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WCS Mission Statemen

and a fair and consistent regulatory structure focused
on:

®Ensuring the timely and accurate delivery of
workers’ compensation benefits

®Ensuring employer compliance with the
mandatory coverage provisions




Nevada Statutes & Regule

Nevada Revised Statutes Nevada Administrative Code

(NRS) (NAC)

Chapter 616 A-D Chapter 616 A-D
Nevada Industrial Insurance Act Nevada Industrial Insurance Act
& &
Chapter 617 Chapter 617
Nevada Occupational Diseases Act Nevada Occupational Diseases Act

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Nevada_Law/


Presenter
Presentation Notes
The Nevada Statutes and Regulations that govern the laws regarding workers’ comp are the Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Code Chapters 616 and 617. 616 the Industrial Insurance Act, covers injuries, and 617  the Occupational Diseases Act, covers occupational diseases. The statutes the NRS are the laws made up by the legislature. The codes, the NAC are the regulations that support the NRS and actually provide details as to how the laws are to be applied. For example the NRS states that benefits are to be paid 66 and 2/3% in lost time wages to an employee.  The NAC dictates how those benefits are to be calculated, the formula that is to be used. Typically those are written by us and our legal department with a lot of public input.



Role of DIR/WCS - Impartié

Provide Assistance |
® Answer questions, investigate compl ints
Provide Information >
® Education/Training
« All training provided free of charge
* Check website for dates, registration

® Provide workers’ comp process
Information



Role of DIR/WCS - Impartial

Regulate Compliance
® Audits/Investigations
® Administrative Actions
® Notices of Correction
® Fines
® Penalties



Primary Compliance Units

® Payers —Insurers, TPAS,
SIE, Assoclations

® Health Care Providers
®* Employers

WCS Organization

Audit Unit

e Audits insurers/TPAs/SIEs/Associations
e Investigates complaints
ol

Medical Unit (MU)

* Investigates medical complaints

* Makes payment determinations (appeals)
 Revise and publishes NV Medical Fee Schedule
* Processes D-35 Forms/PPD requests

e Manages Treating & Rating Physician Panels

e Coverage verification and compliance (C-4
Forms)

Employer Compliance Unit (ECU)

e Employer audits
* Coverage Investigations



WCS Organization

Research & Analysis (R&A)
* Training
Research and Analysis Eoventore ot
. . * Reporting
® Other Units: Benefit + CARDS
Penalty, Subsequent Injury,
Uninsured Employers Claim Other Units

Account

e Benefit Penalty
e Subsequent Injury
e Uninsured Employers Claims Account
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The Beginning . ‘
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We Begin with the ((}

C-1 Form “Notice of Injury or Occupation

® NRS 616C.015 |
® Incident Report — written notice of injury/iliness to e

® Completed by injured employee (IE) within 7 days fro

® Given to employer
® Signed by both employer and injured employee



We Begin with the ((

C-4 Form/Employee’s Claim for
Compensation/Report of Initial Treatment

®*NRS 616C.040 and NAC 616C.080

® Completed and signed by IE and physician
(MD/DO) or chiropractor (DC)

® Sent to employer and correct insurer/TPA within
3 days

® Insurer/TPA has 30 days to accept or deny claim



We Begin with the

C-3 Form “Employer’s Report of Industri
Occupational Disease”

®NRS 616C.045

® Completed by employer and filed with insurer/
within 6 working days from receipt of C-4 Form

jury or

® Must be accompanied by statement of wages if IE
expected to be off work 5 days or more

® Copy to injured employee



Workers’ Compensation Community includ
® Injured Employees/representatives
® Insurers/TPAs/SIEs/SIAs/Associatio
® Employers
® Health Care Providers
® Attorneys

~ *DIR/WCS

M Without appropriate communication, we all fail!

