APPLICATION FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF CLAIM RELATED TRAVEL EXPENSES

(Pursuant to NAC 616C.150)

Please type or print and provide all the information requested. Keep and be prepared to provide, if requested, any receipts relating to your reimbursement request.

						-	24 1			
Name (Last, First, Middle Initial)							Claim Number			
Present Address (P.O. Box, Apt. No., Street)							Social Security Number			
City State			Zip			Date of Injury				
Residence at time of injury:							(For Insurer's Use Only) [] Approved [] Disapproved Initials & Date			
	Γ TRAVEL WEEK				_			•	-	
	sed for claim related n of Nevada law.	l travel. Be aware	that any	misrepr	esentat	ion ma	y be cons	sidered fi	raud and	is in
Violatioi	l of Nevaua law.									
Date	Beginning Point of Travel Address	Destination Name/Address	Enter Travel Time	Leave Travel Time	D		nse Reimbursement		Miles One Way	Mileage Allowed (For Insurers Use Only)
					Meals			Lodging		
	<u> </u>				В	L	D	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	
			<u> </u>				ТОТ	'AT		
								ILES:		
Total of Miles X 2 @ \$ per M								le =		
reimburse NRS. I u	pertify that the record prement is related to or is anderstand that the repect me to criminal and the	for treatment authorize orting of false inform	ed under Nev nation may	ada Revis disqualify	ed Statut me fron	e (NRS) n receiv	616A to 61 ing workers	6D, inclusi s' compens	ve or chapte sation bene	er 617 of fits, and
Injured E	mployee's Signature					D	ate			

Reimbursement for Costs of Transportation and Meals

Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 616C.150 Eligibility and computation.

- 1. The insurer, or those employers who have elected to provide accident benefits, shall reimburse an injured employee for the cost of transportation if he is required to travel 20 miles or more, one way, from:
 - (a) His residence to the place where he receives medical care; or
 - (b) His place of employment to the place where he receives medical care if the care is required during his normal working hours.
- 2. The insurer, or those employers who have elected to provide accident benefits, shall reimburse an injured employee for the cost of transportation if he is required to travel 20 miles or more, one way, from his residence or place of employment to a place of hearing designated by the insurer or the department of administration if the hearing concerns an appeal by the employer or insurer from a decision in favor of the injured employee and the decision is upheld on appeal.
- 3. An injured employee who does not qualify for reimbursement under paragraph (a) or (b) of subsection 1 but is required to travel a total of 40 miles or more in any one week for medical care or for attendance at the system's rehabilitation center is entitled to be reimbursed for the cost of his transportation.
 - 4. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, reimbursement for the cost of transportation must be computed at a rate equal to:
 - (a) The mileage allowance for state employees who use their personal vehicles for the convenience of the state; or
- (b) The expense actually incurred by the injured employee for transportation, if the injured employee consents to reimbursement at this rate and the expense is not greater than the amount to which the injured employee would otherwise be entitled pursuant to paragraph (a).
- 5. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, if an injured employee must travel before 7:00 a.m. or between 11:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. or cannot return to his home or place of employment until after 7:00 p.m., or any combination thereof, reimbursement for meals required to be purchased must be computed at a rate equal to:
 - (a) That allowed for state employees; or
- (b) The expense actually incurred by the injured employee for meals, if the injured employee consents to reimbursement at this rate and the expense is not greater than the amount to which the injured employee would otherwise be entitled pursuant to paragraph (a).
- 6. The insurer, or those employers who have elected to provide accident benefits, shall reimburse an injured employee for his expenses of travel if he is required to travel 50 miles or more, one way, from his residence or place of employment and is required to remain away from his residence or place of employment overnight. Reimbursement must be computed at a rate equal to:
 - (a) The per diem allowance authorized for state employees; or
 - (b) The expenses actually incurred by the injured employee, whichever is less.
- 7. A claim for reimbursement of expenses governed by this section may be disallowed unless it is submitted to the insurer or employer within 60 days after the expenses are incurred.

NAC 616C.153 Reimbursement for air fare. With the prior approval of the insurer or those employers who have elected to provide accident benefits, an injured employee may be reimbursed for air fare where the time, distance, convenience or cost justifies his travel by air.

NAC 616C.156 Limitations on reimbursements.

- 1. Unless otherwise directed or approved by the insurer, or the injured employee's treating physician or chiropractor, an injured employee who chooses to obtain his medical services at a more distant place although adequate medical care is available at a closer place may be reimbursed under NAC 616C.150 only for mileage to the closer place.
- 2. If a person moves outside this state or to a new location within this state for his own convenience after becoming an injured employee, the maximum mileage for one direction for which he may be reimbursed is the mileage allowable before the move or 40 miles, whichever is greater.
- 3. No reimbursement will be allowed for a person traveling with an injured employee unless there is a medical necessity that precludes the injured employee from traveling alone. The medical necessity must be substantiated in writing by the injured employee's treating physician or chiropractor.

Notice

An injured employee or any other person who knowingly makes a false statement or representation or knowingly conceals a material fact in order to obtain or attempt to obtain any benefit may be subject to both civil penalties and criminal prosecution. If convicted, a person forfeits all rights to workers' compensation benefits and is liable for reasonable investigation costs of the insurer and attorney general's office, court costs, and restitution for payment or benefits fraudulently obtained. If the amount of the benefit or payment is less than \$250, the penalty is a misdemeanor which may result in county jail time not to exceed six months and a fine up to \$1,000. If the amount of the benefit or payment is \$250 or more, the penalty is a category D felony which may result in imprisonment in the state prison for at least 1 year and not more than 4 years and a fine up to \$5,000. Insurance fraud includes, but is not limited to: 1) requesting temporary total disability compensation or rehabilitation maintenance compensation while gainfully employed; 2) making false statements about potential employer contacts, mileage or compensation, 3) misrepresenting facts concerning an industrial accident, injury or illness to others such as an employer, insurer, physician or chiropractor, vocational rehabilitation counselor, and 4) filing an invalid claim in order to obtain controlled substances.

If the employee is so severely injured that he is unable to complete this form, a friend, member of the family, labor representative, or other agent may complete and sign for the injured employee.

D-26(2) (Rev. 4/04)