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A Publication of the Workers’ Compensation Section  

The 8th Annual Workers’ Compensation Educational Conference was 

held August 23 & 24, 2018, at the Tuscany Suites and Casino.  This 

year it had 286 attendees and 28 vendors.  The Conference included 

speakers and panels from a cross-section of industry professionals in-

cluding state regulators, attorneys, medical professionals and vocational 

rehabilitation specialists, addressing topics such as benefit penalties, 

adjuster licensing, vocational rehabilitation, employer misclassification, 

large deductible policies and much more.  Attendees and presenters en-

gaged in lively participation, dialogue and exchanged ideas on various 

aspects of workers’ compensation and industrial relations, the hallmark 

of a successful conference. 

 

The Workers’ Compensation Section hosts the annual conference in 

cooperation with the International Workers’ Compensation  Foundation 

(IWCF). IWCF is a non-profit corporation that specializes in research 

and education regarding workers’ compensation. They sponsor numer-

ous workers’ compensation conferences throughout the country each 

year. 
 

We look forward to next year’s conference to be held August 22 & 23, 2019 at 

the Tuscany Suites and Casino.  Hope to see you all there! 

. 
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The State's Maximum Average 

Monthly Wage memo for fiscal year 

2019, effective July 1, 2018, has been 

posted on the WCS web site. The FY 

2019 maximum monthly disability 

compensation is $3,904.36, an in-

crease from last year’s figure. 

 

The Maximum Compensation Guide-

lines memo is located on the 

“Important Changes” page which is 

accessed via the link under “What’s 

Hot” on the main page. It provides a 

chart with Maximum Compensation 

rates going back to FY 1975.   

 

http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/

dirnvgov/content/WCS/

ImportantDocs/Max%20Comp%

20FY19%20Memo%20and%

20Calc.pdf 

8th Annual Workers’  

Compensation Educational Conference  
FY 2019 Maximum 

Compensation  

Guidelines Posted 

Debbie Atkinson, WCS Northern District 

Manager, and Ruth Ryan, Research and 

Analysis Supervisor, at the Workers’ Com-

pensation Section booth During the 2018 

WCS Educational Conference.  
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Lenard T. Ormsby, Executive Vice Presi-

dent, Chief Legal Officer & General  

Counsel, EMPLOYERS  

Photo by Lupe Manzo of  
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Effective July 1, 2018, Nevada law requires individuals and business entities who adjust workers’ compen-

sation claims to be licensed with the Nevada Division of Insurance.   

 

Chapter 684A of Nevada Revised Statutes, as amended, provides that an individual who is employed by a 

third party administrator (TPA) and adjusts workers’ compensation claims must obtain a staff adjuster li-

cense. An individual who is an independent contractor, as defined, and is contracted by a TPA to adjust 

workers’ compensation claims must hold an independent adjuster license and have a workers’ compensation 

line of authority.     

 

A salaried employee of an insurance company may, but is not required to, obtain a company adjuster license, 

if the individual is adjusting workers’ compensation claims. 

 

Pursuant to law, a licensee may not concurrently hold more than one type of adjuster license.  In addition, a licensee may not be con-

currently licensed as an adjuster and an insurance producer. 

 

Prior to applying for a license, an individual will need to complete prelicensing education, pass an examination and submit finger-

prints for a criminal history background check.  Once these actions have been taken, an individual must submit an application to the 

Division of Insurance.   

 

Individuals currently acting as adjusters for workers’ compensation claims have until December 31, 2018, to become licensed under 

the proper license type.  Any unlicensed investigation, settlement or negotiation of a claim after that date is subject to criminal and 

civil penalties. 

 

While individuals have until December 31st to obtain a license, the Division of Insurance urges adjusters to start the process as soon 

as possible.  The steps to qualify for a license or to add a line of authority take time to complete, and the Division wants to ensure 

that all individuals are able to come into compliance with the law by the end of the year. 

 

The Insurance Division presented an overview of the new law during the Nevada Workers Compensation Education Conference held 

in Las Vegas on August 23rd and 24th, and appreciates the input from attendees. 