Os



Communication

* With appropriate communication, we all

Appropriate communication requires:
® Timely and complete response

® Respectful of others’ perspectives
® Professional and courteous

® Cannot be legislated




Compliance Keys - NAC 616

Written notice of claim acceptance must:
® Be provided to IE, legal representative or de
® (a) Written notice of acceptance of the ¢ ;

® (b) A copy of Form D-52, Alternative Choice of
Physician or Chiropractor; and

® Copy to Treating Physician/Chiropractor (C-4 Form) “

® Either: :
“Web address to obtains list of HCPs
“Written notice IE may request list of HCPs

ents




Compliance Keys - NAC 616 '

Written determinations must include:
® Claim number

®* Employer

® Insurer/TPA

®* DOI

® Date of determination

® Appeal rights

® Addresses of Hearings Division of the Dept of
Administration in Cason City and Las Vegas




Claims - Medical Only

®*No or minimal time lost from work
days within 20 days)

® Medical services $800 or less
®No lifetime reopening rights

N\




Claims- Lost Time

® NRS 616C.475
® Off work 5 days - consecutive or within 20 da

® Entitled to compensation: 66 2/3 average m ly wag

® Forms
® D-5 Wage Calculation Form for Claims Agent’s Use
L9~ * D-6 Injured Employee’s Request for Compensation
® D-7 Explanation of Wage Calculation

D-8 Employer’s Wage Verification Form (must be
completed by employer)



Claims- Lost Time
Types of Wage Replacement

®*TTD (Temporary Total Disabllity)

Must be paid within 14 working days; reby:rly
thereafter

® TPD (Temporary Partial Disability)
 |[E working at least part time

- Must be paid every 14 days after receipt of wage
verification (paycheck)

®*PTD (Permanent Total Disability)
Must be paid monthly




Appeal Rights

® Required on every written determination

® Different appeal rights for different purposes
* Most decisions IE may appeal }
» Billing decisions — only HCP may appeal

® Usually to Dept of Administration except medical
billing disputes

* DIR/WCS Medical billing appeal authority

) - Medical billing decisions mm=) Medical Unit
\Always copy In legal representative, If any




Appeals Litigation

® Dept of Administration
» Hearing Officer (NRS 616C.315)
* Appeals Officer (NRS 616C.345)

® Further appeals:
 District Court

» Nevada Supreme Court — may remand to Court of
Appeals




Nevada Attorney for Injured Work ' \\V)

® NRS 616A.435-460

® NAIW may represent an IE without fee bef
Appeals Officer, District Court, Court of A
Supreme Court

€
S Or

® May be appointed by Appeals Officer if requested‘
® 2 locations:

 Las Vegas (702) 486-2830

 Carson City (775) 684-7555



laim Closure

®NRS 616C.235

® Notice of Closure must be mailed to IE an
representative, If applicable

® Notice must describe the effects of closing the clai
and time limit for IE to appeal

® Insurer/TPA must provide Request for Hearing form
(NRS 616C.315)



Wake Up
and
S-T-R-E-T-CSi




More than
before about™
the C-4...

‘




C-4 to Correct Insurer/1

NRS 616C.040
C-4 Submission
by Medical
Provider
3 Working Days

—

¢

Transit
Time

2-3 Days

Insurer/TPA

Accept or deny claim
30 DAYS after receipt

27



C-4 Form Highlights

® Initiation of claim (regard/ess of receipt of or C-3)
® |[E has 90 days to seek medical treatmen’

® HCPs responsible to send to employer and corre
Insurer/TPA |

® Document process thoroughly (or pay possible fine)"

® Must call insurer/TPA to verify correct payer



C-4 Form Highlights

® Top half completed by IE

® Includes release of information (Privacy Ap,l'l PAA
excludes workers’ compensation,) |

® Bottom half completed by treating
physician/chiropractor

® Only MDs, DOs or DC may sign C-4 Form

® \Watch for notations referring to medical record for
additional information




When i1s Workers’ Compensation In
Required?

If an employer has an employee, wor
compensation policy is ALWAYS required (
616B.633)!




Employer Compliance Unit (

Who Is an employer?

