifteen calendar days for new elevators, 

 after the date of the inspection, unless the time is extended by the Mechanical Compliance 

Section. An elevator for which a permit is required must not be operated unless the operating 

permit has been issued. 

     3.  The Mechanical Compliance Section may issue a limited operating permit to allow an 

elevator to be used during construction. 

     4.  The Mechanical Compliance Section shall not issue an operating permit for a period that 

exceeds: 

     (a) One year for elevators, dumbwaiters , [and] platform lifts and material lifts. 

     (b) Six months for escalators or moving walks. 

     (c) The period designated by the Mechanical Compliance Section for related equipment. 

     (d) Ninety calendar days if the operating permit is a limited operating permit issued to allow 

an elevator to be used during construction. 

     5.  If the written report of an inspection of an elevator indicates a violation of NAC 455C.400 

to 455C.530, inclusive, or of the detailed plans and specifications approved by the Mechanical 

Compliance Section pursuant to NAC 455C.506, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall give 

notice to the owner of the elevator and may give notice to any other appropriate person of the 

changes necessary for compliance. If the owner makes the changes required by the Mechanical 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec506
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Compliance Section, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue an operating permit to the 

owner within: 

     (a) Thirty calendar days for existing installations; and 

     (b) Fifteen calendar days for new elevators, 

 after the date the changes were completed, unless the time is extended by the Mechanical 

Compliance Section. 

     6.  If the written report of an inspection of an elevator indicates that the elevator is unsafe and 

that its continued operation may be dangerous, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall refuse to 

issue, or shall suspend or revoke, the operating permit and shall require the owner of the elevator 

to ensure that the elevator will not be used until the elevator has been made safe and is in 

compliance with the requirements of NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive. 

     [7.  A written report of inspection shall be deemed to be an operating permit and authorizes 

the operation of an elevator until the operating permit is issued, if: 

     (a) The report of inspection recommends the issuance of an operating permit; and 

     (b) The elevator complies with the requirements of NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive.] 

Sec. 66. NAC 455C.512 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.512     1.  A licensed elevator contractor who performs periodic tests on an 

elevator shall notify the Mechanical Compliance Section, in writing, at least 3 business days before 

commencing any periodic tests on the elevator.  

     2.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, any periodic tests performed on an elevator 

must comply with the requirements of NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive. 

     3.  [A] An inspector or special inspector must witness any periodic tests performed on an 

elevator. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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Sec. 67. NAC 455C.516 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.516     1.  An elevator located in this State must be inspected in accordance with 

the codes, manuals and standards adopted by reference in NAC 455C.500: 

     (a) Upon construction, installation or alteration by an inspector and annually thereafter by [a] 

an inspector or special inspector for a: 

          (1) Passenger elevator; 

          (2) Freight elevator; 

          (3) Dumbwaiter; or 

          (4) Platform lift, other than a platform lift installed in a private residence. 

     (b) Upon construction, installation or alteration by an inspector and every 6 months thereafter 

by [a] an inspector or special inspector for an escalator, moving walk or manlift. 

     (c) Upon construction, installation or alteration by an inspector and every 3 months thereafter 

by an inspector for an elevator or personnel hoist that is used during construction. 

     (d) Upon construction, installation or alteration by an inspector, and the inspection must 

include a preliminary and a final inspection for a private residence elevator. All cab materials in 

their end-use configuration shall conform to the following requirements, based on tests 

conducted in accordance with the requirements of ASTM E84, ANSI/UL 723 or CAN/ULC-

S102A, indicating:  

(1) A flame spread rating of 0 to 75;  

(2) A smoke development of 0 to 450; and  

(3) Floor covering, underlayment and its adhesive shall have a critical radiant flux of 

not less than 0.45 W/cm2, as measured by ASTM E648.  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec500
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A private residence elevator must be inspected by [a] an inspector or special inspector before any 

transfer of title for a property on which a private residence elevator is located to a new owner. Any 

subsequent inspection of a private residence elevator must be performed by [a] an inspector or 

special inspector. 

     2.  The initial inspection for a new operating permit after an emergency order has been issued 

pursuant to NAC 455C.530 must be conducted by an inspector. 