 

Information regarding the licensing requirements and the application steps is available on the Insurance Division’s website at: http://

doi.nv.gov.  Please continue to check the website for updated information regarding adjuster licensing. 
 

Stephanie McGee, Deputy Commissioner, Captives, Market Regulation and Producer Licensing ,Nevada Insurance Division 

Adjuster Licensing  
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Those familiar with WCS recognize that certain activities and notices fall into a regular annual pattern.  For example, the Medical 

Fee Schedule is updated every February 1st, the fall newsletter reiterates the maximum compensation rate for the new fiscal year that 

begins in July; and the WCS staff reviews evaluations from the summer’s annual education conference and begins planning next 

year’s. However, an ongoing WCS statutory function that is probably not well known involves certain PT claimants.  WCS is re-

quired to identify a group of permanently and totally disabled injured employees who are eligible for a benefit payment per NRS 

616C.453 and to ensure that these annual payments are disbursed by the State of Nevada on or by October 1 each year. 

  

In keeping with NRS 616C.453, this eligible pool of injured workers receives an annual payment disbursement from the Uninsured 

Employers’ Claim Account based on the accrued interest amount with the statute stipulating that total payments may not exceed 

$500,000 in any given year. 

  

While the regulatory process detailed in NAC 616C.526 for determining check disbursements has not changed since the law was 

enacted in 2005, the number of eligible claimants and check disbursement amounts have changed.  
 

What have been the total disbursement amounts since 2005? 

2005: $285,146.92  2010: $122,330.72  2015: $  43,350.12 

2006: $500,000.00  2011: $  37,638.31  2016: $  61,287.79 

2007: $496,131.50  2012: $  20,506.28  2017: $101,507.29  

2008: $495,431.46  2013: $  28,356.91  2018: $172,689.30 

2009: $307,993.95  2014: $  27,894.86 
 (Continued on page 5) 

 

http://doi.nv.gov
http://doi.nv.gov
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec453
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec453
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec453
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Insurers must notify WCS of any changes such as contact 

name, address, phone and fax numbers, as well as chang-

es in TPAs by submitting an Insurer Information Form 

via our CARDS web portal within 30 days of any chang-

es. TPAs must also notify WCS of any changes in contact 

information within 30 days by submitting the TPA Infor-

mation Form via the CARDS web portal. For infor-

mation on how to submit the Insurer Information Form, see the Quick Steps 

guide on our website at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/.  For 

information on CARDS, please visit the CARDS Web page at http://

dir.nv.gov/WCS/cards/. 

 

 The 2018 Permanent Total (PT) Disability Claim Reports (NRS  

        616C.453) Form and Instructions were distributed via email in         

        July and were due to WCS on AUGUST 8, 2018.  All insurers                         

        must submit a PT Claim Report even if they have no PT claims          

        to report. Insurers that have not yet submitted their PT Claim            

        Report should do so immediately. Forms and instructions can          

        be found on our website at             

        http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/.   

(OD-8) Occupational Disease Claim Report(s) (NRS 617.357) is an 

ongoing reporting requirement.  The OD-8 form was updated in July 

2018 to include the claimant’s first and last name and appeal number 

fields to assist the DIR in implementing and enforcing the require-

ments set forth in AB 267 (2017), amending NRS 617.455 and 

617.457. 

 

A D-35 Request for a Rotating Physician or Chiropractor must be sub-

mitted to WCS prior to any PPD impairment evaluation being sched-

uled with a rater. Before WCS can process a D-35, the claim must 

be reported to the Claims Index System.  If the claim has not been 

reported, submit the D-38 Injured Worker Index System Claims 

Registration Document via the CARDS web portal or by submit-

ting the fillable form found on our website.  

Proof of Coverage (POC):  Private carriers must also report infor-

mation to NCCI within 15 days of the effective date of the issuance, 

renewal, cancellation, nonrenewal, reinstatement or reissuance of a 

policy of workers’ compensation insurance.  Effective July 1, 2018, 

private carriers writing large deductible policies in Nevada are 

required to submit 3 additional data elements relating to the 

policy.  See NCCI Circular POC-NV-2018-01 on our website for 

more information. 
 