> Unless excluded by statute, “...Every person, firm
voluntary association and private corporation,

Including any public service corporation, which h
service any person under a contract of hire” needs
coverage (NRS 616A.230)




Employer Compliance Unit (

® Responsible for ensuring employers comply
mandatory coverage provisions

® Conducts employer site visits; employers must provi
evidence of coverage (NRS 616A.495)

® If an employer falls to provide/maintain workers' com
coverage, an order to cease business operations may

Issued (NRS 616D.110) I



Employer Compliance Unit (EC

Uninsured employer investigations
Cancellation/lapse investigations

National Council on Compensation In ce

(NCCI) provides monthly cancellation list
Affirmation of Compliance (D-25 Forms)
Referrals or complaints
Random site Visits

[qguc e
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Welcome to Subsequent In

® Purpose. To encourage employers re
or retain those workers who have 97’
condition that results In a permanent

Impairment and reimburse the employer
Injuries that are sustained subsequently

during that employment.




How do | qualify? How do | submit for reimb
NRS 616B.557, .578 and .587

¢ All these require there be a combined effect between the pr
permanent physical impairment and the subsequent injury
substantially increased, the costs of the subsequent injury
existing permanent physical impairment;

the pre-

The pre-existing permanent physical impairment must qualify for at |
6% WHPI if rated under the AMA Guides as adopted by statute; and

Employer must have written documentation of knowledge of the pre-
existing permanent physical impairment at the time the person is hired or,
once the employer acquires knowledge, they must retain the person Iin
employment. Knowledge and retention must occur prior to the date of the
subsequent injury.



Who decides if | get reimburse

® The Board (Self-Insured Employers or Associa
Self-Insured Public or Private Employers) has days
after receipt of the request to make a deterytion
regarding reimbursement. |

® If the claim is for a Private Carrier, the Administrato
120 days to make a determination regarding the
request.

® Notice of a possible claim under these sections was
repealed on October 1, 2007. However, If the claim has
a date of injury prior to October 30, 2005, notice of the
possible claim is still required.



What if an employee knowingly misrepresent
physical condition?
NRS 616B.560, .581 and .590

® All of these require there be a combined effect between th Xisting
permanent physical impairment and the subsequent injur
substantially increase, the costs of the subsequent injury
pre-existing impairment.

® There must be proof that the employee knowingly made a false
representation related their physical condition when they were hire
that this false statement formed the basis of their employment.

ue to th

® There must be a causal connection between the false representation anc
the subsequent disability.

® These statutes require notice be submitted no later than 60 days after the
date of the subsequent injury or the date the employer learns of the false
representation, whichever is later.



NAC 616B.760 to 616B.769 (Private Carriers

NAC 616B.770 to 616B.7714 (SIE)
NAC 616B.773 to 616B.779 (SIA)

® These regulations govern how claims sho
submitted, the hearing process for the B
and Private Carriers and time lines for the
Administrator to review requests.

® Please note, the regulations for both Boards are
In front of the Legislative Counsel Bureau for
final review. Once they have been approved by
the LCB, there will be a hearing.




Got Questions?

Subsequent Injury Coordinator
Vanessa SKrinjaric

702-486-9098
VSKrinjaric@business.nv.gov



mailto:VSkrinjaric@business.nv.gov
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Use the Resources Availl

Medical Treatment Guidelines

® ACOEM Guidelines only
® Available online by Reed Group
® Separates conditions by acute/chronic

| —

® Includes drug formulary




Prior Authorization

®* NAC 616C.129, NAC 616C.143
® Services with estimated billed amount of $ I more
Medic

® Compound medications — see page 5 Ne
Fee Schedule (NMFS)

® Out of state services (NAC 616C.143)

FWritten prior authorization requirements include
notification payment per NMFS



Reimbursement:
Insurer/TPA Responsibiliti

® Bills must be date stamped when received

® May be sent to an out of state scanning
otherwise mailed to insurer/TPA address in NV