     3.  [Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, all other periodic inspections in this State 

must be conducted by a special inspector.]  If a building is located more than [100] 25 miles from 

an office of the Mechanical Compliance Section and the owner of the building provides written 

documentation that a special inspector has declined to conduct the inspection, the owner may 

submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section a written request for an inspector to perform the 

inspection. 

Sec. 68. NAC 455C.519 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.519     1.  The Mechanical Compliance Section shall establish and maintain a 

listing of all elevators and related equipment in this State which require inspection. 

     2.  A special inspector is responsible for billing and collecting the payment for any inspection 

service he or she performs from the owner of the object . 

     3.  Before performing any duty as a special inspector, a special inspector must: 

     (a) Receive training from the Mechanical Compliance Section on the requirements of this 

chapter and the policies and procedures of the Mechanical Compliance Section relating to the 

inspection of elevators; and 

     (b) Demonstrate competency in the duties of a special inspector through an evaluation 

performed by the Mechanical Compliance Section. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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     4.  A special inspector shall comply with all policies and procedures of the Mechanical 

Compliance Section for conducting inspections. A special inspector who fails to comply with this 

subsection may have his or her certificate of competency suspended or revoked pursuant to NAC 

455C.492 or 455C.626. 

     5.  A special inspector shall immediately notify the Mechanical Compliance Section of unsafe 

equipment in a condition which poses an imminent danger. A condition will be considered to pose 

an imminent danger if the existing condition of the equipment without being corrected could 

reasonably be expected to result in death or serious physical harm to a user of the equipment or a 

member of the general public. The Mechanical Compliance Section shall consider whether the 

equipment which is the subject of such a notification requires an emergency order to be issued 

pursuant to NAC 455C.530 and, if so, issue such an emergency order. 

     6.  After a special inspector performs an inspection, the Mechanical Compliance Section may 

perform a follow-up inspection to ensure the quality and consistency of the inspection without 

prior notification or cost to the owner of the equipment that was inspected. 

Sec. 69. NAC 455C.521 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.521   A person shall not inspect an elevator in this State or perform any other 

duties for which a certificate of competency is required unless the person is: 

     1.  An inspector employed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; or 

     2.  A special inspector employed by or affiliated with an authorized inspection agency. 

     [3.  An elevator machine room, hoistway, pit control space, or any related area may only be 

accessed by authorized personnel who carry a certificate as an elevator mechanic, a work card as 

an elevator mechanic apprentice, a work card as an elevator mechanic helper, a certificate of 

competency as a special inspector, or an inspector.] 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec492
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec492
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec626
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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Sec. 70. NAC 455C.524 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.524   All new elevators and existing installations must be assigned a 

jurisdictional number by the Mechanical Compliance Section. The number must be painted on or 

attached or applied via durable adhesive label to the crosshead and machine controller of the 

elevator car or to the balustrade of an escalator or moving walk and its controller, in plain view. 

The number must be shown on all required permits. The format of the number must consist of the 

letters “NV” followed by four digits at least 5/16 of an inch in height, followed by the last two 

digits of the year in which the elevator, escalator, moving walk or related equipment was 

installed. [If the equipment has been altered, an alteration designation must follow the year in the 

format of an “A” followed by the number of the alteration.] 

Sec. 71. NAC 455C.526 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.526     1.  Before an initial operating permit has been issued for an elevator, the 

licensed elevator contractor who installed, relocated or altered the elevator shall [promptly] notify 

the Mechanical Compliance Section of every accident involving the elevator within 8 hours in the 

case of bodily injury, or otherwise by noon the next business day. 

     2.  After an operating permit has been issued for an elevator, the owner of the elevator or his 

or her agent shall [promptly] notify the Mechanical Compliance Section of every accident 

involving the elevator within 8 hours in the case of bodily injury, or otherwise by noon the next 

business day. 

     3.  The elevator mechanic, licensed elevator contractor or owner of the elevator or his or her 

agent shall provide any assistance required by the Mechanical Compliance Section for the 

investigation of an accident or for any inspection relating to an accident. 
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     4.  The Mechanical Compliance Section shall, as soon as practicable after receiving 

notification of an accident, make an inspection and keep in its files a complete report of its findings, 

including a detailed list of all material facts and information available and the cause, as far as it 

can be determined, for the accident. 

