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This pamphlet is provided to inform stakeholders of 

some significant points concerning workers’ 

compensation insurance in Nevada.  

E m a i l  N o t i f i c a t i o n   
Stay connected to what’s  new in 
Nevada’s workers’ compensation by 
registering to receive  email notifications.    
http://dir.nv.gov/wcs/home/ 

What is workers’ compensation? 
 

Workers’ compensation is a no-fault insurance 

program in the State of Nevada, which provides 

benefits to employees who are injured on the 

job and protection to employers who have 

provided coverage at the time of injury.             
         
 

What protection is provided  

for the employer? 
 

Because Nevada has “exclusive remedy,” the 

injured workers’ benefits are set forth in the 

statutes. Employers who provide coverage for  

their employees at the time of injury are 

protected from any additional damages claimed 

by their employees as a result of an injury on the 

job. This protection is established when the 

injured employee opts to receive workers’ 

compensation benefits.  
 

What type of benefits are  

employees entitled to? 
 

Nevada’s Workers’ Compensation Program 

provides a variety of benefits which are designed 

to assist the injured employee. These benefits 

may include (among others): 
 

• Medical treatment; 

• Lost time compensation (TTD/TPD); 

• Permanent Partial Disability (PPD); 

• Permanent Total Disability (PTD); 

• Vocational Rehabilitation;  

• Dependent’s benefits in the event of 

death; and 

• Other claims-related benefits or  

expenses (i.e., mileage) 

How do the Subsequent Injury Accounts 

benefit employers? 
 

The Subsequent Injury Accounts encourage 
employers to hire workers with a permanent 
physical impairment. The costs of any qualified 
subsequent injury are paid from the appropriate 
subsequent injury account. (NRS 616B.557 – 590) 
Contact Blanca Villarreal-Rodriguez at (702) 486-
9181 or brodriguez@dir.nv.gov for more 
information.  
 

Which employers are required to provide 

workers’ compensation insurance? 
 

Unless excluded by statute, it is mandatory for an 
employer who has one or more employees to 
provide workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage. Some employees are excluded by NRS 
616A.110 due to unique criteria.  
 

Employment exempt from workers’  compensation 
insurance coverage requirements includes: 
 

•Employment related to those interstate 
commerce entities that are not subject to the 
legislative power of the state of Nevada. 

•Employment covered by private disability and 
death benefit plans which comprehend 
compensation payments of equal or greater 
amounts than those provided in NRS 616 and 
which have been in effect for one year prior to July 
1, 1947; 

•Employees who are brought into Nevada on a 
temporary basis and who are insured in another 
state if extraterritorial coverage provisions are in 
effect with the other state.  
 

   Exception: the construction trades. 

•Casual employment (employment lasting not 
more than 20 days and having a total  labor cost of 
less than $500) is exempt if employment is not in 
the course of trade, business, profession or 
occupation of the employer. 

 

CONSTRUCTION TRADES ARE REQUIRED TO 
HAVE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE. 

http://dir.nv.gov/wcs/home/
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec557
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec110
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec110


What will happen to an employer who 

fails to obtain or maintain workers’  

compensation insurance? 
 

The Division of Industrial Relations, Workers’ 

Compensation Section (WCS) is responsible for 

ensuring all employers are in compliance with 

the law. Employers who do not provide work-

ers’ compensation will be charged with an ad-

ministrative fine up to $15,000;  appropriate 

premium penalties; may be ordered to close 

business until insurance has been obtained; and 

will be held financially responsible for all costs 

arising from a work-related injury. In addition, 

the uninsured employer may be subject to a 

criminal penalty for claims resulting in substan-

tial bodily harm or death. (NRS 616D.200 & NAC 

616D.345) 
 

 

Who can provide workers’ compensa-

tion coverage in Nevada? 
 

Employers may purchase insurance from a pri-

vate carrier licensed in Nevada or be  certified 

by the Division of Insurance (DOI) as a self-

insured employer or a member of an associa-

tion of self-insured public or private employers.   
 

