Information


Announcements

Bulletins

E-Mail Notification Enrollment

DIR Public Records Policy

How to Report an Accident - Incident

Accidents: Notification of Mechanical Compliance Section; Investigation; Inspection and Report (NAC 455C.526)

The owner of the elevator or his or her agent shall promptly notify the Mechanical Compliance Section of every accident involving the elevator.  

The elevator mechanic, licensed elevator contractor or owner of the elevator or his or her agent shall provide any assistance required by the Mechanical Compliance Section for the investigation of an accident or for any inspection relating to an accident.  

The Mechanical Compliance Section shall, as soon as practicable after receiving notification of an accident, make an inspection and keep in its files a complete report of its findings, including a detailed list of all material facts and information available and the cause, as far as it can be determined, for the accident.  

If an accident may have been caused by the failure, malfunction or destruction of any part of an elevator, the elevator must be shut down immediately and cannot be restored to service until:

· The Mechanical Compliance Section has been notified;

· The elevator has been made safe;

· The elevator has been inspected by the Mechanical Compliance Section and, if necessary, tested by an elevator mechanic; and

· Any repairs, changes or alterations have been approved by the Mechanical Compliance Section.

If an accident involves the failure of an elevator, no part of the elevator may be removed from the premises until the Mechanical Compliance Section authorizes that removal.

As used in this section, “accident” means an event resulting from the operation of an elevator that:

Causes serious bodily injury; or

Requires an alteration, repair or replacement of the elevator.

Northern Nevada Standby Phone (775) 200-8173    Southern Nevada Standby Phone (702) 493-8764

 

    How to Obtain a Certification of Accredition

    An applicant for a certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency must submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section:

    1. An application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section; and

    2. The fee for the issuance of a certificate of accreditation set forth in NAC 455C.450;

    a.   Provide proof that the applicant maintains adequate insurance coverage against liabilities resulting from claims incurred in the course of operation, including, without limitation:

    i.   Workers’ compensation insurance pursuant to chapters 616A to 617, inclusive, of NRS for its employees;

    ii.   Insurance for professional errors and omissions covering its inspection activities in this State in an amount of not less than $4,000,000; and;

    iii.   Commercial general liability insurance in an amount of not less than $4,000,000; and

    b.  Certify that the applicant maintains a library of each publication adopted by reference pursuant to NAC 455C.500 and copies of all Mechanical Compliance Section inspector checklists.

    The application submitted pursuant to subsection 2 must include, without limitation:

    1. The physical address of the location where inspection records will be maintained;

    2. The state business license number assigned by the Secretary of State upon compliance with the provisions of chapter 76 of NRS;

    3. The name, business address and contact information for the person or persons designated to be the primary contact for the Mechanical Compliance Section; and

    4. The name of each special inspector who will be employed by the applicant to conduct elevator inspections.

    An authorized inspection agency shall not have common ownership with a licensed elevator contractor or an elevator maintenance company.

    If an applicant satisfies the requirements set forth in this section, the Mechanical Compliance Section shall issue a certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency to the applicant.

    A certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency issued pursuant to this section expires 3 years after the date of issuance unless the certificate is renewed.

         (Added to NAC by Div. of Industrial Relations by R077-14, eff. 1-16-2015)

    To renew a certificate of accreditation as an authorized inspection agency, an authorized inspection agency must, not more than 45 calendar days before the expiration of the certificate, submit to the Mechanical Compliance Section:

    A renewal application on a form prescribed by the Mechanical Compliance Section;

    The fee for the renewal of a certificate of accreditation set forth in NAC 455C.450; and

    All the information required to be submitted for the issuance of a certificate of accreditation pursuant to section 8 of this regulation.

         (Added to NAC by Div. of Industrial Relations by R077-14, eff. 1-16-2015)

      Frequently Asked Questions

      1.  What forms of payment do you accept?

                  Check, Cashier’s Check or Money Order   

      2.  What do I do if my boiler, pressure vessel or related equipment operating permit is expired or about to expire?

                  a.  If your object(s) are insured, contact your insurance company to conduct your inspection(s).

                  b.  If your object(s) are not insured, contact the Mechanical Compliance Section; Southern District Office 702-486-9023 or Northern District Office 775-688-3750.