     5.  If an accident may have been caused by the failure, malfunction or destruction of any part 

of an elevator, the elevator must be shut down immediately , must be barricaded and cannot be 

restored to service until: 

     (a) The Mechanical Compliance Section has been notified; 

     (b) The elevator has been made safe; 

     (c) The elevator has been inspected by the Mechanical Compliance Section and, if necessary, 

tested by an elevator mechanic; and 

     (d) Any repairs, changes or alterations have been approved by the Mechanical Compliance 

Section. 

     6.  If an accident involves the failure of an elevator, no part of the elevator may be 

removed [from the premises] or disturbed on the elevator car, machine room or hoistway until 

the Mechanical Compliance Section authorizes that removal unless human life is endangered or 

except to limit further damage . 

     7.  As used in this section, “accident” means an event resulting from the operation of an 

elevator that: 

     (a) Causes serious bodily injury; [or] 

     (b) Causes a person or persons to be evacuated from the elevator; or 

     (c)  Requires an alteration, repair or replacement of the elevator. 

Sec. 72. NAC 455C.528 is hereby amended to read as follows:  
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     NAC 455C.528     1.  If, at the time of an inspection or periodic test of any elevator, the 

inspector or special inspector determines that a violation of a requirement of NAC 455C.400 to 

455C.530, inclusive, exists, he or she shall provide a written report to the person responsible for 

the operation of the elevator pursuant to NAC 455C.504. The report must describe the nature of 

the violation, including a reference to any provision of NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive, or 

set forth in a publication adopted by reference in NAC 455C.500 that was violated. The inspector 

or special inspector shall submit a copy of the report to the office of the Mechanical Compliance 

Section that maintains records for the elevator within 10 business days after the inspection or 

periodic test was performed. The Mechanical Compliance Section shall: 

     (a) Fix a reasonable time to abate the violation not to exceed 30 days; and 

     (b) Take any action authorized by NAC 455C.616 that it determines is appropriate. 

     2.  An inspector or special inspector who submits a report to the Mechanical Compliance 

Section pursuant to subsection 1 shall: 

     (a) Not later than 5 business days after the time fixed to abate the violation, determine whether 

the violation has been abated; 

     (b) Record any actions taken to abate the violation which have not been completed or that no 

action to abate the violation has occurred; and 

     (c) Report his or her findings to the office of the Mechanical Compliance Section that maintains 

records for the elevator within 5 business days after the determination was made. 

Sec. 73. NAC 455C.530 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.530     1.  The Chief of the Mechanical [Enforcement] Compliance Section or 

his or her designee may issue an emergency order to restrain any conditions or practices relating 

to an elevator , boiler or pressure vessel  which are such that a danger exists which could 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec504
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec500
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec616
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reasonably be expected to cause death or serious physical harm immediately or before the 

imminence of the danger can be eliminated through the other enforcement procedures provided by 

this chapter. An order issued pursuant to this section may require such steps to be taken as are 

necessary to avoid, correct or remove the imminent danger and may prohibit the employment or 

presence of any person in locations or under conditions where the imminent danger exists, except 

persons whose presence is necessary to avoid, correct or remove the imminent danger or to 

maintain the capacity of a continuous process operation to resume normal operations without a 

complete cessation of operations or, where a cessation of operations is necessary, to allow the 

cessation to be accomplished in a safe and orderly manner. 

     2.  An emergency order issued pursuant to subsection 1 becomes effective upon delivery to 

the owner of the elevator , boiler or pressure vessel or his or her agent where the danger exists. If, 

within 15 calendar days after the effective date of the order, the owner of the elevator , boiler or 

pressure vessel fails to notify the Administrator that the owner wishes to contest the order, the 

order shall be deemed a final order. If the owner of the elevator , boiler or pressure vessel contests 

the order within 15 days after the effective date of the order and the Administrator does not rescind 

or modify the order as requested, the owner may petition the district court for relief. Upon the 

filing of such a petition, the district court may grant injunctive relief or a temporary restraining 

order pending the outcome of an enforcement proceeding pursuant to this chapter. 