Private carriers currently utilize competitive 

premium rates which allows them to deviate on 

the expense portion of the premiums. This rate 

must be filed with the DOI 15 days before if is 

effective and can be disapproved. Contact DOI 

for further information at the following: 
 

Carson City  (775) 687-7000 
Las Vegas  (702) 486-4009 

http://doi.nv.gov/ 

Where can I obtain additional infor-

mation on workers’ compensation? 
 

Website: http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ 
 

Email:  WCSHelp@dir.nv.gov  
 

For information concerning claims administration 

or  failure to obtain or maintain workers’ com-

pensation insurance: 
 

Department of Business and Industry 
Division of Industrial Relations Workers’ 

Compensation Section   

 

1886 College Pkwy. Ste. 100, 

Carson City, NV 89706. 

(775) 684-7270 
 

2300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 300 

Las Vegas, Nevada 89102 

(702) 486-9080 
 

 

 

For information regarding occupational safety 

and health program development and implemen-

tation: 
 

SAFETY CONSULTATION &  

TRAINING SECTION 
 

Website:  www.4safenv.state.nv.us 

Toll Free: 877-4SAFENV 

OSHA 10 & 30 Hr Construction Class must reg-

ister on-line. 

 
The material contained in this publication is derived from 

chapters 616A to 617, inclusive, of the Nevada Revised Stat-

utes (NRS) & Nevada Administrative Code (NAC), and is pro-

vided for informational purposes only. For more detailed 

information, please refer to the specific statute or code. The 

NRS and NAC relating to Workers’ Compensation can be ac-

cessed via the Internet at: 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Nevada_Law/ 

Workers’ Compensation  

Employer Compliance Checklist 
 

Provide requisite workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage and furnish a place of employment free from 
recognized hazards that may cause death or serious 
physical harm to employees. 

 
Prominently display in your place of business the re-
quired workers’ compensation information: 

 
(1) Informational poster to be displayed by employers. 

(NAC 616A.460, Form D-1) 
 
(2) Poster to be displayed by employers with employees 

who receive tips. (NAC 616A.470, Form D-22) 
 
Have available at all times and at all locations for in-
spection by agent of the Division of Industrial Relations 
or Attorney General: 

 
•The policy including the declaration page issued by pri-
vate carrier; or 

•Certificate issued by the Commissioner if self-insured; 
or,  

•Certificate issued by the Commissioner and a certificate 
or letter issued by an association of self-insured public 
or private employers if a member of an association. 

Note: Temporary worksites (less than 1 year) must pro-
duce the above information within 24 hours. (NRS 
616A.495) 

 
Provide forms for employee use and complete injury 
or occupational disease reporting  requirements and 
forward the required documents in the allowable 
timeframe: (1) C-1, Notice of Injury or Occupational Dis-
ease (Incident Report) and (2) C-3, Employers’ Report of 
Industrial Injury or Occupational Disease  (NRS 616C.015 
& 616C.045) 

 
Provide immediate first aid to an injured employee  
(NRS 616C.085) 

 
Complete the Employer’s Report of Industrial Injury or 
Occupational Disease Form (Form C-3) within 6 working 
days of receipt of the Form C-4 from the medical provid-
er and file it with insurer. (NRS 616C.045 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616D.html#NRS616DSec200
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616D.html#NAC616DSec345
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616D.html#NAC616DSec345
http://doi.nv.gov/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
mailto:WCSHelp@dir.nv.gov?subject=Employer%20Brochure
http://www.4safenv.state.nv.us/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Nevada_Law/
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616A.html#NAC616ASec460
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/D-1(07.25).pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-616A.html#NAC616ASec470
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/d-22.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec495
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec495
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/c-1.pdf
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/c-1.pdf
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/C-3.EmployersReportIndustrialInjuryOccupationalDisease.2.19.25.pdf
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/C-3.EmployersReportIndustrialInjuryOccupationalDisease.2.19.25.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec015
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec045
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec085
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/C-3.EmployersReportIndustrialInjuryOccupationalDisease.2.19.25.pdf
https://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/C-4.Employee.Claim.Compensation.2.25(2).pdf