      3.  What do I do if my elevator or related equipment operating permit is expired or about to expire? 

                  Contact one of the Elevator Authorized Inspection Agency List (rev 11-16) to conduct your inspection.

      4.  What if my billing information changes? 

                  Fill out the  Address Change Form (rev 12-1-16) and email it to mcs.henderson@business.nv.gov

      5.  When is renewal season for Boiler Inspectors? 

                  March 1st of every year

      6.  When is renewal season for Elevator mechanics, apprentices, helpers and Special Elevator Inspectors?

                  September 1st of every year

      7.  How long is my operating permit good for?

                  Depends on the type of equipment, refer to the NAC 455C for clarification.

      8.  What am I being invoiced for? 

                  Contact the Mechanical Compliance Section’s Accounts Payable 702-486-9184.

      9.  How do I apply for an Exemption?  

              Application for Exemption Boiler or Elevator

      10.  When am I required to put in an application to install for Boiler, Pressure Vessel and related equipment? 

                  NAC 455C.182  Requirements for installation or alteration. (NRS 455C.110)

           1.  Each boiler and pressure vessel must be installed and trimmed as required by the stamping of the original manufacturer of the boiler or pressure vessel and in accordance with the applicable provisions of the code.

           2.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, a contractor must obtain a permit for installation before installing or altering a boiler or pressure vessel, including, without limitation, a refrigeration pressure vessel, in this State. If installation is begun before the permit is issued, installation must be suspended until the permit is issued.

           3.  A request for a permit for installation must be submitted by the contractor to the Enforcement Section in writing not less than 10 days before the installation will begin and include:

           (a) A data report from the manufacturer of the boiler or pressure vessel and, if the boiler or pressure vessel that is being installed was moved from another location, a copy of the original permit for installation and report of inspection;

           (b) The plans and specifications of the boiler room in which the boiler or pressure vessel is being installed which designate the location of the boiler or pressure vessel and which comply with the requirements of NAC 455C.250 and 455C.254; and

           (c) A copy of his or her contractor’s license issued pursuant to chapter 624 of NRS which authorizes the contractor to install boilers or pressure vessels.

           4.  Except for an existing installation or a reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel, a boiler or pressure vessel may not be installed in this State unless it has been registered with the National Board.

           5.  Before a secondhand boiler or pressure vessel, reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel, or portable boiler or pressure vessel may be installed or shipped for installation into this State, the owner of the boiler or pressure vessel or his or her agent or the contractor must apply to the Enforcement Section for approval to install it. The request for a permit for installation must include, without limitation, a report of inspection. The report of inspection must be prepared by a person who holds a commission and who inspected the boiler or pressure vessel. The fittings and appurtenances of the boiler or pressure vessel must comply with the requirements for the installation of a new boiler or pressure vessel.

           6.  In the case of an emergency, a contractor may install or alter a boiler or pressure vessel, including a refrigeration pressure vessel, in this State without first obtaining a permit from the Enforcement Section if the contractor:

           (a) Notifies the Enforcement Section as soon as practicable after the alteration or installation; and

           (b) Obtains the permit required by subsection 2 at that time.

           (Added to NAC by Div. of Industrial Relations by R101-02, eff. 12-15-2004)

       

      NAC 455C.252 Clearance:  Fired storage and fired coil water heater.  (NRS 455C.110)

      The clearance between a wall or other structure and a fired storage and fired coil water heater must be not less than the clearance specified by the manufacturer.

          (Added to NAC by Div. of Industrial Relations by R101-02, eff. 12-15-2004)

       

      11.  When am I required to put in an application to install for elevator and related equipment? 

                  NAC 455C.508  Installation, relocation or alteration: Notification of Mechanical Compliance Section; duties of inspector. (NRS 455C.110)

           1.  A licensed elevator contractor who installs, relocates or alters an elevator shall notify the Mechanical Compliance Section, in writing or by telephone, at least 3 business days before completion of the work, and an elevator mechanic shall test the new, moved or altered portions of the elevator as required by NAC 455C.400 to 455C.528, inclusive, and sections 4 to 14, inclusive, of this regulation [R077-14].