Information on reporting requirements and forms can be found on our web 

site at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ under “Insurer and TPA Reporting” or 

go directly to our page at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/. 

Contact the WCS Research and Analysis Unit by phone at (702) 486-9080 or 

by email at wcsra@business.nv.gov if we can be of any assistance. 

The Positives in the           

Neighborhood 

The Division of Industrial Relations 

(DIR) team will be collecting non-

perishable food items and personal prod-

ucts from late September through Novem-

ber to be delivered to Nevada’s veterans.  

This is the 3rd year that DIR has part-

nered with Veterans Village to assist 

southern Nevada Veterans. Veterans Vil-

lage has been caring for the needs of our 

homeless veterans for the last six years 

and has recently opened their third loca-

tion which will provide medical and reha-

bilitation services in addition to other on-

site services to help veterans needs. Fu-

ture plans include Veterans Village Wom-

en’s Housing. We look forward to our 

ongoing relationship with such an im-

portant organization.   

Ray Fierro, the Interim Administrator of 

the Division of Industrial Relations, 

adopted the Actuarial Annuity Table for 

fiscal year 2019, effective July 1, 2018.   

 

The table has been posted on the WCS 

web site and can be found under 

“What’s Hot!” on the WCS home page.  

 

http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/

dirnvgov/content/

WCS/2018_Signed_Notice_Ann_Table.

pdf 

 

Pursuant to NRS 616C.495 (5), the table 

must be reviewed annually by a consult-

ing actuary and adjusted by July 1 of 

each year. 

FY 2019 Actuarial  

Annuity Table Posted 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/cards/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/cards/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
mailto:wcsra@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/2018_Signed_Notice_Ann_Table.pdf
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/2018_Signed_Notice_Ann_Table.pdf
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/2018_Signed_Notice_Ann_Table.pdf
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/2018_Signed_Notice_Ann_Table.pdf
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CONTACT WCS 
 

Department of  
Business and Industry 

Division of Industrial Relations  
Workers’ Compensation Section 

 
 

 S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 486-8712 

 

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305 

 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ 

 

WCSHelp@business.nv.gov 

HOLIDAY OFFICE CLOSURES 

Labor Day  

Monday, September 3, 2018 

 

Nevada Day (Observed) 

Friday, October 26, 2018 

 

Veterans Day 

Monday, November 12, 2018 

 

Thanksgiving 

Thursday, November 22, 2018 

 

Family Day 

Friday, November 23, 2018 

DIR receives complaints about various violations of NRS Chapters 616A-D and 

617 from injured employees, attorneys, employers, health-care providers, third-

party administrators and insurers.  Most of the complaints are investigated by the 

Audit Unit and the Medical Unit because they do not allege any facts which may 

result in a benefit penalty.   NRS 616D.120(3) authorizes the imposition of a bene-

fit penalty if NRS 616D.120(1)(a) to (e), inclusive, (h) or (i) have been violated. 

 

A complaint for a benefit penalty should be filed with the DIR after the time in 

which the act should have occurred.  The matter also should not be on appeal.  The 

complaint should be filed within two (2) years of the violation date pursuant to 

NRS 11.190(4)(b). 

 

When submitting a complaint for a benefit penalty, identify the specific provision(s) of NRS 616D.120(1) alleged to have 

been violated AND attach copies of any and all documents which tend to support or prove, in whole or in part, the alleged 

violation.  

 

When DIR evaluates “payment of compensation” in NRS 616D.120, the definitions in NAC 616D.305(2) are used. 

If assessing a benefit penalty under: 

 

(a) NRS 616D.120(1)(c) for an unreasonable delay in payment, DIR uses NAC 616D.305 and NAC 616D.315; 

 

(b) NRS 616D.120(1)(h) for a pattern of untimely payments, DIR uses NAC 616D.413; 

 

(c) NRS 616D.120(1)(i) for an intentional violation, DIR uses NAC 616D.405 in its analysis. 

