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State of Nevada
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In this training, participants will learn about:

➢ Mission Statement of the Workers’ Compensation Section 
➢ What is Workers’ Compensation?
➢ Workers’ Compensation forms 
➢ Employer responsibilities
➢ Different units of the Workers’ Compensation Section 
➢ Worker Misclassification, Myths and Realities etc.
➢ More employer resources



MISSION STATEMENT
Workers’ Compensation Section

Impartially serve the interests of Nevada 

employers and employees by providing assistance, 

information, and a fair and consistent regulatory 

structure focused on:

➢ Ensuring the timely and accurate delivery 

of workers’ compensation benefits 

➢ Ensuring employer compliance with the 

mandatory coverage provisions
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• No-Fault insurance program
• Provide benefits to injured workers
• Protection for Employers 
• Government-mandated program 

for employers who has one or 
more employees

What is Workers’ Compensation? 

• “Exclusive Remedy” 
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• WC benefits are effective 
immediately

• Mandatory Workers’ 
Compensation Insurance 
Coverage with Approved 
Carrier, be Self-Insured or join 
Self-Insured groups.

• Admin fine for uninsured 
employers

• Pay penalties and/or closed

What is Workers’ Compensation? 
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Healthcare 
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The World of Workers’ Compensation

Injured

WCS

The injured worker shall not pay any amount related to his injury.

The healthcare provider may not charge the injured worker.



WORKERS’
COMPENSATION 

FORMS



D-1 Form

Brief Description of Employee’s
Rights and Benefits



Brief Description of Your Rights
(Form D-1) Pursuant to NRS 616A.490 & NAC 616A.460 

• In a common area

• Provided by Insurer/TPA 

• Must be posted in proper size (11” X 17”) 

• Most Current poster (2/2024) 

• The bottom section must be filled out completely 



D-22 Form

Election by Employee to
Report Tips



Notice to Employees re: Tips
(Form D-22) Pursuant to NAC 616A.470
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Notice to Employees 

Tip Information



C-1 Form

Notice of Injury or
Occupational Disease



➢ Used to report a work injury

➢ Furnished to employee by 

employer 

➢ Completed within 7 days of 

accident by injured employee 

and signed by both employee 

and employer 

NRS 616C.015

Notice of Injury 
or Occupational 
Disease (C-1 Form)



NRS 616C.015

Notice of Injury 
or Occupational 
Disease (C-1 Form)

➢ Insurer/TPA should supply 

forms to employer

➢ Employer to maintain 

sufficient supply of blank 

forms 

➢ Completed forms retained by 

employer for 3 years

➢ Use latest version 2/2020



C-4 Form

Employee’s Claim for
Compensation Form



➢ Documents the initial medical 

treatment of the injured worker

➢ Upper portion to be completed 

by employee and lower portion 

by the medical provider 

NRS 616C.040

Employee’s Claim for 
Compensation/ Report of 
Initial Treatment (C-4 Form)

➢ Don’t forget to get the injured 

worker’s signature!

➢ Injured worker has 90 days to 

seek medical treatment



➢ Medical provider has 3 working 

days to complete, and mail to 

the CORRECT Insurer/Third 

Party Administrator (TPA) and to 

the employer
➢ Medical provider to maintain 

sufficient supply 

NRS 616C.040

Employee’s Claim for 
Compensation/ Report of 
Initial Treatment (C-4 Form)



NRS 616C.040 (7)

➢ The Administrator may impose an 

administrative fine of not more than 

$1,000 for each violation of subsection 1 

on a treating physician, chiropractic 

physician, physician assistant or 

advanced practice registered nurse for 

not sending the C-4 Form in a timely 

manner

➢ Use latest version (8/2023)

Employee’s Claim for 
Compensation/ Report of 
Initial Treatment (Form C-4)



C-3 Form

Occupational Disease
Employer’s Report of

Industrial Injury or



➢ Completed by employer upon 

receipt of a C-4 Form

➢ Completed and signed by 

employer or designee in its entirety 

➢ Employer has 6 working days to 

complete Form C-3 and mail to 

Insurer/TPA 

➢ Max fine of $1,000 per occurrence.