     3.  Whenever and as soon as an inspector or a special inspector concludes that a condition or 

practice described in subsection 1 exists regarding an elevator , boiler or pressure vessel , the 

inspector or special inspector shall inform the owner of the elevator , boiler or pressure vessel or 

his or her agent and the general public of the danger and that he or she is recommending to the 

Chief of the Mechanical [Enforcement] Compliance Section that an emergency order be issued. 
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     4.  If an emergency order has been issued pursuant to subsection 1, an inspection to return the 

elevator , boiler or pressure vessel to service may be performed only by an inspector. 

Sec. 74. NAC 455C.604 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

NAC 455C.604    “Certificate” means a certificate to work as a special inspector as defined 

in NAC 455C.100 or as an elevator mechanic that is issued by the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section pursuant to NAC 455C.130 or 455C.460 [, as applicable] . 

Sec. 75. NAC 455C.610 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.610   “Operating permit” means a permit required by NRS 455C.100 and issued 

by the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] for the 

operation of a boiler, elevator or pressure vessel. 

Sec. 76. NAC 455C.616 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.616     1.  The [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, 

as applicable ,] may take any action described in subsection 2 if it determines that: 

     (a) A holder of an operating permit for a boiler or pressure vessel has violated any of the 

provisions set forth in NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive; 

     (b) A holder of an operating permit for an elevator has violated any of the provisions set forth 

in NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive; 

     (c) A holder of a certificate to work as a special inspector has violated any of the provisions 

set forth in NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive, or 512.500 to 512.594, inclusive; 

     (d) A holder of a certificate to work as an elevator mechanic has violated any of the provisions 

set forth in NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive; 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec100
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec130
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec460
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-455C.html#NRS455CSec100
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec020
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec300
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec020
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https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-512.html#NAC512Sec500
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-512.html#NAC512Sec594
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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     (e) A holder of a certificate of competency or a certificate of accreditation as an authorized 

inspection agency has violated any of the provisions set forth in NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, 

inclusive; [or]  

     (f) A holder of a work card as an elevator mechanic apprentice or elevator mechanic helper has 

violated any of the provisions set forth in NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive ; or 

     (g) A licensed contractor or licensed elevator contractor has violated any of the provisions 

set forth in NAC 455C.020 to 455C.300, inclusive, or NAC 455C.400 to 455C.530, inclusive . 

     2.  After determining a violation described in subsection 1 has occurred, the [Enforcement 

Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] may: 

     (a) Issue a notice of violation which requires the holder of the operating permit, certificate, 

certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work 

card to correct the violation; 

     (b) Impose an administrative fine of not more than $5,000 and revoke the operating permit, 

certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection 

agency or work card, as applicable; [or]  

     (c) For a second [or subsequent] violation within a 24 month period : 

          (1) Impose an administrative fine of not more than $10,000; 

          (2) Revoke the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of 

accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card, as applicable; and 

          (3) Require the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card to fulfill certain 

training or educational requirements [.]  ; 

     (d) For a third violation within a 24 month period : 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec530
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          (1) Impose an administrative fine of not more than $25,000; 

          (2) Revoke the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of 

accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card, as applicable; and 

          (3) Require the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card to fulfill certain 

training or educational requirements; or 

     (e) For a fourth or subsequent violation within a 24 month period : 

          (1) Impose an administrative fine of not more than $50,000; 

          (2) Revoke the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of 

accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card, as applicable; and 

          (3) Require the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card to fulfill certain 

training or educational requirements. 

     3.  In determining the amount of the administrative fine imposed under section 2 of this 

regulation, there shall be a reduction based on the number of Nevada employees of the party 

being assessed.  If the party being assessed has 25 or fewer employees, the administrative fine 

shall be reduced to 20% of the maximum allowable fine; for 26 through 100 employees, reduced 

to 40%; for 101 through 250 employees, reduced to 70%; and for 250 or more employees, there 

shall be no reduction. 

     4.  There shall be no reductions in the amount of an administrative fine under section 3 of 

this regulation if the violation resulted in an accident causing bodily injury or party being 

assessed has 3 or more similar violations within a 24 month period.  In calculating the number 
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of violations within a 24 month period, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall use the date 

prior violations became final and no longer appealable. 