           2.  All new, altered or relocated elevators must be inspected for compliance with the requirements of NAC 455C.400 to 455C.528, inclusive, and sections 4 to 14, inclusive, of this regulation [R077-14], by an inspector. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 455C.512, the inspector shall witness the tests required by NAC 455C.400 to 455C.528, inclusive, and sections 4 to 14, inclusive, of this regulation [R077-14].

         (Added to NAC by Div. of Industrial Relations by R101-02, eff. 12-15-2004; Amended R077-14, Sec. 48, eff. 1-16-15)

        Meetings / Workshops / Training

         March 2016

         March 21 & 22, 2016 8:00am to 5:00pm NAESA 2 day Code Update Seminar Reno Nevada  

         March 24 & 25, 2016 8:00am to 5:00pm NAESA 2 day Code Update Seminar Henderson Nevada 

          Job Announcements

          Adopted Codes

          • Boiler - Adopted Codes
          • ASME BPVC Sect.I - Rules for Construction of Power Boilers, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.II - Materials - Part D: Properties, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.IV - Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.V - Nondestructive Examination, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.VI - Recommended Guidelines for the Care and Operation of Heating Boilers, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.VII - Recommended Guidelines for the Care of Power Boilers, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.VIII - Rules for Construction of Pressure Vessels Division - 1, 2013
          • ASME BPVC Sect.IX - Welding, Brazing & Fusing Qualification, 2013
          • ASME BPVC CSD-1 - Controls & Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, 2012
          • ASME BPVC B31.1 - Power Piping, 2012
          • ASME QFO-1 - Standard for Qualification of High Capacity Fossil Fuel Fired Plants, 1998
          • ANSI / NB23 - National Board Inspection Code Part 1,2,3 (NBIC), 2013
          • ANSI/NFPA 31 - Standard for the Installation of Oil-Burning Equipment, 2011
          • ANSI/NFPA 54 - National Fuel Gas Code, 2015
          • ANSI/NFPA 58 - Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code, 2014
          • ANSI/NFPA 70 NEC - National Electric Code (NEC), 2011
          • ICC IBC - International Building Code, 2012
          • ICC IFC - International Fire Code, 2012
          • IAMPO/ANSI UMC-1 - Uniform Mechanical Code, 2012
          • IAMPO/ANSI UPC-1 - Uniform Plumbing Code, 2012
          • ANSI/ASHRAE 15 - Safety Standard for Refrigeration Systems, 2013
          • Elevators - Adopted Codes
          • ASME A17.1 - Safety Code for Elevators & Escalators, 2013
          • ASME A17.2 - Guide for Inspection of Elevators, Escalators, and Moving Walks, 2012
          • ASME A17.3 - Safety Code for Existing Elevators & Escalators, 2011
          • ASME A17.4 - Guide for Emergency Personnel, 1999
          • ASME A17.5 - Elevator and Escalator Electrical Equipment, 2011
          • ASME A17.6 - Standard for Elevator Suspension, Compensation, and Governor Systems, 2010
          • ASME A17.7 - Performance Based Safety Code foe Elevators and Escalators, 2007
          • ASME A18.1 - Safety Standards for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts, 2011
          • ASME A90.1 - Safety Standard for Belt Manlifts, 2009
          • ASME QEI-1 - Standard for the Qualification of Elevator Inspectors, 2013
          • ANSI/ASSE A10.4 - Safety Requirements for Personnel Hoists on Construction & Demolition Sites, 2007
          • ANSI/NFPA 70 NEC - National Electric Code, 2014
          • ICC/ANSI A117.1 - Accessible & Usable Buildings & Facilities, 2009
          • ICC IBC - International Building Code, 2006
          • ASME A17.1 HB - Handbook on Safety Code for Elevators & Escalators, 2013