® Pay medical bills accurately and timely — within 45
calendar days of receipt

® No down coding = reimbursing a higher paying code

shown on the bill at the rate of a lower paying code



Reimbursement - NM

Nevada Medical Fee Schedule (NMFS)

® NRS 616C.260

® Sets maximum reimbursement for servic
® Updated annually (February 1)
® Access at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/
® Includes limited dental fee schedule

® EOB/EOR requirements

® General Information on pages 8-9



http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/

Catastrophic Injuries

Defined In NRS 616A.077
Duties of insurer/TPA NRS 616C.700-720

« Assign qualified claims adjuster, nurse, voc reha
counselor

e Life care plan within 120 days of “stable”
determination

« Personal meeting monthly with IE/family



The Homestrei’ *
(atlas



What is a PPD?

® Permanent Partial Disability impairment
evaluation

® |E must be at maximum medical impr
(MMI)

Rating Panel of Physicians and Chiropractors
® Results in monetary award
PPDs are not IMES

ment




PPDs

® Three ways PPD raters assigned
* Rotating panel
« Mutual agreements
e Court ordered

® All PPD rating requests must be made by submitti
a completed D-35 Form to DIR/WCS/MU

® D-35 Form submitted to DIR/WCS must be
completed accurately to be processed

® D-35 Form cannot be processed until claim indexed
(D-38 Form)




Keys to PPD Request

® D-35 Forms available on DIR/WCS website
® Claim must already be indexed in CARDS

» If not, D-35 returned; when indexed, write TK# (D
38) at top of D-35 Form resubmitted to WCS

» Submit all required documentation together with ne
D-35 (update request date on all D-35s re-submitte

® Mutual agreements require copy of signed agreement
and letter of representation, If attorney involved



PPDs

® List all treating/consulting physicians/chirop
® Code body parts as specifically as possible

® Use “Comments” section to clarify non
parts

® Be accurate - raters use body parts list to ident
body parts to be rated

® Must be sent to rater with medical records
* No D-35 mm==) no rating

cific b



PPDs - Restrictions A

® Chiropractors limited to rate neuromusc letal

Injuries
® Injuries above the neck mmm) MD/DO

® All brain injuries (including concussions) ‘
neurologist/neurosurgeon

® Severe nerve damage )
neurologist/neurosurgeon




PPDs and PTSD

® Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

® Limited to raters who have received additio raining
to rate PTSD |

® Eligible raters noted on Rating Panel of
Physicians/Chiropractors (http://dir.nv.gov/\WCS/Hon

® Contact DIR/WCS Medical Unit if questions

® If both PTSD and physical injuries, usually one rating
by PTSD rater



http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/home/

Vocational Rehabilitation/ ‘

® NRS 616C.530, NRS 616C.550

® Goal — keep IEs working while receiving m
treatment, minimizes disruption of life

* Work with employers to provide light duty as early
as possible

® Undocumented IEs not eligible: NV Supreme Court
(Tarango v SIIS)




Vocational Rehabilitation Priorit
NRS 616C.530

Return to pre-accident position

Return to pre-accident employer I

¥
{Position with another employer utilizing

existing skills

Provide training while working in another
vocation

56

Provide formal training/education in
_another vocation



Presenter
Presentation Notes
Vocational Rehabilitation
The number one priorities and most desired outcome is to return the injured worker to the exact job and position they were doing before they were injured. The next best option is to go back to work for the same employer doing something else.  If that is not possible try to position the employee with another employer where the same skill set will be used. If that cannot be done then provide training while working in another vocation.  And the last and most expensive option is to send the worker back to school to learn another trade.
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Claims and Regulatory Data System




Claims and Regulatory Data System

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SECTION



Claims and Regulatory Data System

® WCS Internal System

® WCS staff manages investigations, complaints, audits, fines,
penalties

® WCS maintains records of insurers, TPAs, medical providers,
employers

® External Web Portal
® Insurers and TPAs interact with WCS
® Mandatory



ReTIog
P A

Claims and Regulatory Data System

Il insurers (private carriers, self-insured employers and associations of
elf-insured employers) and TPAs licensed for workers’ compensation are
aintained in CARDS. WGCS staff create the initial record for each entity
with basic licensing information received from the Division of Insurance.

