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Duties and Responsibilities of Owners Relating to Elevators,
Escalators, and Related Equipment.

The Mechanical Compliance Section (MCS) often receives questions from the owners of elevator equipment
concerning safety, maintenance, and testing. The Mechanical Compliance Section is available to assist owners
in any way we can — if you have questions that are not listed here, please contact the MCS offices. Below are
several Frequently Asked Questions that may provide insight to owners.

Question: Who’s responsibility is it to ensure that my elevator equipment is safe and code compliant?
Answer: While a licensed elevator contractor must perform maintenance and repair work on elevator
equipment, it is ultimately the responsibility of the owner to ensure that such devices are working
appropriately and safely.

Question: How can | determine if a contractor is licensed to construct, alter, or perform maintenance on
my elevator equipment?
Answer: Elevator contractors must hold a C-7 license granted by the Nevada State Contractors Board.
Your contractor must be able to provide you a copy of this license. You can also contact the Nevada
State Contractor’s Board for a listing of all current C-7 licensees.

Question: When do I have to have my elevator equipment inspected? Who must perform the inspection?
Answer: Elevators, platform lifts, and wheelchair lifts must be inspected every year. Escalators and
moving walks must be inspected every six months. These inspections should be performed by an
Authorized Inspection Agency.

Question: How do I find an Authorized Inspection Agency?
Answer: The current list of Authorized Inspection Agencies in the State of Nevada can be found on the
MCS website at http://dir.nv.gov/MCS/Forms/Home/.

Question: I’ve heard about “MCPs” or “Maintenance Control Programs.” What are those?
Answer: Maintenance Control Programs (MCPs) are documents which describe all of the required
maintenance activities for a given elevator. These documents must be maintained in the same building
as the elevator, as they’re needed for maintenance, safety, and other purposes. A copy of the MCP must
also be filed with the MCS. If you change elevator contractors, make sure that you retain the MCP — it
belongs to the owner, not the elevator contractor, and you will need to provide a copy of it to whoever
you hire to maintain your elevator equipment.

Question: How do I report an accident on my elevator equipment?
Answer: Accidents should be called in to the MCS 24 Hour Response Line for the appropriate region:

Northern Nevada: (775) 200-8173
Southern Nevada: (702) 493-8764
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Accidents must be reported within 8 hours in case of bodily injury, or otherwise by noon the next
business day. You may also report accidents via email during normal working hours by reporting to
mcs.lv@dir.nv.gov.

Question: I’ve been issued a Notice of Violation. What do | do?
Answer: Contact your licensed elevator contract immediately. Notices of Violation are important
warnings that something isn’t safe about your elevator. Typically, you will have 30 days to have the
elevator repaired and re-inspected. If you go past the 30 days, you operating permit may be revoked,
you may not receive a new operating permit, and you may be fined. Take these notices seriously!

Question: There is something wrong with my elevator, and 1’m concerned someone may be injured.
Answer: Have your elevator shut down immediately! Then call the MCS for a safety inspection. We
will coordinate with you and your licensed elevator contractor to make sure that the elevator is safely
repaired.
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