     5.  Each 30-calendar-day period during which a violation of subsection 1 continues constitutes 

a separate violation for which the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, 

as applicable,] may impose an additional administrative fine of not more than $5,000. 

Sec. 77. NAC 455C.618 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.618   If the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section 

intends to impose an administrative fine pursuant to NAC 455C.506 or 455C.616, a penalty 

pursuant to NAC 455C.492 or a penalty pursuant to NAC 455C.616 against the holder of a 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency, the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] shall notify the holder of an operating permit, 

certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection 

agency or work card of its intention by: 

     1.  Delivering a notice of violation to the licensed contractor, the licensed elevator contractor 

or the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of 

accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card by certified mail; 

     2.  Enclosing with the notice of violation: 

     (a) A statement indicating the legal authority and jurisdiction of the [Enforcement Section or 

the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] to issue the administrative fine or penalty; 

and 

     (b) A statement of the reasons for the proposed action, including a citation of the applicable 

regulations supporting the action and the proposed administrative fine or penalty; and 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec506
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec616
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec492
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     3.  Stating the effective date of the imposition of the proposed administrative fine or penalty 

upon failure to contest, the procedures for bringing a contest and the procedures for an appeal. 

Sec. 78. NAC 455C.620 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.620     1.  A person who receives a notice of violation pursuant to NAC 

455C.618 may appeal the imposition of an administrative fine or penalty by filing a contest with 

the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] 

within 30 calendar days after the receipt of the notice of violation. 

     2.  Any contest filed pursuant to this section stays the imposition of the administrative fine or 

penalty. 

     3.  A contest filed pursuant to this section must be made in writing and describe in particular 

the matters to be contested. The contest must be accompanied by: 

     (a) Any documents applicable to the contest; 

     (b) The names of any witnesses who may be called at the hearing; and 

     (c) The expected time needed to present the contest. 

 If any person alleges that the Division does not have the jurisdiction or legal authority to act 

with regard to the imposition of an administrative fine or penalty, it must be indicated in the contest 

documents. 

     4.  The Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] or his designee shall set a date for hearing within 30 calendar days after the receipt 

of any written contest. The person filing the contest may request that the hearing be held on an 

earlier date by submitting a written request to the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable]. The request must show that the person filing the 

contest will suffer a substantial hardship if the date of the hearing is not changed and offer a 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec618
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec618
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proposed date for the hearing. The person filing the contest has the burden of establishing a 

substantial hardship. 

     5.  The Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] or his designee shall hear all contests made pursuant to this section and give all parties 

thereto notice of the hearing and a fair opportunity to participate at the hearing. The Chief of 

the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable,] or his designee 

shall issue his or her decision within a reasonable time after the conclusion of the hearing. 

Sec. 79. NAC 455C.622 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.622     1.  Any decision of the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable], rendered pursuant to NAC 455C.620 may be 

appealed to the Administrator within 30 calendar days after the issuance of the decision. If a 

decision is not appealed to the Administrator within 30 calendar days, it becomes final. 

     2.  Any review of a decision rendered pursuant to NAC 455C.620 must be summary in nature, 

limited to the record and without hearing, unless a request for a hearing is granted by the 

Administrator or his or her designee. If the Administrator or his or her designee grants a request 

for a hearing, the hearing must be confined to the issues raised and facts asserted during the hearing 

before the Chief who issued the decision. A hearing may be granted only to consider new evidence. 

     3.  The Administrator or his or her designee may affirm, reverse or modify the decision of the 

Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable,] or 

remand the matter to the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance 

Section [, as applicable ,] for further consideration. 

     4.  The decision of the Administrator or his or her designee is a final decision for the purposes 

of judicial review. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec620
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Sec. 80. NAC 455C.624 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.624     1.  The [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, 

as applicable ,] may suspend, modify or revoke an operating permit, certificate, certificate of 

competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card issued 

pursuant to this chapter if it finds that for any reason the protection of the general public requires 

such action. 

     2.  For the purposes of this section, a violation of any provision of this chapter, or if the 

inspector or special inspector is inspecting a boiler or pressure vessel governed by the provisions 

of chapter 512 of NRS and chapter 512 of NAC, a violation of any provision set forth in NAC 

512.500 to 512.594, inclusive, may constitute a danger to the general public requiring immediate 

action if so determined by the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section. 