Insurers and TPAs then use the web portal to maintain their contacts,
claims office and TPA relationship information, submit claims data (claims
fndexing) and run reports.


Presenter
Presentation Notes
All the data that is held in cards is used over multiple transactions to conduct the work of the division.


FUNCTIONALITY

®* Insurer / TPA Information Form

* Claims Indexing (D-38) Form Submission

* Create D-38
* Update D-38

* Claims History
®* Reports

* User Access (Account Administrators Only)



EXTERNAL USERS

ccount Administrators — “Gate Keepers”

-Controlled by WCS
-Up to 2 Account Administrators per Insurer or TPA

-Added by WCS via Account Admin Designation Form

® Individual Users
-Controlled by Account Administrators
-Invited/Added by Account Administrators

-Provided permissions by Account Administrators


Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW USER MANAGEMENT SCREEN

Insurer Administrators must be employees of the Insurer.  TPA Administrators must be employees of the TPA.  CARDS Account Administrators should not be confused with the Third-Party Administrator that administers claims.
Open invitations vs. Active Users after registration/activation of account.  Open invitations must be communicated from the account Admin.  CARDS does not send an invitation email.
Individual Users will only see and be able to submit information is that permission was granted by an administrator.

Next slide – account set up



EXTERNAL USERS

3 Steps to Becoming an Active User

® Register your email and create a password

® Be “invited” or added by an Account Administrator
(or by WCS If you are an Account Administrator)

® Be given “permissions” to access CARDS functions
by an Account Administrator


Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW USER MANAGEMENT SCREEN

Insurer Administrators must be employees of the Insurer.  TPA Administrators must be employees of the TPA.  CARDS Account Administrators should not be confused with the Third-Party Administrator that administers claims.
Open invitations vs. Active Users after registration/activation of account.  Open invitations must be communicated from the account Admin.  CARDS does not send an invitation email.
Individual Users will only see and be able to submit information is that permission was granted by an administrator.

Next slide – account set up



USER REGISTRATION

ARDS users must register online and activate their account

® Goto and click the Register now
or Register Today

® Provide email, name and password

® Click the link in the activation emaill


Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW REGISTRATION SCREEN


https://cards.nv.gov/

n

cARDs Nevada Workers’ Compensation Section

Home

Welcome to the State of Nevada Workers’ Compensation Login to your
Claims and Regulatory Data System (CARDS) portal for Account
Insurers and Third Party Administrators! Email

The CARDS portal allows registered Workers’ Compensation Insurers
and Third Party Administrators to update their contact information, submit Password
required claims data and run reports.

To get started, login using the credentials provided to you by the Nevada Foraetyour passwond?

Workers’ Compensation Section or your company’s portal Administrator.

Don’t have an

Register now



Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW REGISTRATION SCREEN



USER REGISTRATION

cARDs Nevada Workers’ Compensation Section

Home

Register

Create a new account

Email
|

First Name Last Name

Password Password Requirements
! Must be at least 8 characters long
! Contain one upper case letter
! Contain one number

Confirm

password

Cancel



Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW REGISTRATION SCREEN



USER REGISTRATION

GARDS Nevada Workers' Compensation Section Hello, Ruth Test  Log Out

Home My Account

To access this website you are required to be associated with Nevada Insurer or Third Party Administrator (TPA). You are not currently associated with an Insurer or TPA. Please contact the Insurer
or TPA Account Administrator. If you are the Account Administrator, contact the Workers Compensation Section, Research & Analysis Unit at 702-486-3080.