➢ Use latest version (2/2020)  

NRS 616C.045

Employer’s Report of 
Industrial Injury or 
Occupational Disease 
(C-3 Form)



D-8 Form

Verification Form
Employer’s Wage



➢ Completed by employer to calculate 

the injured worker’s benefit

➢ Must be completed if injured worker is 

off work for 5 days or more per the C-

4 Form

➢ Furnished by employer to the 

Insurer/Third Party Administrator 

(TPA) within 6 working days of receipt 

of the C-4 form.

NRS 616C.420

Employer’s Wage 
Verification Form
(D-8 Form)



Employer Responsibilities
▪ Policies/Procedures in reporting  a work injury, 

        including the forms required in the State of 

        Nevada

▪ Complete name of the Employer or DBA and     

        complete office address and telephone number

▪ Name of WC Insurer and contact information,

        TPA if they have one. 

▪ Where to go for medical treatment

▪ Managed Care Organization (MCO) if available

▪ Provide Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease 

        (C-1 Form) 

▪ Accommodation process (If light duty is available)

Provide information 
to ALL employees:



More Employer Responsibilities
▪ Contract with a registered Nevada Workers Comp 

         insurance company. Know your TPA if there is one.

▪ Provide a safe work environment

▪ Fill out Employers Report of Industrial Injury or 

        Occupational Disease (C-3 Form) within 6 days 

        after the receipt of a C-4 Form and submit to 

         insurer/TPA

▪ Report orally to NV OSHA any accidents resulting 

        in fatality or fatalities within 8 hours of incident

▪ Report orally within 24 hours to NVOSHA any

         accidents resulting in inpatient hospitalization,    

         amputation of a body part or loss of an eye

▪ To report an incident to NVOSHA, call (702) 486-

         9020 (Southern Nevada) or (775) 688-3700 

         (Northern Nevada)



More Employer Information
Insurers have 30 days after accident 
notification (or 30 working days after 
claim receipt for occupational disease):

• Accept the claim & notify claimant or 
claimant’s rep of acceptance

• Begin payment on the claim
• Or deny the claim and notify claimant or 

claimant’s rep and DIR of denial
• Insurer’s notification must be 

documented with a certificate of mailing.



More Employer Information
What type of Workers’ Compensation benefits 
are employees entitled to? These benefits may 
include (among others):

• Medical treatment
• Lost time compensation (Temporary Total 
Disability/Temporary Partial Disability)
• Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
• Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
• Vocational Rehabilitation
• Dependent’s benefits in the event of death
• Other claims-related benefits or expenses (e.g., 
mileage)



More Employer Information
Must an injured worker accept the offer of a 
light duty job?

An injured worker who rejects a light duty offer 
made in accordance with NRS 616C.475 and NAC
616C.583 risks the discontinuation of temporary 
total disability compensation.

Are undocumented alien workers covered under 
Nevada’s workers’ comp statutes? 

Yes. According to NRS 616A.105, “employee and 
worker are used interchangeably … and
mean every person in the service of an employer … 
whether lawfully or unlawfully employed” including
“aliens.” However, undocumented alien workers are 
not eligible for vocational rehabilitation.



Workers’ Compensation Section

Education, 

Research and 

Analysis Unit
Audit Unit

Enforcement Unit 

(Employer 

Compliance)

Medical 
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State of Nevada

Nevada Department of Business and Industry

The State of Nevada Workers’ Compensation

Regulatory and Enforcement Team 

Insurance 

Compliance 

Unit

OSHA

Division of Industrial Relations (DIR)

LEGALMINEMECHSCATS



Medical Unit
Workers’ Compensation Section

The MU assists in:
➢ Insurance coverage verification
➢ D-35 processing
➢ Maintenance of the Treating and 

Rating panels of WC physicians
➢ Medical bill appeal
➢ Investigate C-4 Violations
➢ HCP, insurer, TPA, employers 

and injured employee 
complaints



Enforcement Unit
The Enforcement Unit (also known as ECU - 
Employer Compliance Unit): 

➢ Responsible for  ensuring that employers comply 
with the mandatory coverage provisions.

