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E m a i l 	 N o t i ϐ i c a t i o n
Stay connected to what’s  new in 
Nevada’s workers’ compensaƟon by 
registering to receive  email noƟficaƟons.    
hƩp://dir.nv.gov/wcs/home/ 

What	do	I	do	if	I	get	hurt	on	the	job?	
 

Tell your supervisor. Fill out the paperwork 

your 
employer provides (Form C‐1/NoƟce of 

Injury or 

OccupaƟonal Disease (Incident 
Report).  Get medical care if you need 
it and fill out that paperwork, as well 
as the following: (Form C‐4/
Employee's Claim for CompensaƟon/
Report of IniƟal Treatment). 

Will	I	be	allowed	to	go	to		
any	doctor,	chiropractor	or		
therapist	that	I	choose?	

 

No, you must go to an authorized medical  provider. 
Insurers may use a managed care  organizaƟon 
(MCO), preferred provider organizaƟon (PPO), health 
maintenance organizaƟon (HMO) or the insurance 
company’s internal managed care unit.  
 
 

In the event of a serious injury, go to your 
nearest emergency room and follow staff  
direcƟons. 

Can	Managed	Care	Organizations	
(MCO)	be	used	for	workers’	

compensation?	
Yes. You should ask your employer or insurer for the 
list of  authorized providers for the insurer they have 
chosen. You may also look at the workers’ 
compensaƟon poster at your 
employer’s office. Your 
employer can tell you how to 
contact the managed care 
organizaƟon in order to get the 
names of medical providers 
authorized to treat you. 

How	will	I	ϐind	out	who	my	
workers’	compensation	insurer	

is?	
Ask your employer or look at the workers’ 
compensaƟon poster at your employer's office.  
If your employer will not provide that 
informaƟon, call the Division of Industrial 
RelaƟons (DIR), Workers’ CompensaƟon SecƟon 
(WCS), Monday through  Friday, 8:00 am ‐ 5:00 
pm, in Las Vegas/Henderson at (702) 486‐9080 
or in Carson City at (775) 684‐7270. 

Workers’	compensation				
insurance	coverage	may	be	

provided	through:	
Self‐Insured Employers
Self‐Insured Employer AssociaƟons or Groups
Private Insurance Companies

Are	all	insurers	required	to	offer	
the	same	beneϐits	for	injured	
employees	as	my	insurance	
company?		
Yes. All employers in the state of Nevada are 
required to have workers’ compensaƟon 
insurance. Nevada law provides for benefit types 
and calculaƟons to be the same regardless of the 
type of workers’ compensaƟon coverage. 

What	happens	to	my	claims	and	
my	beneϐits	if	my	employer	

changes		insurance	companies?	
The date of injury determines which insurance 
company is responsible for your claim.   Benefits 
conƟnue, if appropriate. In other words, claims 
that were covered before the employer changes 
his coverage to a new or different insurer stay 
with the original insurer. New claims with a date 
of injury that takes place aŌer the employer has 
selected a new insurer will be handled by the 
new insurance company. 

https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/C4%20Employee's%20Claim%20for%20Compensation%20-%20DIR.NV.GOV%20Fillable%202023%20-%20Reviewed_ADA%20js%208.23.pdf
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/c-1.pdf
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/c-1.pdf


What	beneϐits	may	I	be	entitled	to?	
Beneϐits	may	include:	
Medical treatment; 
Lost Ɵme compensaƟon ‐ Temporary Total Disa‐
bility/Temporary ParƟal Disability (TTD/TPD); 
Permanent ParƟal Disability (PPD); 
Permanent Total Disability (PTD); 
VocaƟonal RehabilitaƟon; 
Dependent’s payments in the event of death;  
Other claims‐related benefits or expenses  (i.e., 
mileage reimbursement) 
 

What	Nevada	state	agencies	are	involved		
with	workers’	compensation	and	how		

do	they	affect	me	and	my	claim?	
	