Home | ContactUs Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

Copyright 2018 State of Mevada - All Rights Resenved



Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW REGISTRATION SCREEN



USER ACCESS

* Insurer Account Administrators Control

* |Individual User Access and Permissions

* “lLinked” TPA Access — Global vs. Individual

* TPA Account Administrators Control

* Only Individual User Access and Permissions



Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW INFORMATION FORM IN SYSTEM – BOULDVARD INSURANCE

*REQUIRED CONTACTS: Main Physical, Main Mailing Corporate Contact, State Statutory Reporting Contacts.  
*CONDITIONAL REQUIRED CONTACTS: Claims Office, Location of Physical Records, Location of Electronic Records, Compliance, Coverage Verification, Proof of Coverace.  Depending on the size of the Insurer/TPA these contacts may/may not be the same individual.
*Once the initial form is submitted and approved making changes is simple.  The form is prepopulated with the information from our data base and the user only needs to change the contact (s) that have changed.  *The updates in our system are real time so once WCS approves the submission the changes are immediate.
*Insurer Information form and the linked TPA’s will be what is used for the coverage verification service.  Insurers are encouraged to keep up to date for timely claims processing.
*Form is required during fall data call and within 30 days of a change to a contact type or TPA.






Individual permissions provided by Account Administrators

Insurers:

Insurer Information Form

Claims Indexing (D-38) Form Submission
e Create D-38

. Update D-38

Claims History

Reports

User Access (Account Administrators Only)

TPA Information Form

User Access (Account Administrators Only)



INSURER /7 INFORMATION FORM

* |nsurer and TPA Info Forms are required to be
completed on the CARDS portal.

* |nsurers and TPAs maintain contact/location
Information

* IMPORTANT: Insurers “link” their related TPA(S)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
SHOW INFORMATION FORM IN SYSTEM – BOULDVARD INSURANCE

*REQUIRED CONTACTS: Main Physical, Main Mailing Corporate Contact, State Statutory Reporting Contacts.  
*CONDITIONAL REQUIRED CONTACTS: Claims Office, Location of Physical Records, Location of Electronic Records, Compliance, Coverage Verification, Proof of Coverace.  Depending on the size of the Insurer/TPA these contacts may/may not be the same individual.
*Once the initial form is submitted and approved making changes is simple.  The form is prepopulated with the information from our data base and the user only needs to change the contact (s) that have changed.  *The updates in our system are real time so once WCS approves the submission the changes are immediate.
*Insurer Information form and the linked TPA’s will be what is used for the coverage verification service.  Insurers are encouraged to keep up to date for timely claims processing.
*Form is required during fall data call and within 30 days of a change to a contact type or TPA.






D-38 (CLAIMS INDEXING)

eporting Triggers:
®Initial Report

*Within 30 days of acceptance or denial
*Update Reports:
*Claim type changes (Medical Only to Lost Time)
®Closure/Reopening

*Benefit Type Changes (TTD to PPD, TTD to Vocational
Rehabilitation, ect.)

®Corrections or Updates (Body Parts, Employer info, etc.)




HOME PAGE

CARDS Nevada Workers’ Compensation Section Hello, Kristine Garcial Log Out

Home My Account
Boulevard Insurance - [ Forms and Tools ~
Added/Invited |
Insurer Information Form

33
las vegas, Nevada 89102

D-38: Create Claim

Permissions

Associated TPAs <:| Linked TPA D-38: Update Claim
Claims History Form

Name FEIN &

WINCHESTER CLAIMS 000000000 Reports

Showing 1 to 1 of 1 entries & UserAccess
WINCHESTER CLAIMS - |
S~ Added/invited

Associated Insurers

Name * FEIN &

Boulevard Insurance 000000000
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Presentation Notes
SHOW REGISTRATION SCREEN



“LINKED” TPA WITH GLOBAL PERMISSIONS

WINCHESTER CLAIMS 2l Forms and Tools =

TPA Information Form

Associated Insurers )
® UserAccess

Name * FEIN &

Showing 1o 1 of 1 entries '




