The Research & Analysis Unit of the Workers’ Compensation Section collects workers’ compensation claims data required by statute and regulation through a series of annual data calls issued via email notification. The Research & Analysis Unit functions to support the agency in its regulation of workers’ compensation insurers, third party administrators (TPAs), medical providers, and employers; as well as acting as a resource for internal agency investigators and auditors as they research claims information on behalf of injured workers.
Sign up for Insurer / TPA Data Call Notifications
(If you are listed as the Corporate or State Statutory Reporting contact on your company's Information Form, or if you've already signed up for notifications, you don't need to sign up again.)
Notify WCS of Updates-All Insurers and TPAs
TPA Information Form and the Insurer Information Form are now required to be completed within the CARDS portal. The forms will no longer be available on the WCS web site and will not be accepted in the old format.
TPA Information Form - This form is now available only in our CARDS system and must be completed online using the CARDS web form. TPAs must be registered in CARDS and given rights to access the TPA Information Form. WCS will require this form to be updated within 30 days of any changes and reviewed and submitted at least once per year. We will send a reminder with a due date for the annual submission. NOTE: The “Claims Handled” section of the form is not on the CARDS web form. This data will be requested in a separate email data call.
Insurer Information Form - This form is now available only in our CARDS system and must be completed online using the CARDS web form. Insurers must be registered in CARDS and given rights to access the Insurer Information Form. WCS will require this form to be updated within 30 days of any changes and reviewed and submitted at least once per year. We will send a reminder with a due date for the annual submission. The Insurer Information Form in CARDS is how insurers “link” to their Nevada TPAs, allowing them to submit claims data (D-38) and perform other tasks on their behalf.
Nevada Death Benefits Claims Report
This report is not required annually. This was a one-time data call in 2015 requested by the Nevada Legislature.
Annual Permanent Total Disability Claims Data Call (2017)
Per NRS 616C.453, the Administrator is required to make annual payments to injured employees (or their dependents) who are permanently and totally disabled (PT) and who are NOT entitled to the annual payment pursuant to NRS 616C.473. See Annual Total Disability Payments Requirements & Instructions for more details.
FY16 Annual Claims Activity Data Call
The annual WCS Workers' Compensation Claims Activity Report data call requests claims activity for the preceding fiscal year (July 1 – June 30). The data call is issued in early fall and requires insurers to submit the appropriate two reports: Insurer Information Form and either the WCS Workers’ Compensation Claims Activity Report or the one-page Statement of Inactivity (for insurers with zero workers' compensation claims activity during the period).
- Annual Claims Activity Data Call (NRS 616B.006 and 616B.009)
- Data Call Instructions
- Data Call Resources
Occupational Disease Claims Ongoing Reporting (OD-8 Form)- All Insurers
Per NRS 617.657, insurers are required to report occupational disease claims of firefighters, police officers, arson investigators, and emergency medical attendants that encompass diseases of the heart or lungs or diseases that are infectious or relate to cancer pursuant to NRS 617.453, 617.455, 617.457, 617.481, 617.485 or 617.487.
Occupational Disease Claims Year-End Reporting
Within 5 days of the end of the calendar year, insurers with zero occupational disease claims during the calendar year pursuant to the above listed statutes are required to submit certification of inactivity.
Occupational Disease Claims Annual Reports
Statute requires the Division of Industrial Relations to make available to the public a report containing the OD-8 information submitted by insurers during the preceding calendar year.
Proof of Coverage Ongoing Reporting- Private Carriers
Per NRS 616B.461 and NAC 616B.100-148, private carriers writing Nevada workers' compensation policies must report proof of coverage data to National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI). Self-insured employers and associations of self-insured public and private employers are not required to report proof of coverage data.