DIR/WCS collects informaƟon regarding workers’ 
compensaƟon coverage and enforces the Nevada 
workers’ compensaƟon statutes and regulaƟons. 
The Division of Insurance licenses, authorizes 
and cerƟfies insurers, their agents and administra‐
tors. Carson City (775) 687‐0700, Las Vegas (702) 
486‐4009 | doi.nv.gov 
The AƩorney General’s Fraud Unit  invesƟgates 
and prosecutes workers’ compensaƟon fraud. 
Contact 1‐800‐266‐8688.http://ag.nv.gov/About/
Criminal_Justice/Workers_comp/  
The Hearings Division (Hearing Officer / Appeals 
Officer) adjudicates you or your employer’s ap‐
peal of the insurer’s determinaƟon or alleged vio‐
laƟons by the insurer/TPA. 
NAIW helps injured workers with their appeals 
by giving advice on workers’ compensaƟon bene‐
fits and procedures, or by being appointed to rep‐
resent the injured worker at  Appeals Officer hear‐
ings if the worker, employer, or insurer appeals a 
benefit issue to seƩle a grievance. 
Office of the Governor ‐ Consumer Health Assis‐
tance offers free assistance to injured workers. 
They can explain the workers’ compensaƟon pro‐
cess, what forms to use, the appeals process, and 
medical and lost wage benefits. Contact 1‐888‐
333‐1597 or visit their website at hƩp://
dhhs.nv.gov/Programs/CHA/ 

Who	can	I	ask	questions		
about	my	claim?	

Call your employer, insurer, or claims adjuster. 
Your employer can tell you how to contact the 
insurer or third‐party claims administrator he or 
she has chosen to handle workers’ 
compensaƟon coverage. You may also look at 
the workers’ compensaƟon poster in your 
employer’s office. (Form D‐1/InformaƟonal 
Poster)hƩp://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/
dirnvgov/content/WCS/D‐1.pdf 
 
 

What	should	I	do	if	I	think		
that	my	claim	is	not	being		

handled	properly?	
Begin by discussing the claim with your  
supervisor. If you sƟll have quesƟons, contact 
the claims adjuster for your insurer. If you 
conƟnue to feel your concerns are not being 
addressed, contact the DIR/WCS for assistance. 
In addiƟon, state law requires all insurers to 
provide appeal rights to the Department of 
AdministraƟon, Hearings Division, that was  
established to resolve disputes in claims.  If you 
disagree with a claim determinaƟon, you may 
appeal the decision to the Hearing Officer within 
70 days from the date of the insurer’s 
determinaƟon or to the Appeals Officer within 
30 days of an MCO’s determinaƟon. If you sƟll 
have quesƟons, you may contact the Nevada 
AƩorney for Injured Workers (NAIW) to help you 
understand the procedure. 
 

Where	can	I	ϐind	more	information	
about	workers’	compensation?	
Nevada has a comprehensive website:  

  hƩp://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/ 
Email: WCSHelp@dir.nv.gov 

Northern District: 775 684‐7270 
Southern District: 702 486‐9080 

Nevada	Attorney	for	Injured	Workers	
‐NAIW‐ 

For informaƟon regarding denial of benefits,  
you may contact the Nevada AƩorney for  

Injured Workers (NAIW) at: 
 
 

1000 E. William Street, Suite 208 
Carson City, Nevada 89701 

(775) 684‐7555 
Fax (775) 684‐7575 

 
 

2200 South Rancho Drive, Suite 230 
Las Vegas, Nevada 89102 

(702) 486‐2830 
Fax (702) 486‐2844 

 

Email Address:  naiw@naiw.nv.gov 
Website:  naiw.nv.gov 

 
What	does	NAIW	do	for	employees		

who	use	its	services?	
NAIW prepares and presents your case at hear‐
ings before the Appeals Officer. It may also rep‐
resent your maƩer if under judicial review by the 
District Court, Court of Appeals or Supreme 
Court. NAIW may also represent you by prepar‐
ing or presenƟng your case to the DIR/WCS if 
your insurer, employer, third‐party administra‐
tor, or Managed Care OrganizaƟon does not 
comply with the Appeals Officer or court order. 
 
Is	the	NAIW	a	part	of	any	employer		
or	other	insurance	company?	

No.  NAIW is not part of any insurance company 
or employer; it is a separate State agency within 
the Department of Business and Industry. NAIW 
has the autonomy required for its aƩorneys to 
appropriately represent injured workers with the 
same aƩorney‐client privilege as any retained 
aƩorney. However, by law NAIW does not 
charge a fee for the work performed by its aƩor‐
neys. 

  

https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/D-1.pdf
https://adsd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/adsdnvgov/content/Programs/CHA/OCHA%20Flyer%202023.pdf