Home

Claim Submissions

My Account

HOME PAGE

Hello, Kristine Garcial Log @

Date of
Ticket# & Status ¢ Status Date + Submitted By & Claim# s SSN (Last4) Injury & Insurer &
filter filter filter filter filter filter filter filter
TK-0186-361 Pending 3/20/2019 1:19 PM krissi.garcia@ Boulevard
Insurance
TK-0015-160 Approved 4/19/2018 1:57 PM Byauss@Captechventures.com 1111111111111 9999 1/1/1800 Boulevard
Insurance
TK-0007-593 Rejected 5/4/2017 5:28 PM Byauss@Captechventures.com Boulevard
Insurance

Showing 1 to 3 of 3 entries

Display 10 Per Page v 1

Filing History
Ticket# ¢ Submission Type $ Insurer/TPA & Filing Date « Filed By &
filter filter filter filter filter
TK-0167-419 RAU - Insurer Information Form Boulevard Insurance 1/23/2019 10:25 AM Ruth Ryan
RAU - Claim History Form Boulevard Insurance 4/19/2017 10:23 AM Brian Yauss
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SHOW REGISTRATION SCREEN
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() WELCOME TO WORKERS' COMPENSATION R

© Hearings / Workshops / Meetings
© Current Newsletter

© Training

© |mportant Changes

© Join our Mailing List

© New Actuarial Annuity Table
Adopted, effective 7/1/19

: © 5B 377 (2019) - Notice of
2018 OCCUPATIONAL ' Suspension of Annual PT Data Call
DISEASE CLAIMS REPORT : (7/3/19)

© Forms and Worksheets
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© WCs Contacts

© Questions? - Please Use WCSHelp
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COMPENSATION TPA REPORTING|
MNEVADA LAW
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MEDICAL UNIT INJURED WORKERS INSURERS / TPAS EMPLOYERS
© Current Rating Panel © MNorthern Complaint Form © Time Frames © Employee Leasing Company
© Current Treating Panel © Southern Complaint Form © Standard Audit Requirements (PEQ)
© 2019 Medical Fee Schedule © Appeal Rights © Subsequent Injury Accounts © Posting Requirements
© D-35 Form © Claim Reopening © CARDS Brochure © SilverFlume
© The Pulse Medical Unit © Nevada Attorney for Injured © Claims Indexing (D-38) Brochure® Uninsured Employers
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0 CLAIMS AND REGULATORY DATA SYSTEM (CARDS)

CARDS WEB PORTAL REGISTRATION / LOGIN PAGE
CARDS WEE PORTAL USER MANUAL
CARDS BROCHURE

IMPORTANT ANMNOUNCEMENTS

=«  [D-38 Claims Indexing Submitters-Flat File Info
= Discontinuance of D-32 Claims Indexing Paper Forms - Effective January 1, 2019

WELCOME TO CARDS
What is CARDS?

CARDS, which stands for Claims and Regulatory Data System, is the custom-built system for use by Workers'
Compensation Section (WCS) staff as well as our stakeholders, Insurers and TRPAs.

Why Should an Insurer or TPA use CARDS?

It's mandatory! Certain required reporting, such as the Insurer and TRA Information Forms, can only be
submitted via the CARDS web portal. Failure to submit the reports may result in administrative fines.

Who Can Use CARDS?

Each insurer and TRPA is reguired to have two “Account Administrators™ who are responsible for adding users
and granting permissions within the system. Account Administrators are approved and set up by WCS staff.
Only registerad users added by Account Administrators can access CARDS. Registered users must be
granted permissions by Account Administrators to access specific information.

How Do | Access CARDS?

CARDS is found at https-f/fcards_nv.gov. Anyone can register as a user and login but will not have access to
the portal functions unless they are added by an Insurer or TRA Account Administrator. Users that are
affiliated with more than one Insurer only need to register once to access all affiliated entities, provided they
have been granted such permission by the Account Adminisirator(s).

What Can an Insurer or TPA Do in CARDS?

Keap Contact info Curnrent:



NEED HELP? CONTACT US!

