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 The Seventh Annual Nevada Workers’ Compensation Educational 

Conference, was a great success.  The Tuscany Inn and Suites in Las Ve-

gas was filled with industry specialists who were enthusiastic to share and 

learn about all of the various aspects of workers’ compensation.  The or-

ganizers, State of Nevada Workers’ Compensation Section and the Inter-

national Workers’ Compensation Foundation are very satisfied with the 

conference which has become the leading annual State event for the work-

ers’ compensation community and are proud to announce that the confer-

ence will be held again next summer for its 8th time in a row. A huge 

thanks to all of those who contributed to make the conference a wonderful 

event; presenters, sponsors, exhibitors, staff and attendees. 

 This year the conference presenters included a diverse array of medi-

cal professionals, legal experts, industrial representatives, government of-

ficials, leaders and concerned citizens. There were presentations to engage 

everyone and proved to be of considerable interest to the more than 280 

conference attendees, many of who said they enjoyed the variety of topics 

and the enthusiasm of the speakers. 

 During the conference there was lively participation, conversations 

and exchanging of ideas on all aspects of workers’ compensation and in-

dustrial relations. There was a great feeling of community during the event 

and the session speakers left everyone inspired and informed. 

 

One of the big questions float-

ing around during this year’s 

Education Conference was, “What ever 

happened to the C2 form?”  If you’ve been 

in the workers compensation world in the 

State of the Nevada you know about the 

claim forms, which have been around for-

ever.  The C-1, C-3 and C-4 forms are all 

required forms in the claim file but what 

ever happened to the C-2?  There was a lot 

of buzz around the possibilities surround-

ing the rogue C-2 form during the confer-

ence.  Many of the answers even got some 

laughs.  If you think you know, let us 

know, as we look for the answer.  And 

make sure you check out our next edition 

when we reveal the rest of the story. 

Nevada Supreme Court Justice Lidia Stiglich during her outstanding presentation on 

the Standard Appellate Review Under the Nevada Administrative Procedure Act.  

 Photo by Lupe Manzo of WCS 

Angelia Yllas, WCS Southern District Manager, 

and Ruth Ryan, Research and Analysis Supervi-

sor, at the Workers’ Compensation Section booth 

During the 2017 WCS Educational Conference.  

Photo by Lupe Manzo of WCS 
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Basic Orientation 

10/25/17 at  9:30 am & 1:30 pm 
 

C-4 Processing & CSV 

10/18/2017 at 9:30 am  
 

Medical Billing 

10/18//2017 at 1:30 pm 
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 Starting January 1, 2018 the State of Nevada will require specific workers in the 

entertainment industry to complete an OSHA 10 hour (non-supervisory employee) or 

an OSHA 30 hour (supervisory employee) safety and health general industry course 

and receive a completion card within 15 days of hire. 

 

The specific workers are ones whose primary occupation on site falls into one of 

these categories: 
 

 Theatrical scenery, rigging or props 

  Wardrobe, hair or makeup 

  Audio, camera, projection, video or lighting equipment 

 Any other employees or trades which are related to or components of the items 

described in 1, 2 or 3 and which are used for on in conjunction with the presentation or 

production of: 
 

 Live entertainment 
 Filmmaking or photography, including without limitation, motion pictures 
 Television programs, including, without limitation, live broadcasts, closed-

circuit broadcasts or videotape recordings and playback 
 Sporting Events 
 Theatrical performances 

 

This requirement will not apply to volunteers or any other persons who are not paid to 

perform work on a site. 
 

“Site” is defined as a theater where live entertainment is performed, a sound stage, a 

showroom, a lounge, an arena or a remote site which has been designated as a location 

for the production of a motion picture or television program. 
 

“OSHA 10 or 30-hour course” is a course of general industry safety and health haz-

ard recognition and prevention developed by the Occupational Safety and Health Ad-

ministration of the United States Department of Labor. 
 

“Trainer” of the OSHA 10 or 30 hour course means a person who is currently author-

ized by OSHA as a trainer, including, without limitation, a person who has completed 

the OSHA 501, the trainer course in OSHA Standards for General Industry and has 

been issued an OSHA trainer card. 
 

The Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) provides free 10 and 30 hour 

General Industry and Construction classes free of charge.  For a schedule of classes or 

to sign-up for one of the classes go to www.4safenv.state.nv.us  or call 877.472.3368. 

HOLIDAY  
OFFICE CLOSURES 

 

Labor Day  
Monday 

September 4, 2017 
 

Nevada Day  
Friday 

October 27, 2017 
 

Veterans Day 
Friday 

November 10, 2017 
 

Thanksgiving Day  
Thursday 

 November 23, 2017 
 

Family Day  
Friday 

November 24, 2017 

SCATS employees   at their exhibit booth during the 2017 WCS Educational Conference. They pro-

vided lots of informational material and gifts to those who visited their booth. (Left to Right, Ardyce 

Brundage, Kym Heckman, Bob Harris, and Kelly Baetz) Photo By Lupe Manzo of WCS 

mailto:aljohnson@business.nv.gov?subject=WCS%20training%20session
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/
mailto:kawilliams@business.nv.gov?subject=WCS%20training%20session
http://www.4safenv.state.nv.us/
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WCS MISSION STATEMENT 
The purpose of the Workers’ Compensation Section is 

to impartially serve the interests of  

Nevada employers and employees by providing  
assistance, information, and a fair and  

consistent regulatory structure focused on: 
  

Ensuring the timely and accurate delivery of 

workers' compensation benefits. 
 

Ensuring employer compliance with  the  

mandatory coverage  provisions. 
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 The 2017 or 79th Session of the Leg-

islature has concluded and, as usual, there 

are changes to the Nevada workers’ com-

pensation landscape.  A summary of the 

most notable bills follows: 
AB 135, Section 17 amends the ref-

erence in NRS 616C.230 to NRS 
484C.110, which now requires testing for 
marijuana by blood only of marijuana 
(delta 9) at 2 nanograms per milliliter or 
marijuana metabolite (11 OH) at 5 nano-
grams per milliliter. Effective July 1, 
2017. 

AB 458, effective July 1, 2017, adds 

new provisions: 

Section 2 adds a new provision to 

Chapter 616C making, "Directly connect 

this injury or occupational disease as job 

incurred" (Form C-4 language) and "A 

reasonable medical probability that the 

condition in question was caused by the 

industrial injury" (United Expo. Serv. Co. 

v. SIIS, 109 Nev. 421, 831 P.2d 423 

(1993)) equivalent and interchangeable. 

Section 3 adds a new provision to 

Chapter 616C authorizing an injured em-

ployee to schedule their own IME, once a 

year, paid for by the insurer, when the 

claim is open, claim closure is in dispute 

or a hearing or appeal is pending. 

Section 4 adds a new provision to 

Chapter 616C requiring the selection of 

vocational rehabilitation counselors by 

agreement or if no agreement, the insurer 

providing a list of 3 from which the in-

jured employee makes a selection within 7 

days. 

Section 7.3 amends NRS 616C.235 

increasing the amount from $300 to $800 

in medical expenses in the first 12 months 

for claim closure without reopening. 

Section 7.7 amends NRS 616C.390 

by adding a new subsection 11 defining 

"retired", "wages" and "governmental 

program."  "Retired" is used in existing 

subsection 6 discussing reopening and 

disqualification from receiving voc rehab 

or TTD benefits. 

Section 8 amends NRS 616C.490 by 

adding a new subsection 10 which over-

turns the Supreme Court decision in 

PACT v. Blake, 127 Nev. 863, 265 P.3d 

694 (2011), and authorizes PPD appor-

tionment by simple subtraction of prior 

awards, rather than recalculating the prior 

disability under the AMA 5th Ed. of the 

Guides and then subtracting. 

Section 9 amends NRS 616C.495 in 

two ways: 

FIRST, it amends subsection 1

(d) by clarifying lump sum PPDs for inju-

ries incurred between 1/1/95 to 1/1/16 a 

25% or 30% maximum, at the option to 

the insurer, and creates a new subsection 

1(e) confirming the 1/1/16 to 7/1/17 30% 

LS PPD maximum; and in new subsec-

tion 1(f) for injuries incurred on or after 

7/1/17 of 30% LS PPD maximum.  