➢ Conduct employer site visits and the employer 
must provide evidence of coverage in compliance 
with NRS 616A.495.  

➢ If an employer fails to provide or maintain 
coverage for workers’ compensation, then an 
order to cease business operations will be issued 
in accordance with NRS 616D.110. 

➢ Uninsured Employer Investigations

Workers’ Compensation Section



Audit Unit
Workers’ Compensation Section

The Audit Unit conducts:
 
➢ Audit of each Workers’ Comp insurer at least every 

five years
➢ Investigation of complaints filed by injured 

workers against employers, healthcare providers, 
insurers and third-party administrators (TPA)

➢ Address injured workers’ questions and concerns 
via email, phone calls and walk ins

➢ Reviews and make recommendations on all TPA 
applications



Education, Research and Analysis Unit
Workers’ Compensation Section

The E,R&A Unit is responsible for:

➢ Educational Outreach (Website, Emails, 
Educational Conference)

➢ Claims Indexing (D-38)
➢ Debt Collection (Fines and Penalties)
➢ Data Collection and  Compilation (Annual 

Claims  Activity Report, OD-8s)
➢ CARDS Management and Support 
➢ Special Projects (DIR’s regulations and 

research)



Insurer Compliance Unit
Workers’ Compensation Section

Insurer Compliance Unit conducts:
 
➢ Investigations of complaints that could result in a 

Benefit Penalty
➢ Investigation of compliance with HO/AO decisions
➢ Uninsured Claims Administration
➢ Subsequent Injury Account – Reimbursement 

requests
➢ Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) 

Reimbursements



Uninsured Employer Consequences
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Employers who fail to secure and maintain a 
workers’ compensation policy for their 
employees will be charged with an administrative 
fine up to $15,000. 
Employers will pay a premium penalty for the 
time the employer was uninsured. 
Employers will be held financially responsible for 
all costs relating to an uninsured claim. 
Possible criminal prosecution from the Attorney 
General’s Office.



WORKER MISCLASSIFICATION

➢ Employer Misclassification of workers is a 

growing problem. 

➢ Worker Misclassification occurs when 

employers misclassify their employees as 

“independent contractors” in order to eliminate 

the employer/employee relationship. 

➢ A 1099 or contract does not always eliminate 

the employer/employee relationship 

➢ Employers must examine their employment 

relationships before deeming their employees 

as “independent contractors” 



WORKER MISCLASSIFICATION

NRS 616B.603 pertains to Independent Enterprises and should be 

considered to determine if you could be deemed an employer under this 

provision. 

In order to not be deemed the employer under the “independent enterprise 

exemption,” 

     1) You must not be “in the same trade, business, profession or 

occupation” as the person or business with whom you contract, and 

     2) The person or business with whom you contract must be an 

independent enterprise. Otherwise, workers’ compensation coverage is 

required. 

Incorrectly deeming employees as independent contractors can lead to 

serious consequences. 



WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
Myths and Realities

Myth: Family and/or part-time 
employees do not require coverage 
Reality: WC coverage is required 



WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
Myths and Realities

Myth: The subcontractors that I hire should 
have their own coverage, so I won’t worry about 
workers’ compensation insurance. 
Reality: If you are a licensed contractor, you 
should know that you may be determined to be 
the employer of independent contractors, 
subcontractors and their employees for 
purposes of providing workers compensation 
insurance coverage. 



Find more maps at slidescarnival.com/extra-free-resources-icons-and-maps

WCS Website

https://www.slidescarnival.com/extra-free-resources-icons-and-maps/?utm_source=template
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CONTACTING WCS

Email: WCSHelp@dir.nv.gov

3360 West Sahara Avenue 

Suite 250 

Las Vegas, Nevada 89102 

Phone (702) 486-9080 

Fax (702) 486-8712

1886 College Parkway, 

Suite 100

Carson City, NV 89706 

Phone (775) 684-7270 

Fax (775) 687-3073



Thank you for visiting 
our website. Please 
check out our website 
for upcoming Workers’ 
Comp-related training 
video.
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