Sec. 81. NAC 455C.626 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.626   If the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section 

intends to suspend, modify or revoke an operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card issued pursuant to the 

provisions of this chapter, the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] shall notify the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card of the suspension, 

modification or revocation by: 

     1.  Delivering a notice of suspension, modification or revocation to the holder of the operating 

permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized 

inspection agency or work card by certified mail; 

     2.  Enclosing with the notice of suspension, modification or revocation: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-512.html#NRS512
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-512.html#NAC512
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-512.html#NAC512Sec500
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-512.html#NAC512Sec500
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     (a) A statement indicating the legal authority and jurisdiction of the [Enforcement Section or 

the] Mechanical Compliance Section[, as applicable ,] to issue the suspension, modification or 

revocation; and 

     (b) A statement of the reasons for the proposed action, including a citation of the applicable 

regulations supporting the action; and 

     3.  Stating the effective date of the suspension, modification or revocation, the procedures for 

bringing a contest and the procedures for an appeal. 

Sec. 82. NAC 455C.628 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.628     1.  A holder of an operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card may appeal the 

suspension, modification or revocation of his or her operating permit, certificate, certificate of 

competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card by filing 

a contest with the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] within 15 calendar days after the effective date of the suspension, modification or 

revocation. 

     2.  Any contest filed pursuant to this section does not stay the suspension, modification or 

revocation. A stay may be requested from the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable,] but will not be granted if the holder of the 

certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection 

agency or work card or the boiler, elevator or pressure vessel for which the operating permit was 

obtained, constitutes an immediate threat to the health or safety of the general public. The holder 

of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an 
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authorized inspection agency or work card has the burden of showing that there is not a threat to 

the health or safety of the general public if a stay is granted. 

     3.  A contest filed pursuant to this section must be made in writing and describe in particular 

the matters to be contested. The contest must be accompanied by: 

     (a) Any documents applicable to the contest; 

     (b) The names of any witnesses who may be called at the hearing; and 

     (c) The expected time needed to present the contest. 

 If any person alleges that the Division does not have the jurisdiction or legal authority to act 

with regard to any suspension, modification or revocation, it must be indicated in the contest 

documents. 

     4.  The Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] shall set a date for hearing within 30 days after the receipt of any written contest. A 

holder of an operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as 

an authorized inspection agency or work card may request that the hearing be held on an earlier 

date by submitting a written request to the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical 

Compliance Section [, as applicable]. The request must show that the holder of the operating 

permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized 

inspection agency or work card will suffer a substantial hardship if the date of the hearing is not 

changed and offer a proposed date for hearing. The holder of the operating permit, certificate, 

certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work 

card has the burden of establishing a substantial hardship. 

     5.  The Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] shall hear all contests filed pursuant to this section and give all parties thereto notice 
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of the hearing and a fair opportunity to participate at the hearing. The Chief of the [Enforcement 

Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable,] shall issue his or her decision 

within a reasonable time after the conclusion of the hearing. 

Sec. 83. NAC 455C.630 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.630     1.  Any decision of the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] rendered pursuant to NAC 455C.628 may be 

appealed to the Administrator within 30 calendar days after the issuance of the decision. If a 

decision is not appealed to the Administrator within 30 calendar days, it becomes final. 

     2.  Any review of a decision rendered pursuant to NAC 455C.628 must be summary in nature, 

limited to the record and without hearing, unless a request for a hearing is granted by the 

Administrator or his or her designee. If the Administrator or his or her designee grants a request 

for a hearing, the hearing must be confined to the issues raised and facts asserted during the hearing 

before the Chief who rendered the decision. A hearing may be granted only to consider new 

evidence. 

     3.  The Administrator or his or her designee may affirm, reverse or modify the decision of the 

Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] or 

remand the matter to the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance 

Section [, as applicable ,] for further consideration. 

     4.  The decision of the Administrator or his or her designee is a final decision for the purposes 

of judicial review. 

Sec. 84. NAC 455C.632 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.632     1.  The [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, 

as applicable ,] may suspend summarily an operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec628
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certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card issued pursuant to the 

provisions of this chapter if it finds that for any reason the protection of the general public requires 

such action. 

