# State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Division of Industrial Relations Workers' Compensation Section

## PROOF OF COVERAGE (POC) REPORTING OVERVIEW

## Purpose:

Proof of Coverage Reporting by insurers is necessary to enable the DIR (WCS) to enforce the mandatory coverage provisions of NRS 616 which requires Nevada employers to secure and maintain workers' compensation coverage for their employees. It also enables DIR (WCS) to route C-4s to the proper insurer when necessary.

#### Who Must Report:

Private carriers writing Nevada workers' compensation policies must report Proof of Coverage data.

#### **Data Collection:**

The State of Nevada Division of Industrial Relations has designated the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) as the Proof of Coverage data collection vendor. This means that carriers must submit policy data to NCCI for it to be deemed received by the DIR (WCS).

#### Reporting Requirements:

Per statute and regulations (NRS 616B.461 and NAC 616B.100-148)

- 1. New Policies (and binders)
- 2. Policy Renewals
- 3. Policy Reinstatements
- 4. Policy Reissuances
- 5. Policy Cancellations
- 6. Policy Nonrenewals
- 7. Endorsements/Policy Changes

Private Carriers must report all required transactions reported within 15 days of effective date (exception: Residual Market Servicing Carrier contracts allow for 30 days to report policy data).

### Methods of Reporting:

- 1. Electronic (WCPOLS format)
- 2. Policy Data Collection (NCCI online reporting/correction tool)

#### Types of Violations:

- 1. Late Reporting
- 2. Failure to Report
- 3. Incorrect Reporting

### Administrative Action for Reporting Violations:

- 1. Per NAC 616D.415(1)(c), a fine and/or order for plan of corrective action
- 2. Fines may not exceed \$375 for initial violation or \$1,500 for second or subsequent violations

## State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Division of Industrial Relations Workers' Compensation Section

## PROOF OF COVERAGE (POC) REPORTING OVERVIEW

### Who to Contact:

For information on how to report POC data:

National Council on Compensation Insurance 901 Peninsula Corporate Circle Boca Raton, FL 33487 1-800-NCCI-123 (1-800-622-4123)

www.ncci.com

For information on reporting requirements:

State of Nevada
Department of Business and Industry
Division of Industrial Relations/Workers' Compensation Section
3360 W. Sahara Avenue, Suite 250
Las Vegas, NV 89102
(702) 486-9080
Attn: Research and Analysis Unit

wcsra@dir.nv.gov