SECOND, it amends subsection 

5 to require that the present value table 

for LS PPDs (set forth in NAC 616C.502) 

be adjusted on July 1 of each year using: 

(5)(a) "The most recent unisex 'Static 

Mortality Tables for Defined Benefit Pen-

sion Plans' published by the Internal Rev-

enue System"; and (5)(b) "The average  

30-Year Treasury Constant Maturity Rate 

for March of the current year as reported 

by the Board of Governors of the Federal 

Reserve System." 

AB 267 amends provisions in 

Chapters 616C and 617 for police offic-

ers’ and fire fighters’ heart and lung 

claims incurred on or after October 1, 

2017. 

Section 1 amends NRS 616C.400 by 

adding a new subsection 1(c) excluding 

NRS 617.453, 617.455 or 617.457 from 

the 5 days of disability before qualifying 

for TTD. 

Section 2 amends NRS 617.420(2) 

clarifying that medical benefits must be 

paid for claims under NRS 617.453, 

617.455 or 617.457. 

Section 3 amends NRS 617.454 by 

adding a new subsection 3 limiting the 

release of an employee's physical exami-

nation results. 

Section 4 amends 617.455 by adding a 

new subsection 10 requiring the DIR Ad-

ministrator to review police officers' and 

fire fighters' lung claims which have been 

in the appeals process for longer than 6 

months.  Adds a new subsection 11 which 

authorizes the DIR Administrator to award 

a benefit penalty of up to $200 per day for 

a denied claim which is ultimately re-

versed. 

Section 5 amends NRS 617.457 by 

adding a new subsection 15 requiring the 

DIR Administrator to review police offic-

ers’ and fire fighters’ heart claims which 

have been in the appeals process for longer 

than 6 months.  Adds a new subsection 16 

which authorizes the DIR Administrator to 

award a benefit penalty of up to $200 per 

day for a denied claim which is ultimately 

reversed. 

AB 12 r equires TPA employees who 

adjust WC claims to be licensed (Sec. 0.5); 

sets forth requirements for adjusters’ be-

havior (Sec. 8); creates two (2) new types 

of adjusters- a "company adjuster" (an 

employee of an insurer) and a "staff ad-

juster" (an employee of a TPA) (Sec. 14); 

and a salaried employee of an insurer is 

not required to obtain a company license 

(Sec. 15(4)).  Effective July 1, 2018 (Sec. 

26).   

Remember this is a cursory overview 

of the legislation passed this Session and is 

not intended to include every statutory 

change affecting every WCS stakeholder.  

Full and complete copies of bills can be 

obtained at the Nevada Legislature web-

site, under Session Info, 79th (2017) Ses-

sion.  Please consult your attorney if you 

have any questions about these or any oth-

er bills. 

mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec230
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-484C.html#NRS484CSec110
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-484C.html#NRS484CSec110
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec235
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec390
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec490C:/Users/aljohnson/Documents/Access Help
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec495
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616C.html#NAC616CSec502
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec453
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec455
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec457
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec420
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec453
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec455
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec457
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec454
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec455
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617Sec457


 

 

Insurers and TPAs 

must notify WCS of 

any changes such as 

name, address, phone 

and fax numbers, as 

well as changes in 

TPAs.  Submit the In-

surer Information Form via our new 

CARDS Web portal to report these 

changes. For information on CARDS, 

please visit the CARDS Web page at 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/cards/. 

 

The 2017 Permanent Total (PT) Disabil-

ity Claim Reports (NRS 616C.453) 
Form and Instructions were distributed 

via e-mail in July and were due to WCS 

on AUGUST 4, 2017.   
 