     2.  For the purposes of this section, a violation of any provision of this chapter, or if the 

inspector or special inspector is inspecting a boiler or pressure vessel governed by the provisions 

of chapter 512 of NRS and chapter 512 of NAC, a violation of any provision set forth in NAC 

512.500 to 512.594, inclusive, may constitute a danger to the general public requiring immediate 

action if so determined by the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section. 

Sec. 85. NAC 455C.634 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.634     1.  If the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section 

intends to suspend summarily an operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate 

of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card issued pursuant to this chapter, 

the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] shall notify 

the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation 

as an authorized inspection agency or work card of the summary suspension by: 

     (a) Delivering a notice of the summary suspension to the holder of the operating permit, 

certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection 

agency or work card by certified mail; and 

     (b) Enclosing with the notice of summary suspension: 

          (1) A statement indicating the legal authority and jurisdiction of the [Enforcement Section 

or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] to issue the summary suspension; and 
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          (2) A statement of the reasons for the proposed action, including a citation of the applicable 

regulations supporting the action or the effect on the general public necessitating the action, or 

both. 

     2.  The notice of the summary suspension must: 

     (a) State the effective date of the summary suspension; 

     (b) Inform the holder of the operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, certificate 

of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card that he or she is entitled to contest 

the summary suspension; and 

     (c) State that the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable 

,] will hold a hearing within 10 business days after the receipt of any contest. 

     3.  Upon the receipt of a notice of summary suspension, the holder of the operating permit, 

certificate, certificate of competency, certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection 

agency or work card shall immediately cease all operations that are the subject of the suspension. 

Sec. 86. NAC 455C.636 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.636     1.  A holder of an operating permit, certificate, certificate of competency, 

certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency or work card may appeal a summary 

suspension by filing a contest with the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical 

Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] within 15 calendar days after the issuance of the summary 

suspension. 

     2.  Any contest filed pursuant to this section does not stay the summary suspension. 

     3.  A contest filed pursuant to this section must be made in writing and describe in particular 

the matters to be contested. The contest must be accompanied by: 

     (a) Any documents applicable to the contest; 
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     (b) The names of any witnesses who may be called at the hearing; and 

     (c) The expected time needed to present the contest. 

 If any person alleges that the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section 

does not have the jurisdiction or legal authority to act with regard to any summary suspension, it 

must be indicated in the contest documents. 

     4.  The Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] shall set a date for hearing within 10 business days after the receipt of any written 

contest. 

     5.  The Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as 

applicable ,] shall hear all contests filed pursuant to this section and issue his or her decision within 

10 business days after the conclusion of the hearing. 

Sec. 87. NAC 455C.638 is hereby amended to read as follows:  

     NAC 455C.638     1.  Any decision of the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] 

Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] rendered pursuant to NAC 455C.636 may be 

appealed to the Administrator within 30 calendar days after the issuance of the decision. 

     2.  Any review of a decision rendered pursuant to NAC 455C.636 must be summary in nature, 

limited to the record and without hearing, unless a request for a hearing is granted by the 

Administrator or his or her designee. If the Administrator or his or her designee grants a request 

for a hearing, the hearing must be confined to the issues raised and facts asserted during the hearing 

before the Chief who rendered the decision. A hearing may be granted only to consider new 

evidence. 

     3.  The Administrator or his or her designee may affirm, reverse or modify the decision of the 

Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance Section [, as applicable ,] or 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-455C.html#NAC455CSec636
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remand the matter to the Chief of the [Enforcement Section or the] Mechanical Compliance 

Section [, as applicable ,] for further consideration. If the matter is remanded, the Chief shall set a 

date for a new hearing within 10 business days. 

     4.  The decision of the Administrator or his or her designee is a final decision for the purposes 

of judicial review. 

Sec. 88.  NAC 455C.010 is hereby repealed. 

 

 

TEXT OF REPEALED SECTIONS 

 

NAC 455C.010  “Enforcement Section” means the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration of the Division. 
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DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY, 
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS,  

MECHANICAL COMPLIANCE SECTION FOR THE  
AMENDMENT OF CHAPTER 455C, OF THE  

NEVADA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
EMERGERCY REGULATION 

 
June 8, 2020 

 
Informational Statement per NRS 233B.066(2) 

 
 The following statement is submitted for the Emergency Regulations adding provisions to 
and amending chapter 455C to Nevada Administrative Code. 
 