 

The amount of a benefit penalty is controlled by NRS 616D.120(3) and (4).  NRS 616D.120(4) allows a “mini benefit penal-
ty” of “$3,000 if the violation involves a late payment of compensation or other relief to a claimant in an amount which is less 

than $500 or which is not more than 14 days late.”  NRS 616D.120(3) allows a benefit penalty “in an amount that is not less 

than $5,000 and not greater than $50,000.”   

 

If the minimum amount of a benefit penalty is $5,000 per NRS 616D.120(3)(a), then NAC 616D.411 is used to calculate the 

total amount of the benefit penalty. 

 

Pursuant to NRS 616D.140(2), “A person who is aggrieved by (a) A written determination of the Administrator; or (b) The 

failure of the Administrator to respond within 90 days to a written request” may appeal to the appeals officer.  The request 

must be filed within 30 days of the Administrator’s determination or “within 100 days after the date on which the unanswered 

written request was mailed to the Administrator.”  “The failure of the Administrator to respond to a written request for a deter-

mination within 90 days after receipt of the request shall be deemed...to be a denial of the request.”  

Benefit Penalties 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Contacts/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov?subject=WCSHelp%20Newsletter
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov
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(Continued from page 2) 
 

What have been the number of claimants since 2005? 

2005:  1425  2010:  1254  2015:    975    

2006:  1423  2011:  1205  2016:    921 

2007:  1383   2012:  1151  2017:    880 

2008:  1330  2013:  1083  2018:     TBD 

2009:  1283  2014:  1026 

 

Range of check amounts since 2005?  $7.12 - $634.72 

What should claimants keep in mind as they wait for their checks? 

There are 3 factors that are used in the formula to calculate annual payment 

amounts: 

•  the number of eligible claimants each year: 

•  the monthly PT rate of the claimant: and  

•  the total dollar amount available to disburse among the eligible claimants 

 

We saw the total amount available to disburse decline significantly with the 

struggling economy from 2007 through 2014; however, the tide appears to 

have turned as 2018 is the fourth consecutive year that the amount has in-

creased.   

 

Eligible PT claimants should immediately notify their claims administrators 

and WCS of any address changes.  Maintaining current contact information 
will expedite the process and ensure that all payments arrive timely. 

   Promotions 

 

Congratulations Kimberly Williams who was recent-

ly promoted to Compliance / Audit Investigator 1. 

Kimberly Williams started with the State of Nevada 

Bureau of Disease Control and Intervention Services / 

Health Division in September 1997. She worked in the 

Tuberculosis Program, Immunizations Program, and 

Family Health Services. She came to the Workers’ 

Compensation Section May of 2008 where she became 

the D-35 Coordinator. Kimberly loves spending time 

with her senior fur baby, Lil Bear, a rescued American 

Bulldog and her four grandchildren. Her favorite place 

to hang out is Lake Tahoe, Nevada. 

Direct comments or suggestions 

about this newsletter to:   

Workers’ Compensation Section  

Las Vegas Office  

Ruth Ryan, Editor  

Krissi Garcia, Assistant Editor 

(702) 486-9105 

 

rryan@business.nv.gov 

Krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov 

S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  
3360 West Sahara Avenue, Suite 250  

Las Vegas, Nevada  89102 

krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov  

(702) 486-9105 
 

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
400 West King Street, Suite 400  

Carson City, Nevada  89703  

(775) 684-7265 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

WCS Basic Orientation  

TBD (Visit our website for updates) 

C-4 Processing & CVS 

10/17/2018 at 9:30 am  

Medical Billing 

10/17/2018  at 1:30 pm 

 

Annual PT Checks Coming Soon 

WCS MISSION STATEMENT 
 

 The purpose of the Workers’ Compensation Section is to impartially serve the interests of Nevada employers 

and employees by providing assistance, information, and a fair and consistent regulatory structure focused on: 

Ensuring the timely and accurate delivery of workers' compensation benefits. Ensuring employer compliance 

with the mandatory coverage provisions. 

file:///C:/Users/krissi.garcia/Documents/Scanned Documents
mailto:krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov
mailto:krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/