NEED HELP WITH CARDS?
Download the External User Manual: CARDS WEB PORTAL USER MANUAL

Direct questions as follows:
CARDS related send to CARDS{@business.nv.gov (login, password, general system issues)

INDEXING refated send to indexingia@business.nv.gov (claims indexing guidance and guestions)
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Join WCS Mailing List

What's Hot!

© Hearings / Workshops / Meetings

© Current Newsletiers, |mpo rtant Changes

© Training

© Important Changes ————

© _Join our Mailing List N I tt

© sdopted Amendment of NAC ews e ers
616C.502 and Repeal of NAC
616C.495 (LCB File No. R127-17) s

Rate Cha nge © Forms and Worksheets Broch U res
Effective January 1, 2019 © wos contacts
PP a——— © Questions? - Please Use WCSHelp

Training

IMNJURED
WORKERS

Links to:
— —— —— —— « WCSHELP

© Current Rating Panel a, © Morthern Complaint Form g © Time Frames g, © Employes Leasing Company

© Current Treating Panel & © Southerm Complaint Form g © Standard Audit Requirements a, (PEO) ® N RS & NAC
© 2019 Medical Fee Schedule, € Appeal Rights © Subsequent Injury Accounts © Posting Requiremenits a

© D-35 Form a © Claim Reopening © CARDS Brochure g © SilverFlume

€© The Pulse Medical Unit © Mewvada Attomey for Injured €© Claims Indexing (D-38) Brochure® Uninsured Employers g
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2?2 QUESTIONS 77

CARDS - cards@dir.nv.gov
CARDS portal

CLAIMS INDEXING - indexing@dir.nv.gov
claims indexing

RESEARCH & ANALYSIS — WCSEDUTNG@dir.nV.qov
training, annual Workers Comp Educational Confere

RESEARCH & ANALYSIS - WCSRA@dir.nv.gov
data calls, reporting

WCS HELP - WCSHelp@dir.nv.qov
Questions related to all other issues



mailto:cards@dir.nv.gov
mailto:indexing@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSEDUTNG@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSRA@dir.nv.gov
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov

WCS Contacts

LAS VEGAS

Main (702) 486-9080
Fax (702) 486-8712

Medical Unit (702) 486-9080

Fax (702) 486-8713

C-4s/Proof of Coverage (POC) (702) 486-9080

D-35 Forms medunit@dir.nv.qov

Employer Compliance Unit (702) 486-9080
Fax (702) 486-9174

Audit Unit (702) 486-9080

Fax (702) 486-8712

Research and Analysis -9080

486-9105
dir.nv.qov

Education
Krissi.

Subsequent Injury (702) 486-

CARSON CITY

Main (775) 624-7270
Fax (775) 684-6305

Medical Unit (775) 684-7

Employer Compliance Unit

(775) 684-7270
Fax (775) 687-3073

Audit Unit (775) 684-7270

81
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Don’t Forget . ..

Please fill out the Evaluation Online:
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/

Slhdisy NVN”' Agencies Jobs Feedback

ions (DI R) Custom Search L

' Search This Site ' ' Search All Sites

ADA Assistance E P
J What's Hot!

(> Hearings / Workshops / Meetings
Current Newsletter g

Training

Important Changes

Join our Mailing List

00000

Adopted Amendment of NAC
616C.502 and Repeal of NAC

[ M P e ey WL T, § P P et 5o

616C.498 (LCB File No. R127-17]

o TRAINING

= 2019 Training Schedule &
= Carson City Training Registration Form
» Las Vegas Training Registration Form

Training Documents

= WCS Orientation Training Presentation g

= C-4 and Coverage Verification Training Presentation g
= WCS Employer Compliance Presentation g,

= WCS 2019 Medical Fee Schedule Presentation g

= Training Brochure g

WCS 2019 Educational Conference-Coming Soon!

2019 Training Surveys

= Basic Orientation AM Session- March 21, 2019
= Basic Orientation PM Session- March 21, 2019

82
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