(OD-8) Occupational Disease Claim 

Report(s) (NRS 617.357) is an ongoing 

reporting requirement.  NRS 617.357 

was amended in the 2013 Legislative 

Session, approved by the Governor, and 

became effective May 24, 2013. WCS 

revised the form for use effective Janu-

ary 1, 2014.  
 

Proof of Coverage (POC):  Private car-

riers must also report information to 

NCCI within 15 days of the effective 

date of the issuance, renewal, cancella-

tion, nonrenewal, reinstatement or reis-

suance of a policy of workers’ compen-

sation insurance.   
 

Information on reporting requirements 

and forms can be found on our Web site 

at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ under 

“Insurer and TPA Reporting” or go di-

rectly to our page at http://dir.nv.gov/

WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/. Contact 

the WCS Research and Analysis Unit by 

phone at (702) 486-9080 or by email at 

wcsra@business.nv.gov if we can be of 

any assistance. 

CONTACT WCS 
 

Department of  
Business and Industry  

Division of Industrial Relations  
Workers’ Compensation Section  

 
 

 S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364 

 

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305 

 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ 

 

WCSHelp@business.nv.gov 
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Stephanie Canter Project Manager  of the Workers’ Compensation Section’s new Claims and Regulatory 

Data System (CARDS) that  launched in April 2017.  Inspired attendees were left wanting more and  openly 

expressed enthusiasm about the future of CARDS and it’s benefits for insurers and third-party administra-

tors. Stay tuned for future enhancements and functionality updates. Photo by Lupe Manzo 

Readers of the Chronicle and those signed up to receive WCS e-mail announcements recog-

nize that certain WCS activities and notices fall into a regular annual pattern.  For example, 

the fall newsletter reiterates the maximum compensation rate for the new fiscal year that 

begins in July; the WCS staff reviews evaluations from the summer’s annual education 

conference and begins planning next year’s; and the WCS Claims Activity Report data call 

goes out every fall.  However, an ongoing WCS statutory function that is probably not well 

known involves certain PT claimants.  WCS is required to identify a group of permanently 

and totally disabled injured employees who are eligible for a benefit payment per NRS 

616C.453 and to ensure that these annual payments are disbursed by October 1. 
 

 In keeping with NRS 616C.453, this eligible pool of injured workers receives an an-

nual payment disbursement from the Uninsured Employers’ Claim Account based on the 

accrued interest amount subject to the statutory requirement that total payments may not 

exceed $500,000 in any given year. 
 

 Research and Analysis Unit Supervisor Ruth Ryan notes that while the regulatory 

process detailed in NAC 616C.526 for determining check disbursements has not changed 

since the law was enacted in 2005, the number of eligible claimants and check disburse-

ment amounts have changed.  

What have been the total disbursement amounts since 2005? 

2005: $285,146.92  2009: $307,993.95  2013: $  28,356.91 

2006: $500,000.00  2010: $122,330.72  2014: $  27,894.86 

2007: $496,131.50  2011: $  37,638.31  2015: $  43,350.12 

2008: $495,431.46  2012: $  20,506.28  2016: $  61,287.79 
 

What have been the number of claimants since 2005? 

2005:  1425  2009:  1283  2013:  1083  

2006:  1423  2010:  1254  2014:  1026 

2007:  1383   2011:  1205  2015:    975 

2008:  1330  2012:  1151  2016:    921 
 

Range of check amounts since 2005?  $7.12 - $634.72 

What should claimants keep in mind as they wait for their checks? 

There are 3 factors that are used in the formula to calculate annual payment amounts: 

 the number of eligible claimants each year 

 the monthly PT rate of the claimant, and  

 the total dollar amount available to disburse among the eligible claimants 
 

We saw the total amount available to disburse decline significantly with the struggling 

economy from 2007 through 2014; however, the tide appears to have turned as 2017 is on 

track to be the third consecutive year that the amount has increased.   
 

Eligible PT claimants should immediately notify their claims administrators and WCS of 

any address changes.  Maintaining current contact information will expedite the process 

and ensure that all payments arrive timely. 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/cards/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
mailto:wcsra@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Contacts/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov?subject=WCSHelp%20Newsletter
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec453
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec453
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec453

