Photovoltaic Installer Licensing & Exam


Schedule your Photovoltaic Installer's Exam Online: 

Select a location:   
3360 West Sahara Avenue, Suite 100A
Las Vegas, NV 89102
Phone: (702) 486-9020
Book in Las Vegas
4600 Kietzke Lane, Building F, Suite 135 Reno, NV 89502
Phone: (775) 688-3700
Book in Reno

Important Links:

Nevada Revised Statutes - Chapter 618 - Occupational Safety and Health 
Nevada Administrative Code - Chapter 618 - Occupational Safety and Health 
Application for Photovoltaic Installer License 

    Photovoltaic Frequently Asked Questions

    Q: Who needs a Photovoltaic Installer’s License?

    Any persons directly engaged with the electrical connection and wiring of a photovoltaic system project. Any persons engaged in the wiring, grounding, or repairing electrical apparatus and equipment in a photovoltaic distributed generation system.   

    Photovoltaic electrical work does not include site preparation, trenching or excavating, hauling, or other work and does not require the Nevada OSHA Photovoltaic Installer’s License.  

    Quality assurance work where inspections are conducted, and no components of the PV System are replaced by the inspector also does not require the Installer’s License.  

    Q: How do I get a license? 

    You must fill out an application and submit it to Nevada OSHA. You must pass a test administered by Nevada OSHA with 70% or more of the questions correct.  

    The application can be found here:  Application for Photovoltaic Installer License  

    Q: When is the test given? 

    The test is administered on an appointment-only basis.

    Q: How do I make an appointment? 

    To make an appointment, select a district office location above and complete the online booking webform to make an appointment. If you have any questions regarding booking an appointment, please call (702) 486-9020 for the Las Vegas office or (775) 688-3700 for the Reno office.

    Please do not visit the OSHA office without an appointment. You will not be allowed to test, and you will not receive your license. 

    Q: How much does the license cost? 

    The cost of the license, upon passing the test, is $25.00. We do not accept cash. Please provide a check or money order payable to Division of Industrial Relations or DIR. 

    Q: How many times can I take the test? 

    There is no limit on the number of retakes at this time, if you do not pass your test you can book another exam using the above booking links. 

    Q: Does the Photovoltaic Installer's License expire? 

    Photovoltaic Installer's Licenses issued by the Division are valid for one year from the date of issuance. Licenses must be renewed annually. 

    Q: Do I have to re-take the test every year? 

    If you fail to renew your license before the expiration date, you will be required to take the test again before your license will be renewed. There is no grace period. Currently, if the licensee renews his or her license within one year of the time of issuance, then no testing is required, and a $25.00 renewal fee is all that is needed. If the licensee tries to renew his or her license after one year, then testing is required. NV OSHA may adopt new rules on the education or testing requirements for renewal at some point in the future.  

    Q: What do I study to be able to pass the test? 

    All of the test questions come from the James P. Dunlop authored Photovoltaic Systems textbook published by American Technical Publishers. 

    Q: How do I get the book? 

    Training classes may be offered locally and often these classes include the purchase of the textbook. OSHA does not keep track of available training providers or available training classes. An example of a local training provider is the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) although Union membership may be required to participate. The training classes are designed to help you pass the test and learn how to successfully become a skilled Photovoltaic Installer. 

    Independently, one may visit www.go2atp.comor www.jimdunlopsolar.com . The cost of the textbook is $136.00 through American Technical Publishers and $115.00 through Jim Dunlop Solar. Vendors such as Amazon may also offer the book for similar pricing.  

    Q: Does Nevada OSHA offer testing outside your office? 

    No, currently testing is only provided at the NV OSHA district office locations.