 
1. A clear and concise explanation of the need for the adopted regulation. 

 
The COVID-19 pandemic, resulting Declaration of Emergency and subsequent Directives have 
created uncertainty in essential businesses, like construction, which are continuing to operate under 
specific conditions.  The proposed Emergency Regulation, as approved, would update the adopted 
standards for boilers, pressure vessels, elevators and escalators; authorize any qualified Division 
staff to inspect elevators, boilers and pressure vessels at mine sites; exempts water heaters under 
200,000 BTU from regulation; and clarify existing regulations regarding licensing, permitting and 
appealing MCS determinations, among other things. 
 
The Emergency Regulation relating to chapter 455C of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 
adds provisions for the expedited updating of standards which are adopted by reference in the 
existing code; adds a provision which authorizes the Administrator of the Division of Industrial 
Relations to use employees of the Mechanical Compliance Section to perform elevator and boiler 
inspections as required under chapters 512 of the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and NAC at mine 
sites; adds a provision limiting access to areas of an elevator to specific authorized persons; amends 
existing provisions to clarify the jurisdiction of the Mechanical Compliance Section; updates 
existing boiler and pressure vessel requirements; updates standards which are adopted by reference 
in the existing code; clarifies existing provisions regarding when a permit must be obtained from 
the Mechanical Compliance Section; clarifies licensing requirements for persons to perform work 
on a vertical reciprocating conveyor; clarifies the dates when certificates to work expire; clarifies 
the requirements for an inspection following an elevator accident; clarifies the requirements of an 
initial inspection of a private residence elevator; clarifying and increasing the amount of 
administrative fines the Mechanical Compliance Section may assess for multiple violations the NRS 
or NAC; and clarifies the process for reviewing administrative actions taken by the Mechanical 
Compliance Section. 
 
 
2. The estimated economic effect of the adopted regulation on the businesses which it is to 
regulate and on the public.  These must be stated separately, and each case must include: 
 (a) Both adverse and beneficial effects; and 
 (b) Both immediate and long-term effects. 
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(a) Both adverse and beneficial effects. 
 
The Division anticipates no adverse effects, either direct or indirect, on businesses it regulates or on 
the public as the result of the adoption of this regulation.  The beneficial effects, either direct or 
indirect, on businesses it regulates by exempting water heaters under 200,000 BTU, will provide 
relief for industry from regulation by the state; will free up valuable MCS inspector resources; allow 
for the installation of modern and safer mechanical devices and, therefore, will assist a segment of 
the construction industry.  The adverse effects, if any, will be solely to licensed elevator and 
plumbing contractors and the beneficial effects will be to licensed elevator and plumbing contractors 
and the general public at large by increased public health safety of regulated elevators, escalators, 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
(b) Both immediate and long-term effects. 
 
The Division anticipates no immediate or long-term effects, either direct or indirect, on businesses 
it regulates or on the public as the result of the adoption of this regulation.  The immediate and 
long-term effects, if any, will be increased clarity for licensed elevator and plumbing contractors 
and the general public at large by increased public health safety of regulated elevators, escalators, 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
 
3. The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the adopted regulation. 
 
There is no additional cost to the agency for enforcement of these regulations. 
 
 
4. A description of any regulations of other state or government agencies, which the proposed 
regulation overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining why the duplication or 
overlapping is necessary.  If the regulation overlaps or duplicates a federal regulation, the 
name of the regulating federal agency. 
 
There are no other state or government agency regulations that the proposed regulations duplicate. 
 
 
5. If the regulation includes provisions that are more stringent than a federal regulation which 
regulates the same activity, a summary of such provisions. 
 
The proposed regulations do not include any provisions which duplicate or are more stringent than 
existing federal, state or local standards. 
 
 
6. If the regulation provides a new fee or increases an existing fee, the total annual amount 
the agency expects to collect and the manner in which the money will be used. 
 
The proposed regulations do not provide for a new fee or increase an existing fee.  
 

 


	NAC445C Emergency Regs Signed.pdf
	NAC455C signed
	MCS Emergency Regulation Packet




